Custom Slot-2 Hardware

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by gudenaurock, May 30, 2012.

May 30, 2012

Custom Slot-2 Hardware by gudenaurock at 11:03 PM (1,789 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    How may I make an interface for the Ds'es Slot-2, like the paddle, ram, and guitar grip.
     


  2. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just buy them. Much simpler.
     
  3. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    I have looked for ages to find what I want, but it does not seem to be on the internet.
     
  4. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are you talking about? A simple google search and you will find them.

    :glare:
     
  5. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    Well I want an interface to connect two ps2 devices (Mouse/Keyboard/Scanner/ect) to the Slot-2 for homebrew things.
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You'll also have to write software for that.

    It might be done but keep in mind.
    The DS's CPU is weak.
     
  7. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    I know, that is why hardware on the device would decode the ps2, making it easy on the nds. (Plus I hear the slot-2 is a little slow.)
     
  8. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Then I'd suggest hooking an Arduino up to the Slot-2 of a DS.

    That might work but I doubt it that you'll pull it off that it'll be usefull.
    It would be cool as a POC tho.
     
  9. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    I was just looking into the Arduino thing. :-) I just need to know how to get the ds to talk with it... That is what I have not found yet, I have read gbatek many times...
     
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You'll need to talk to the DS in NDS mode.

    It's the same was as they did it with Slot-2 cards.
    FlashMe would be a good idea.

    I have no experience what so ever in NDS coding so I can't help you with that.
     
  11. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    Oh whell, I think I have the coding part figured ds side, just not the slot-2 hardware, that is the big sticking point for me.
     
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Maybe you could look up on other projects involving a NDS with a Arduino?
     
  13. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    Sure, that would be a good idea...
     
  14. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,902
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hackaday might have some..
     
  15. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
  16. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    looks like close, but no. (There is one that just say it was done with a camera thing)
     
  17. Gryphon93

    Member Gryphon93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm playing around with the GBA-slot myself, trying to get my DS to communicate with my Arduino. I've managed to send data from the Arduino to the DS, but not the other way around. Right now I've only sent 16 bits, so it's just a small step forward. I can't promise anything, but I'll keep trying and see if I can get the devices to communicate properly. However, there is one possible problem using a regular Arduino. It may be too slow to be able to communicate, even with the GBA-slot set to the lowest speed. I've yet to confirm this, but it might be a problem. I'm doing this for fun anyways, so it's just interesting to see if it works out. If it does I might use it in some projects I have in mind.
     
  18. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    So you have managed to send data to the ds, and have the ds read it? How is your hardware setup?
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i know you are discussing slot-2, but have you read about ds brute?

    -another world
     
  20. gudenaurock
    OP

    Member gudenaurock Never a unique idea

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Country:
    United States
    I will look at that, but I want it so that you may use whatever Slot-1 you have, for ease of use, and they are 100%sold out... Found schematics!
     

Share This Page