Could someone comfirm weither or not this card is a fake one?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Apathetic_Discord, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, so I have my R4i gold card, however I’m not sure whether or not it’s the real deal or a rip off copy. Could someone tell me if they are aware of if the card is a clone or not?

    This is a picture of the card and box: http://www.r4wood.com/product_images/uploa...pgrade%202G.jpg


    Box image is: http://www.r4i-gold.com/ad/oldp.jpg
    That is the image of the box that actually came with my card.

    whilst I’m here as well, does anybody know of any updates that may work with this card to make it work on the DSi Firmware Ver 1.4.1E or is it now blocked and needing a new card, as I’ve seen on other websites they have a program that you run on the card when its in the DS and it updates the cartridge and it should then be playable on that firmware again. Any help appreciated. [​IMG]
     


  2. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    it's a clone
    and I'm not sure if you can post that website, because it has links to rom
     
  3. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Totally forgot that it had roms, sorry. thanks for the heads up though, fix it. [​IMG]
     
  4. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    A lot of sites use that favicon for some reason.
     
  6. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't see it so i ain't sure >.<
    but yeah, does anyone know if it would be able to get it to work on Ver 1.4.1 or is it broke?
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Anything, yes ANYTHING other than "R4 Revolution for DS (NDSL/NDS)" is a FAKE.
    That includes, but is not limited to: I, DSi, SDHC, III, IV, Ultra, Upgrade, King, Renovation, Super, Gold, Red, Christmas, LL, 3D.

    Probably not, since many of them don't have updateable firmware.
     
  8. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But would they still work as legit cards though, cause the card i've got actually worked with the Dsi Firmware Ver 1.4, but i accidently updated it and now it just won't work at all. :'(
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Probably not, since many of them don't have updateable firmware.
     
  10. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, thanks anyway. :/ guess i'm just going to have to buy a new card then.
     
  11. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    a good cheap dsi cart is the acekard 2i
    only $15 shipped
     
  12. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm, well i haven't bought any other cards 'cept the R4 :/
    but if needs be i suppose i should try a new one, heard a lot about acekard all over the place. has it been tested and proven working on Dsi Ver 1.4.1E?
     
  13. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Yes. Some million times, I guess. [​IMG]
     
  14. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahhh, good good, ok thanks guys, i suppose i'll now have to try and find it and get a legit one and not a clone, do any of you know where i could actually buy one from online that is the real card, and if possible if it's european and not UN?
     
  15. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  16. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "try going through someone's signature, so They'll get some credit" Not sure how you do that stand out qoute box thing so yeah.
    please explain what you mean by that, it confused me? :s
     
  17. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    when you see someone with a shoptemp signature, just click on it, it'll take you to shoptemp, when you buy something, the person who's link you clicked on will get a little credit..you can do it too
    there's a thread on it, it's a way for people earn credit towards purchases at shoptemp
     
  18. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ohh i see, ok, cheer. another thing before i'm finished, would you advise me to use the premium flashing thing or should i be fine without it. if it's actually having all of the most up to date firmware on the card for when you get it, i think i can do that myself, but i wanna make sure if it would be more beneficial
     
  19. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    it's easy to flash the acekard yourself
    as long as you have access to a ds lite/phat, or a dsi with an older firmware
    step 11 of this guide explains it all
    http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...up-your-acekard

    but if you feel uncomfortable doing it yourself or if you don't have access to a ds lite/phat, or a dsi with an older firmware, than Yes I think you should get the flashing update
     
  20. Apathetic_Discord
    OP

    Newcomer Apathetic_Discord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Here.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So flashing means using a program that has the file extension of a nds game and using it from there in a ds phat or lite to run the prgram, which then updates the actual catridge itself to support Ver 1.4.1? cause if so, then i've tried that with my other card already so i should be able to do that fine. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page