Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,521
Trophies
2
XP
18,425
Country
United States
you need the base files for your flash cart first. I don't recall if it mentions that anywhere. then, you overwrite files and place twilight menu on that sd card. it should boot up by default without any sort of menu. I think the boot.nds is the autoboot file, so you don't have to select it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

c4rbs

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
72
Country
Brazil
you need the base files for your flash cart first. I don't recall if it mentions that anywhere. then, you overwrite files and place twilight menu on that sd card. it should boot up by default without any sort of menu. I think the boot.nds is the autoboot file, so you don't have to select it.
You are saying that i need the base files like the kernel? I put the Twilight and the YSmenu files in the SD
 

GrumpzTheCat

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
26
Country
United States
@Robz8 Sorry for this being off-topic, but i am new here, and am trying to fix a DS Homebrew, and would like to know, how would someone go about editing a .nds file, or a .bin file (i was able to extract the nds file)? If you dont want to talk about it publicly, go ahead and try PM'ing me.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
@Robz8 Sorry for this being off-topic, but i am new here, and am trying to fix a DS Homebrew, and would like to know, how would someone go about editing a .nds file, or a .bin file (i was able to extract the nds file)? If you dont want to talk about it publicly, go ahead and try PM'ing me.
Which homebrew are you trying to fix?
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

RobinHoot

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
24
Country
United States
r4ids.cn cards have been supported for a while, afaik
My issue is that launching BOOT.NDS on my flashcard leads to a white screen and nothing else. I'm not sure what I'm missing, since I have the normal TWiLightMenu flashcard files and the Loader files as well.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,201
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,837
Country
United States
My issue is that launching BOOT.NDS on my flashcard leads to a white screen and nothing else. I'm not sure what I'm missing, since I have the normal TWiLightMenu flashcard files and the Loader files as well.
Sounds like the DLDI driver is bugged.
Try inserting a DS Memory Expansion Pak.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

RobinHoot

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
24
Country
United States
I followed the instructions on another SD card and it worked. So I decided to delete and extract the _rpg, _nds, and _wfwd folders on the SD card I'm currently using and it works on that one too. I think the issue was the .ini file for global associations on my old _rpg folder that I was using for a GBA emulator was causing conflicts with TWiLightMenu. Sorry for causing any inconveniences.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RocketRobz

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,064
Trophies
1
XP
4,645
Country
Japan
I think I possibly know the answer already but just to check - boxart makes this become unusably slow.

I have a 128GB SD card with hundreds of roms, so I am assuming that the sheer volume of boxart is making it slow. However, here's the thing:
-it still happens even if I put roms in folders with less than 40 files
-deleting the boxart doesn't fix the issue, I have to actually hide them in the settings.

Is this unavoidable?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
...
XP
773
Country
United Kingdom
I think I possibly know the answer already but just to check - boxart makes this become unusably slow.

I have a 128GB SD card with hundreds of roms, so I am assuming that the sheer volume of boxart is making it slow. However, here's the thing:
-it still happens even if I put roms in folders with less than 40 files
-deleting the boxart doesn't fix the issue, I have to actually hide them in the settings.

Is this unavoidable?
The bigger the SD card, the slower the system will be. It doesn't matter how many boxart covers you have. You need a smaller SD card for the boot time to be faster.
 

sj33

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
4,064
Trophies
1
XP
4,645
Country
Japan
It's not the boot time that's the issue. it's actually browsing through the menu. As I say, hiding boxart fixes the problem entirely.
 

GrumpzTheCat

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
26
Country
United States
[/TABS]
Which homebrew are you trying to fix?
its a windows live messenger client, and some people want to patch it with a new revival server, im gonna load it on my 3ds and see if it has server settings, but i dont think so, all i really need to know is how to edit the code for it. This will also hopefully be helpful for any other homebrew, as well as experimenting.
 

Attachments

  • Beup_Live_0.7.zip
    1.2 MB · Views: 152

Griizly

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Location
root
XP
864
Country
Belgium
Does someone know how to add a picture on the upper screen for gba games on a DSI ?
dmUuudP
for now this is what I have

imgur.com/gallery/dmUuudP
 
Last edited by Griizly,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Dude have you heard of contraceptives?