I have 3.3E and it wants to update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tlangford, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008
  1. tlangford
    OP

    Newcomer tlangford Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I aam on 3.3E. I just installed a wired connection and the Wii asked if I wanted to update. I have all the soft-modded stuff on my Wii. Is it safe to update? What is the update?

    thanks
    Tim
     
  2. Gullwing

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    I think that it isn't an update... It will just check if an update is available... This is what I know at least...
     
  3. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that isn't an official update.

    The only way you'll know if it's an official update, is when Nintendo sends you a letter regarding it.

    Plus, I haven't heard any news of a 3.4 yet.
     
  4. tlangford
    OP

    Newcomer tlangford Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I clicked on 'Update' and it seemed to download a chunky update - took about 2-3 mins. Then reminded me about Parent controls and that was that.
     
  5. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure it was just a new firmware that supports the wired connection you have.

    Nothing to worry about.
     
  6. jwcgator

    Member jwcgator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't that be kinda....redundant?
     
  7. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it fixes something behind the scenes for improvement. What does your system menu version show in the wii options/config screen after the update?
     
  8. tlangford
    OP

    Newcomer tlangford Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are no updates, if you're on 3.3, and you re adjusted your internet connection, it always prompts you for an update, then says something like no update necessaryat this time or whatever.
     

Share This Page