Bootmii Missing!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The Pink Gato, Nov 27, 2009.

Nov 27, 2009

Bootmii Missing! by The Pink Gato at 4:07 AM (2,735 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    I HAD my Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, and keys.bin. I backed them up on my computer, and two weeks later, my computer went psycho. I updated BurnAware Free and noticed that it didn't say compatible with Windows 7. Fixed it, did a clean reinstall of Windows. Then I forgot that I lost my backups(including the bootmii files). Now the only brick protection that I have is Preloader v.30. Here are my ideas:

    Should I revirginize my Wii, then use the modify any wii 4.2 guide, and then upload my files onto a online data storage site?

    Should I just ignore it?

    OR Do you recommend anything else?

    Thank you in advance.

    ~modmystuff~
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just run the hackmii installer and on the bootmii section just say prepare sd card and make a new backup if everything is working ok and write it to cd/dvd for safe keeping
     
  3. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Why would you want to do that? Just run the BootMii installer and Prepare an SD card option. After that just do another backup of your NAND. I don't know why you want to start all over again.

    EDIT: bit late
     
  4. timishu

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Although you took the BootMii folder off of your SD card, unless you made a change to your Wii, you should still have BootMii as boot2. Just load the HackMii installer through HBC, then select "Prepare and SD Card" under BootMii. I believe you can load BootMii again.
     
  5. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you guys. I'll try it tomorrow, as I am very tired.

    Thanks again,

    ~modmystuff~
     
  6. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently in the process of backing up my wii. Thanks guys.

    EDIT: The backup and verification are done. Currently saving files on a cd-rw using the usb drive stick method.(windows 7)
     
  7. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    Done! It successfully worked! I saved my files on a CD for safe keeping. Thanks a lot, guys.

    ~modmystuff~
     
  8. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You could upload it to mediafire, megaupload, etc. as well in case you lose your CD. BTW if you every restore the restore will bring EVERYTHING back to when you did the backup.
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    @ computerboy, u probably already know this, but if you do a nand restore, it will not restore your boot2. So if you had a nand backup while u had boot2v3, then u did a ninty update to boot2v4, then u reinstall bootmii and restore the old backup it will not restore the old boot2, not that this really matters (unless u intend on downgrading, but why do that?)
     
  10. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    I uploaded it to Megaupload. Mediafire won't let me upload my NAND.bin, because free members only can upload 200MB per file.(nand is 560 mb)
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    would love to upload mine but I have 2 Wii's and I have 4 backups for each console
     
  12. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    If you signup for a Megaupload free account, you get 200GB storage.
    That should be enough for you.
     
  13. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You don't understand there's about 2.5gb of nand backup's for each Wii
     
  14. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    ok... i have one question:

    Offtopic: How many posts do you need to become an advanced member?
     
  15. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have 633 posts and I'm a GBAtemp Advance Fan
     
  16. The Pink Gato
    OP

    Member The Pink Gato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Candy Mountain with Mitch
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks
     

Share This Page