Hacking Black Wii - No BootMii?

J0ker

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
Australia
See, we lucky basterds from europe (end sarcasm here) get a black wii bundle with WM+ and Wii Sports resort for lousy 200 bucks next month.
I plan on getting that just for the sake of having it.
Now, AFAIK, there is NO way of installing BootMii on the new Boot2 that comes with new Wiis and i am pretty sure that the black wiis have the new boot2...

so there is no way around that right? if i buy a new wii, i cant have bootmii on boot2... or any other thing similar to it?
 

WalkerOfTheDay

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
848
Trophies
0
XP
54
Country
Netherlands
No, there's no way around. But you still can hack those wii's and install preloader, bootmii as IOS.
Not quite as safe as boot2, but if you have some common sense and don't go installing a lot of wads you got 'somewhere' on the interwebs, you should be pretty safe.
 

SherlockHolmeboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere.
Website
homebrefreeware.co.cc
XP
29
Country
Yeah, unless theres a magical boot1 exploit (which will probably never happen, according to TT), you can't install BootMii/boot2 to a Wii with a new boot1.
frown.gif
If you want to your Wii to look like it has BootMii/boot2, go with Walker's suggestion and install preloader 3.0, then set autoboot to 'BootMii IOS'.
smile.gif
 

Slowking

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
1,403
Trophies
0
XP
260
Country
Germany
Or somebody sends Ninjas to Nintendo to retrieve the real keys. I still hope for that option... and that the Ninjas get equipped with cameras and the whole thing uploaded to youtube.
biggrin.gif
 

mousex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
986
Trophies
0
XP
115
Country
United States
SherlockHolmeboy said:
Yeah, unless theres a magical boot1 exploit (which will probably never happen, according to TT)
And they are right with this point. There is so less code in boot1 that it would be real magic if a new exploit is found.

QUOTE(Aeon @ Oct 23 2009, 03:30 PM) no team twiizers shall make black-bootmii special and only for the black wii!
Well, they can't.
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,687
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
Japan
XP
3,531
Country
United States
SherlockHolmeboy said:
Yeah, unless theres a magical boot1 exploit (which will probably never happen, according to TT), you can't install BootMii/boot2 to a Wii with a new boot1.
frown.gif
If you want to your Wii to look like it has BootMii/boot2, go with Walker's suggestion and install preloader 3.0, then set autoboot to 'BootMii IOS'.
smile.gif
pointless
 

Langin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The internet
XP
2,459
Country
Netherlands
mousex said:
SherlockHolmeboy said:
Yeah, unless theres a magical boot1 exploit (which will probably never happen, according to TT)
And they are right with this point. There is so less code in boot1 that it would be real magic if a new exploit is found.

QUOTE(Aeon @ Oct 23 2009, 03:30 PM) no team twiizers shall make black-bootmii special and only for the black wii!
Well, they can't.

if it was possible then they should name it something like this!
yaynds.gif
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
@OP: Where did you get this info from? Media Markt? Or where? I ordered my black Kuro Wii 2 1/2 months back @Play-Asia.com
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
DeadlyFoez said:
I'm suprised that there is no way to install bootmii as boot2 with using an infectus to install it and hex edit some stuff for the newer wii's

I bet TT can do it, but too much effort for them to teach everyone in the world how to do it.

Maybe there is a way but this would be enormous hassle, dissasemble your Wii, solder, desolder, assemble your Wii, not to forget to flash the Nand to the Wii... OMG.

When they could do it, they would tell us how to do it.
 

Daco

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
473
Trophies
0
Location
earth
Website
Visit site
XP
39
Country
Belgium
DeadlyFoez said:
I'm suprised that there is no way to install bootmii as boot2 with using an infectus to install it and hex edit some stuff for the newer wii's

I bet TT can do it, but too much effort for them to teach everyone in the world how to do it.
cause the boot1 verifies the content using a hash.
you can't edit it like that cause you dont have permission (and even nand root permission or ES_DIVerify can help you there afaik) & the hash.

EDIT: forgot to crush all hardware edits : good luck reading the nand and having to change the hash too.
hell im not even sure if you CAN access the hash from boot2 even when connected hardware-level (cause it requires a private key only nintendo has)
 

Tux'

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2009
Messages
723
Trophies
1
Location
The flat lands.
XP
388
Country
United States
Slowking said:
Or somebody sends Ninjas to Nintendo to retrieve the real keys. I still hope for that option... and that the Ninjas get equipped with cameras and the whole thing uploaded to youtube.
biggrin.gif

Tried that. Nintendo has anti-ninja heat seeking missles. Sneak bastards.

Anyways, can't you use Infectus to flash your NAND to get the exploit in your boot1 or whatever with a hex editor?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: