DSi with extra RAM//

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Lord Toon, Oct 9, 2008.

Oct 9, 2008

DSi with extra RAM// by Lord Toon at 8:16 AM (1,797 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Lord Toon
    OP

    Newcomer Lord Toon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Homestead, Fl
    Country:
    United States
  2. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    Confirmation of something we already knew and lacking any information making it worthwhile.
    i.e. A number

    Snore.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    before anyone brings it up

    no, extra ram will not allow the DSi to play GBA games off the SD card/ whatever or a N64 emu
    its impossible with the current DS's CPU
     
  4. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    homebrew and probably some type of multitasking.
     
  5. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep the DSi isn't going to be any better than the light tbh , gbatemp members always hype the h*ll out of everything and when the item in question comes along its always a big disappointment! line rider ds anyone! thought not

    Anyway as far as we all know the only differences are, camera x2 , sd slot , bit bigger screens ... meh

    And a killer is no gba slot so actually i would prefer to stick with the dslite, unless of course the sd can be used to store vast amounts of ds games/music/movies and so on.

    paul
     
  6. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    well it might be possible to connect your flashcart with the SD card, but I am 99% sure it will have larger RAM.
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    We know at least part of the GBA hardware is still present. DS games require it.

    The unknown element here is how much remains.

    If Nintendo just removed the physical slot and mapped 32MB of RAM to the memory addresses normally taken by a GBA cart; it might be possible to copy a ROM file into that RAM, then switch to GBA mode. Although saving probably wouldn't work.
     
  8. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    This is no different than the DS Browser RAM expansion cart, it's just built-in.

    Come on you guys they announced the browser was built-in. I thought it was obvious there's a RAM upgrade.


    @ Haruhi it's already possible to redirect to the DS slot's hardware address in GBA mode, isn't it? It'd just be retarded to atm.
     
  9. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Actually, with a well written hyperviser GBA games can be run in NDS mode but without 32MB of RAM too store the rom in, you'd need to buffer the rom into ram in chunks and with the current NDS this is worthless as you'd be raping the ram, which means very slow load times and well writting a hypervisor isnt exactly easy.

    EDIT: just remembered, that unless the new processer has an MMU then it's unlikely the 32MB of ram will be put too good use. I do hope nintendo mapped the ram to the old gba slot in memory as that'd make a hypervisor possible.
     
  10. loopguy

    Member loopguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    but doesn't gba mode require the gba bios? i'm pretty sure big-n won't implement it, so some sort of "hacking" will be needed...
     
  11. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I still think their plan will be to SELL you GBA games as downloads. One major improvement to the browser will be the ability to download.....how else will DSware stuff work?

    Also, the RAM will be used for the exclusive DSware downloads that they already announced to be coming. Sure, you'd have to download the file to the SD card, but it will likely run in the extra RAM space.
     
  12. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even if they do they can just include the files with the games themselves.
     
  13. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    More RAM = better homebrew?
     
  14. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    The Nintendo DS firmware was dumped as a ROM. I wonder if we can dump the DSi firmware make it into an app and hack it to use the EZ 3in1. If it's a faster browser, I want it.
     
  15. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    I don't think the browser (and DS sound) is in the FW.
    Nintendo said it will available to download for free.

    or maybe it pre-installed on the system
     
  16. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    If the scenario I mentioned is true, GBA games could be run easily. It's nearly the same method slot1 flash carts use an EZ 3 in 1.
     

Share This Page