Fat/Fat32, does it matter?

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Omgwtfisthat, Jan 12, 2008.

Jan 12, 2008
  1. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Mine is formatted in fat, and has no problems. Should I format it to fat32?
     


  2. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    fat32 has the advantage of long filenames and such. You probably wont experience any difference but I still recommend formatting to fat32. Up to you.
     
  3. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Make a more educated decision with a little research:

    FAT vs. FAT32.
     
  4. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks you guys
     
  5. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i always use FAT with 64k clusters because of the speed boost it gives you
     
  6. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't really understand any of this stuff, I just wanna know which is better for DSTT xD
     
  7. cruddybuddy

    Banned cruddybuddy Group: Banned!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,864
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I think most people who are fat and 32 years old play a lot of World of Warcraft.
     
  8. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    When sdhc cards are formated in fat they work faster (checken it and it is true).
     
  9. rdurbin

    Member rdurbin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    if most of your files are big (commerical roms), you should use FAT. If you use lots of small files you should use fat32 (like homebrew)
     
  10. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    FAT16, 64KB clusters.
     
  11. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh I forgot to mention I'm using a 2gb MicroSD, so I can't format to FAT16
     
  12. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YES you can
     
  13. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    No, actually no I can't. Well not with windows.
     
  14. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    yes you can via command line

    you just write in command line

    format g: /FS:FAT

    g is the letter of your flash drive it could be other than g
    I formatted my 4 gb sdhc card with that command
     
  15. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    format g: /FS:FAT
    FAT? I can format to FAT, but not FAT16

    Anyway I think I'll keep it as FAT, thanks for contributing people
     
  16. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go to: Start -> Run -> diskmgmt.msc

    Select your SD card and right-click "Format"

    * Volume Label: Whatever you like
    * File System: FAT
    * Allocation unit size: Default or 64k
     
  17. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Just going to point out that FAT16 has a finite number of files that can be stored in the root directory of its file structure - 512 files (less if you use long file names). That's a lot of files, but I'm pointing it out because the DSTT supports up to a 4TB SDHC card. It's conceivable (however unlikely) that you may run into this problem at some future date.

    It bit me in the ass when I was trying to load my wife's digital photo frame up for her. We have some 1000+ pictures of our cats and daughter, but the old frame would only read FAT16. A half hour of research turned up the above link, which is why I applied my two bits to this thread.
     
  18. Omgwtfisthat
    OP

    Member Omgwtfisthat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the tip twit (wow, 1000 photos)

    and helpme, yep I formatted it to FAT with default allocation size
     
  19. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how do you format a SDHC card to FAT16 i thought they were just FAT32 cause FAT16 has a 4GB limit??
     
  20. FrozenOne23

    Member FrozenOne23 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea that's what I tought too? [​IMG]
     

Share This Page