1. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
    you need the base files for your flash cart first. I don't recall if it mentions that anywhere. then, you overwrite files and place twilight menu on that sd card. it should boot up by default without any sort of menu. I think the boot.nds is the autoboot file, so you don't have to select it.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  2. c4rbs

    c4rbs Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Brazil
    You are saying that i need the base files like the kernel? I put the Twilight and the YSmenu files in the SD
     
  3. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,839
    Country:
    United States
  4. GrumpzTheCat

    GrumpzTheCat Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    @Robz8 Sorry for this being off-topic, but i am new here, and am trying to fix a DS Homebrew, and would like to know, how would someone go about editing a .nds file, or a .bin file (i was able to extract the nds file)? If you dont want to talk about it publicly, go ahead and try PM'ing me.
     
  5. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Which homebrew are you trying to fix?
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  6. RobinHoot

    RobinHoot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question: does this work with something that runs on Wood like the r4ids.cn card? If I'm not mistaken Wood is based on Acekard.
     
  7. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    r4ids.cn cards have been supported for a while, afaik
     
    alexander1970 and RobinHoot like this.
  8. RobinHoot

    RobinHoot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    My issue is that launching BOOT.NDS on my flashcard leads to a white screen and nothing else. I'm not sure what I'm missing, since I have the normal TWiLightMenu flashcard files and the Loader files as well.
     
  9. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like the DLDI driver is bugged.
    Try inserting a DS Memory Expansion Pak.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. RobinHoot

    RobinHoot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Does that only work on the original DS? I've been using it with a 3DS.
     
  11. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the pak is designed for original DS consoles.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. RobinHoot

    RobinHoot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry for not specifying, I meant the BOOT.NDS.
     
  13. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    The boot.nds file is not console dependent.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  14. RobinHoot

    RobinHoot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I followed the instructions on another SD card and it worked. So I decided to delete and extract the _rpg, _nds, and _wfwd folders on the SD card I'm currently using and it works on that one too. I think the issue was the .ini file for global associations on my old _rpg folder that I was using for a GBA emulator was causing conflicts with TWiLightMenu. Sorry for causing any inconveniences.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  15. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Updater v4.4.0

    Bug fix
    • (@Pk11) "TWiLightMenu-3DS.7z" is now downloaded instead of the larger "TWiLightMenu.7z" file.
     
    Lilith Valentine, Zense, Pk11 and 3 others like this.
  16. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,043
    Country:
    Japan
    I think I possibly know the answer already but just to check - boxart makes this become unusably slow.

    I have a 128GB SD card with hundreds of roms, so I am assuming that the sheer volume of boxart is making it slow. However, here's the thing:
    -it still happens even if I put roms in folders with less than 40 files
    -deleting the boxart doesn't fix the issue, I have to actually hide them in the settings.

    Is this unavoidable?
     
  17. Anon_Cypher_

    Anon_Cypher_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Lebanon
    The bigger the SD card, the slower the system will be. It doesn't matter how many boxart covers you have. You need a smaller SD card for the boot time to be faster.
     
  18. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,043
    Country:
    Japan
    It's not the boot time that's the issue. it's actually browsing through the menu. As I say, hiding boxart fixes the problem entirely.
     
  19. GrumpzTheCat

    GrumpzTheCat Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    [/TABS]
    its a windows live messenger client, and some people want to patch it with a new revival server, im gonna load it on my 3ds and see if it has server settings, but i dont think so, all i really need to know is how to edit the code for it. This will also hopefully be helpful for any other homebrew, as well as experimenting.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Griizly

    Griizly Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Belgium
    Does someone know how to add a picture on the upper screen for gba games on a DSI ? [​IMG]for now this is what I have

    imgur.com/gallery/dmUuudP
     
    Last edited by Griizly, Oct 24, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - replacement, TWiLight, [DS(i)