ezlash 4 games won`t load/play

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by lukands, Nov 3, 2009.

Nov 3, 2009

ezlash 4 games won`t load/play by lukands at 1:15 AM (3,001 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    I think I followed all the steps but the games will not load/play. I formatted the minisd card, I updated the loader(ezfla-up.bin), used ez4 client to "send" games to card, using GBA SP, try to load game and I get as far as "processing", when it gets to 100% it goes to the GAME BOY start up screen and nothing further.
    I tried a bunch of different games (zipped) and unzipped. No luck!
    Am I missing a step???????
     


  2. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Anybody help? Before I go and buy other flashcard and/or minisd and try again thinking that something I got now is defective.
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your probably trying to load a game too large for PSRAM mode or your loading a game where you didn't patch the save type correctly.

    You as a vauge noob never specified what game your trying to load. There are several ways you get the error you got, that is why nobody has yet to answer your question.

    Go look up what save type your games are and SRAM patch any that use EEPROM with the EZ Client otherwise just load games to NOR if they are larger than 16MB.
     
  4. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Ok I will use 1 game I tried as an example Monster Jam Maximum Destruction, it shows the size as 7.50MB, the type is SRAM, I got the ADD SAVE PATCH AND RESET boxes checked. Then I SEND.
    I assume I don`t have to worry about NOR.

    Am I missing something on the root of the mini sd card, what files/folders should be there?

    On the main menu (with rise lord vader) the steps I take are (1) click the top icon, this gives me "My GBA Starting the file Manager". (2) changes screens to list 1 folder "EZ-Disk" (3) next screen, 2 folders SAVER and below that the game, clicking the SAVER folder gives me an error, if I click the game it shows progressing up to 100% then it switches to the Game Boy main screen (with NINTENDO at the bottom all pixeled out)
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The patching might be interferring. try just putting the game directly on the miniSD.

    If you still see Nintendo all pixeled out still, the rom might be dirty.
     
  6. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Tried it, didn`t help.

    I tried a bunch of other games all from different sources. Still the same, just freezes at the Game Boy Screen with NINTENDO pixeled.

    Could it be a bad minisd? OR even a bad flash cart.
    Its getting harder to find minisd cards, the guy at the store just looks at you funny when you ask for a minisd card.
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,805
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you know someone local and knows more about this than you, you should ask that person. Nothing beats hands on troubleshooting.
     
  8. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Maybe I will try a new card?

    What files and/or folders are suppose to be on the minisd card?
     
  9. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    If the Nintendo logo is pixely, the header might be screwed. There's a program called GPSP (i think) that can fix it.
     
  10. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    I thought that was related to emulation on a psp?
     
  11. abbadab

    Newcomer abbadab Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    having exactly the same problem - thought i would bump this. i once read a detailed post on exactly what to do to get this card working - wish i had bookmarked it cause it was really helpful. not sure if it was on this site or another.
     
  12. zero1221

    Newcomer zero1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Alabama
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a microsd card, a minisd adapter and I'm using this version of the EZ Flash IV cart.

    I used this thread to set my cart up without a hitch.

    Link to the thread.

    I used the files found on the official site here to set my cart up though since the links used in the thread mention above were out of date.

    One thing it doesn't mention though it is best not to patch the reset function onto the roms.
    Just turn it off and back on a couple seconds later if you want to change games.

    Some games will not work I've found if you patch the cheats to them.

    Only thing left that I'm working on is a couple games not saving.
    Probable have the wrong save auto selected by the client or they need a patch.
    I'll figure it out eventually and post back.
    Edit: Using the SRAM Patcher in gbata fixs some games that don't save properly after the client patches them. Just remember to patch them again with the client.

    If your still having problem afterwords post back with the most detail you can.
     
  13. abbadab

    Newcomer abbadab Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    WOW thanx man [​IMG] I really appreciate the time u took to answer this! I got it working great... just one new thing [​IMG] i really want to play Mother 3 on this. I got the Japanese rom, applied the english patch successfully, loaded it into NOR on the EZ4 and now i just get a blank screen.

    I tried to erase the NOR memory which didnt work cause the rom is still in there. deleted the actual rom and sav files from the card and STILL its in NOR. Put the rom back on and tried to load to NOR but it says NOR is full [​IMG]

    So, i cannot clear the NOR to try to load it again - any thoughts?
     
  14. trans am

    Newcomer trans am Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Portugal
    Are you using the EZ Flash IV on a GBA or NDS? Try to test the rom on a GBA emulator to see if it's working properly. I did the same process as you described to play Mother 3 on the EZ IV so I know it works, maybe you overlooked some step or you cart or miniSD card might be broken/incompatible.

    This worked for me:
    2GB SanDisk miniSD
    EZ Flash IV with 1.720 firmware
    GBMicro

    I use the EZ4 Client 1.03 to transfer the roms, default settings, sometimes it copies the roms to the card as ".gba", doesn't copy the name of the rom for some reason, Mother 3 is one of these games.
     
  15. abbadab

    Newcomer abbadab Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    i'm using EZ Flash IV on GBA SP (Pikachu) 2gb SanDisk miniSD w/ firmware 1.720
    i used client 1.03
    patcher said rom was patched correctly

    tested on GBA visualboyadvance 1.7.2 emulator and it worked flawlessly

    as far as the NOR issue goes- i hi-lited rom in NOR and

    when i hit select - it says 'Delete Y/N' so i hit A for yes (i guess) and the screen goes into my saver folder.

    when i hit start with the rom hi-lited it says 'Format Nor Flash Y/N' so i hit A and the screen also goes into my saved folder.

    in both scenarios when i hit B to answer - it goes back to the main screen with the icons.

    When i go to play the game in NOR it says 'WARNING Cheat err! Cont A Quit B' then goes to a white screen
     
  16. zero1221

    Newcomer zero1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Alabama
    Country:
    United States
    Can you leave the saver folder after deleting or formatting? If so have you tried another 32MB rom to load into the NOR?
     
  17. trans am

    Newcomer trans am Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Portugal
    On my EZ Flash IV cart it doesn't go to the Saver folder, when I want to copy to NOR I highlight the game and press Select, then press A, it displays "Erasing... *Mb", then "Writing... *Mb", when it finishes writing it just closes the window and goes back to the ROM list, press B to go back to the root and it shows Mother 3.gba there under the "EZ-Disk" folder.

    [​IMG]

    When I want to erase the game from NOR I press Select again and press A, it erases instantly. Seems like there's something off with your cart, sorry can't be of much help, at least you can compare the behavior of your EZ cart with mine.
     
  18. zero1221

    Newcomer zero1221 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Alabama
    Country:
    United States
    I just thought of something for the problem this person is having.

    How about deleting the saver folder after backing it up if need be.

    It can't go somewhere that no longer exists. (Unless it were to create it which I'm pretty sure it can't.)
     
  19. abbadab

    Newcomer abbadab Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    Brilliant suggestion! i deleted the saver folder and was able to clear out the NOR, but now when i go to my mother3 rom and hit select, it writes it to nor but doesn;t show up in nor... it just never ends. Im not meant to play this game (and earthbound snes was my favorite game ever!!!)
     
  20. abbadab

    Newcomer abbadab Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    when it finishes writing it just goes into my saver folder [​IMG] i push B and it goes to my EZ-disk screen with no rom under it
     

Share This Page