Black Wii - No BootMii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by J0ker, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

Black Wii - No BootMii? by J0ker at 3:24 PM (6,021 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. J0ker
    OP

    Newcomer J0ker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Austria
    See, we lucky basterds from europe (end sarcasm here) get a black wii bundle with WM+ and Wii Sports resort for lousy 200 bucks next month.
    I plan on getting that just for the sake of having it.
    Now, AFAIK, there is NO way of installing BootMii on the new Boot2 that comes with new Wiis and i am pretty sure that the black wiis have the new boot2...

    so there is no way around that right? if i buy a new wii, i cant have bootmii on boot2... or any other thing similar to it?
     
  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, there's no way around. But you still can hack those wii's and install preloader, bootmii as IOS.
    Not quite as safe as boot2, but if you have some common sense and don't go installing a lot of wads you got 'somewhere' on the interwebs, you should be pretty safe.
     
  3. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    You can't get bootmii on boot2 so you have to install it as an IOS replacement and get preloader. Be very careful with the system menu IOS when you have preloader, if that goes, your bricked.
     
  4. J0ker
    OP

    Newcomer J0ker Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Austria
    thanx, thought so...
     
  5. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, unless theres a magical boot1 exploit (which will probably never happen, according to TT), you can't install BootMii/boot2 to a Wii with a new boot1. [​IMG] If you want to your Wii to look like it has BootMii/boot2, go with Walker's suggestion and install preloader 3.0, then set autoboot to 'BootMii IOS'. [​IMG]
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Or somebody sends Ninjas to Nintendo to retrieve the real keys. I still hope for that option... and that the Ninjas get equipped with cameras and the whole thing uploaded to youtube. [​IMG]
     
  7. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    no team twiizers shall make black-bootmii special and only for the black wii!
     
  8. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Well, they can't.
     
  9. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Back to the Ninja theory then :-)
     
  10. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,526
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    pointless
     
  11. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if it was possible then they should name it something like this! [​IMG]
     
  12. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Unless the private key is cracked.

    SETI@wii anyone? [​IMG]
     
  13. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    wrong

    its boot1 stopping the boot2 patching
    i can have a wii with boot2v4 and still have it install bootmii [​IMG]
     
  14. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    @OP: Where did you get this info from? Media Markt? Or where? I ordered my black Kuro Wii 2 1/2 months back @Play-Asia.com
     
  15. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe there is a way but this would be enormous hassle, dissasemble your Wii, solder, desolder, assemble your Wii, not to forget to flash the Nand to the Wii... OMG.

    When they could do it, they would tell us how to do it.
     
  16. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    cause the boot1 verifies the content using a hash.
    you can't edit it like that cause you dont have permission (and even nand root permission or ES_DIVerify can help you there afaik) & the hash.

    EDIT: forgot to crush all hardware edits : good luck reading the nand and having to change the hash too.
    hell im not even sure if you CAN access the hash from boot2 even when connected hardware-level (cause it requires a private key only nintendo has)
     
  17. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Tried that. Nintendo has anti-ninja heat seeking missles. Sneak bastards.

    Anyways, can't you use Infectus to flash your NAND to get the exploit in your boot1 or whatever with a hex editor?
     

Share This Page