?
  1. Linux

    90 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. Android

    132 vote(s)
    11.5%
  3. Router

    225 vote(s)
    19.5%
  4. Windows

    418 vote(s)
    36.3%
  5. A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    287 vote(s)
    24.9%
  1. Genosync

    Genosync Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure it's not going to work for you either given the results of what happened with me.

    You'll need to manually change the values at the moment if you want to streetpass until a fix gets posted or I finally have the time to dig back into UNIX scripting myself.

    Random entertaining note: I just streetpassed some dude I streetpass every single day at work through a relay.
     
  2. alpha_noj

    alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    I already know this works. What doesn't seem to be working is the automatic MAC changing. As I posted above, I changed the timing to 24/7 in 5 minute intervals--however, in my router settings I haven't seen the MAC change yet. So I'm not sure it's working for me =\
     
  3. Genosync

    Genosync Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's not liking the head -c in the script. At all.
     
  4. srwgin

    srwgin GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    China
    maybe the script not work on your router ,so am I
     
  5. alpha_noj

    alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Well if it helps anyone, I'm using a WRT54G v3.1 with the initial mini/trailer firmware installed. Didn't want to flash another firmware right away, but will if necessary.
     
  6. Genosync

    Genosync Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing, a Linksys. Wonder if it's the DD-WRT firmware for our type of router. Meh.

    There's gotta be another way.

    Also I'm on the "Big" version for 21061...
     
  7. assassinz

    assassinz Visoly 512 Flash Advance Linker Xtreme Master!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,097
    Country:
    United States
    I skimmed through this thread and might be wrong so forgive me. My understanding is that you need a wired connection on your PC and need to use a separate configured WiFi card to act as a 3DS Hot spot? Could my setup of using a WiFi card to connect to the internet and then use the Nintendo WiFi USB stick as a hot spot work? How would I configure this setup to have it work?
     
  8. ShriekXL

    ShriekXL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Little issue on my end:

    I succesfully gain a streetpass by using the Windows 7 method. No problems.

    BUT:

    As soon as I use the script to switch MACs, my 3DS refuses to connect to the hotspot. The MACs actually do get changed (checked that).

    Any thoughts?
     
  9. assassinz

    assassinz Visoly 512 Flash Advance Linker Xtreme Master!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,097
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe just turn off the 3DS then turn it back on?

     
  10. ShriekXL

    ShriekXL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Well, it takes a bit more than that, but if I have to do that after every MAC change, it kind of defeats the purpose of the script and it's automation :).

    EDIT: Tried it for shits and giggels; doesn't work. I have to manually turn off the connections, virtual manager and reconnect through a new connection scan on the 3ds after a mac change.

    There's gotta be something I'm forgetting here. Blasted networking.
     
  11. Sev501

    Sev501 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Philippines
    Use Chaldron's Mac Cycler, somewhere in the posts here or in the front page, or in it's separate thread itself in the tutorial section :D
     
  12. ShriekXL

    ShriekXL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Argh, I'm sorry. I'm actually using his cycler. Derp for me not telling in the first place :P.
     
  13. Sev501

    Sev501 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Philippines
    Have you re-checked he already updated it to version 4, which resolves your said problem :D
     
  14. midboss

    midboss Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Ive tried using the cycler, but when I do it disables my connection. Still trying to figure out what I am missing.
     
  15. josewuzhawk

    josewuzhawk Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    i am having trouble using it on windows, the 3ds wont seem to connect to the Nintendo zone even though it did connect to the wifi, help?
     
  16. armagn12

    armagn12 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    I got it working on my Galaxy S2 (GT-I9100) 4.1.2 with the following settings:

    1. Wifi tether 3.3-beta2
    2. Device-Profile: Samsung Galaxy S2
    3. Setup Method: Auto
    4. Send Netd Max Client CMD: checked
    5. SSID: attwifi
    6. Channel: 1
    7. Mac Address Spoof: checked
    8. Wifi-driver reload: unchecked
    9. Wifi-driver reload 2: checked
    10. Enable Access-Control: checked
    11. MSS clamping: checked
    12. Routing-fix: checked

    hope this helps.
     
    mrtofu likes this.
  17. ShriekXL

    ShriekXL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands

    I have a few hours ago. No deal :(.
     
  18. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Hat Gurl Official Fan™
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,873
    Country:
    Mexico
    FINALLY!!!!! :toot: Got it working using the Ubuntu Method, only swaped my Wi-Fi dongles roles, the one that I was using as AP now is the Internet source, and the other is the AP, streetpassing whit all of you soon :D.
     
    dicamarques likes this.
  19. ShriekXL

    ShriekXL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands

    This whole ordeal won't let you connect to Nintendo Zone, even though it says it is available. It is only to receive streetpasses.
     
  20. Sev501

    Sev501 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Philippines
    Aris from p3ds and shinmegami ph?
    Sorry OT

    GRATS you made it work.
     
    armagn12 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Streetpass, homemade, Relay