GBC games aren't saving....

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Skyline969, Jan 28, 2009.

Jan 28, 2009

GBC games aren't saving.... by Skyline969 at 3:50 AM (1,132 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, so I fired up Link's Awakening DX via LameBoy v.11. I go to save, and I choose save and continue. However, when I shut off my DS and turn it on, the save is gone. Anyone got some insight into this issue? FYI, my ROM is saved in /Homebrew/Emulators/ROMs/GB. LameBoy is saved in /Homebrew/Emulators.
     
  2. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    You mean savestates? Did you set save slot to 1 instead of none?
     
  3. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    you have to save it using the touchscreen menu
    make it so that it says save in slot 0 or 1 or whatever number
    than save it like that and when you start up the ds again go to load from slot 0 or whatever number you put
     
  4. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    I also had that problem but then I noticed to change the save to a diff. slot than none.
     
  5. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The funny thing is that ALL games always save stated fine for me EXCEPT Croc 2. That one wouldn't save the state no matter what I do.
     
  6. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I think I figured it out. All I did was save and then return to the title screen. Once there, I hit X (whatever X does... I assume save state.) Then I shut off my DS and turned it on. I went to load up my ROM and my save was there!

    I got it now, just press X after I save and all is well. Thanks for the tips, everyone, but this is seemingly the short and sweet way of saying how to do it.

    EDIT: I just tried nesDS, and the same principle works the same way. Save, then go to the options and save the SRAM. I wonder, can you set it to do that automatically?
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The emulators don't check to see if the SRAM has been updated, so you have to manually write the updated SRAM to a permanent file on your card. In Lameboy's case, it's with the X button, with NES DS it's the touchscreen menu. SNEmulDS used to require this as well until it added automatic SRAM saving in version 0.6 Alpha. In theory perhaps it might be possible to add it to the other emulators, but I don't know how feasible that would be.

    Don't confuse this with savestates (which Lameboy also supports). A savestate is when you save the exact moment you're currently at and can resume from that exact point. What you're doing right now is merely making sure the game's built-in saving mechanism works as intended.
     
  8. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks Dan. However, I do know the difference between savestates and SRAM dumps. This isn't my first rodeo with emulators and ROMs, nor will it be my last. [​IMG]
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I only said that because you said you thought X might be a savestate button, which of course it isn't. This has just been a common misconception since the very first versions of Lameboy, so I wanted to make absolutely sure you understood.
     
  10. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    And I do understand. Thanks again. [​IMG]
     
  11. Tanmay

    Banned Tanmay Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Here is some special help click x. then go to whatever game you are playing and save it the way you would do it on an actual gbc. [​IMG]
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    But doing it in that order wouldn't do anything...
     

Share This Page