Chrono Cross PSX Freeze on 6.20 TN-E

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by KnobTwiddler, Jun 12, 2012.

Jun 12, 2012
  1. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Hi everyone. For the last two days, i've been trying to get the multi-disc PSX game, Chrono Cross, to work on my 6.20 TN-E PSP 3000. The game freezes each time I beat Mama Komodo, and I can't seem to get around it, even when I turn off all of my plugins.

    I have read many threads on users having the same problem, but they are old threads with different custom firmwares and popsloaders (6.20 TN-E has a built in popsloader)

    I also tried looking for an Eboot of the game online, but i either get a black screen after the Playstation logo, or it would freeze on Mama Komodo.

    Can anyone help?
     


  2. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use the PSN version. That should work just fine.
     
  3. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    It's definitely starting to sound like a good idea by now. But the thing is, since this problem have been lingering for years I would assume that by now there would be some fix
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I think the general consensus is "why home-cook a fix when the PSX version has an official fix?"
     
  5. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    Especially since Pro cfw supports custom document.dat files even with PSN versions.
     
  6. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,642
    Country:
    United States
    since this is here i have a question. Im on the same firmware but i get a "authorization failed" error code when i try to download this title. Other titles work fine like DLC for God Eater Burst and the PSX version of Front Mission 3.
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you make the eboot properly it won't freeze on Mama Komodo....i know this for a fact as having ripped and converted my own discs and using 3.72 pops and a custom game id there are no problems at all on disc 1.

    Also TN's HEN's are very out of date.

    "authorization failed" sounds like a payment issue.
     
  8. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,642
    Country:
    United States
    Really? it have more than enough money in my PSN wallet and all. I might email them or something.
     
  9. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Well, the reason why I never updated is because I never really had a reason to (I guess until now), but anyway I used PSX2PSP to make the EBOOT, with having both EBOOT's having the highest compression possible.
     
  10. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PSX2PSP will break Chrono Cross as it's a very irksome game to get working. Ideally you need to use GameID: SCUS94640 and 3.72 pops (via popsloader) as well as making a clean image (Alcohol is good, as is CloneCD) The clincher is what tool you use to create the eboot, and for Chrono Cross it appears that best compatibility is obtained via CDDA popstation.exe v1.24
     
  11. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    Not that it always makes a difference but compression has seen its fair deals of make/break situations..

    IF it makes a difference then your welcome

    Xist is right with the IDs and POPS Ver btw
     
  12. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With PSX eboots that's seldom the make or break cause.
     
  13. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Alright, today I bought the game on PSN, because i got tired of trying to figure this out...but NOW i have a new problem. Every time I try to download the game, I get the error "the install failed, (80109D80)", so I tested out other games i downloaded, and all the others download just fine. I tried using PRO C and TN-E and both give me that error.

    If there is a god, he/she does not want me to play this game.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    As stated, the TN firmwares are old, upgrade to PRO-C (the latest), it's got proper online support.
     
  15. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I did, and i'm still getting the error. I read up on a few forum posts that this error means (i assume from what i read) banned psps from psn, or that it detects that it's not the official firmware.

    And to correct myself, other games won't download. the only exception is a wallace and gromit comic
     
  16. ♣zx♣

    Newcomer ♣zx♣ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Philippines
    i'm currently looking at some thread and found this? I've been playing chrono cross (PSN version) for almost 2 weeks and got no problems at all... you need to just use a popsloader and choose 6.60 then go on. you can play it with no hassle... hope you know how to use popsloader..
    but if not...try following this...

    -first install the latest popsloader (google it)
    -then on your psp , remove the chrono chross save data on your psp,
    -then choose your game then press R...(it will load the popsloader menu)
    -then choose 6.60...

    that's all you need...

    ...
    (back to searching)
     
  17. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16

    As much as i really really REALLY don't want to, i guess i have no choice but to update to 6.60... :( At least there is 6.60 PROC, but i'm hoping it gives me the same functionality as 6.20 PROC
     
  18. ♣zx♣

    Newcomer ♣zx♣ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Philippines
    no ... you dont need to... I'm using 6.20 pro B10 playing this. also tried plying it on 5.50..prometheus-4.. just use the plugin...
     
  19. KnobTwiddler
    OP

    Newcomer KnobTwiddler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Then I flat out have no idea how to fix this problem :/


    EDIT: I'll try out what you said

    And google is not nice to me about installing popsloader. some forums i went to tell me to go google it. ISN'T THAT HOW I GOT TO YOUR FORUM!?


    But besides, i'm not really worried about popsloader right now...I just want chrono cross that i paid for to download...
     
  20. ♣zx♣

    Newcomer ♣zx♣ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Philippines
    here try this...
    http://pspslimhacks.com/popsloader-v3-popsloader-for-pro-lcfw/


    it can be used to any Custom firmware...
    you can never play chrono cross on any Firmware below 6.60...
    so i suggest you use that if you dont want to change your current firmware...
     

Share This Page