Hardware Basic Repair Guide of Current EZ-FLASH Products

dogar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
Pakistan
I was playing a game with ez flash omega, it was working fine, I turned it off and turned back on after a few seconds, now i always get Gameboy screen, no nintendo logo. The cart isnt booting.

I tried to check the crystal with multimeter in continuity mode. No beeps between any of the 4 pins.

Can it still be the crystal?

Also does the crystal has to be exact 24.54545 mhz, or can it be rounded off like 25mhz or 24mhz will also work?

Thanks
 
Last edited by dogar,

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,102
Trophies
3
XP
3,428
Country
China
I was playing a game with ez flash omega, it was working fine, I turned it off and turned back on after a few seconds, now i always get Gameboy screen, no nintendo logo. The cart isnt booting.

I tried to check the crystal with multimeter in continuity mode. No beeps between any of the 4 pins.

Can it still be the crystal?

Also does the crystal has to be exact 24.54545 mhz, or can it be rounded off like 25mhz or 24mhz will also work?

Thanks
Yes, it must be the exact number.
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
1
XP
408
Country
United States
I got to say, although it was interesting, I wasn't much of a fan with your guy's EZ Flash V back in the days. But I do love your dedication and support of the product.

Appreciate seeing repair/diag info. Not a surprise to see some BGA issues on these thin boards.
 

dogar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
Pakistan
Yes, it must be the exact number.
I only have accesd to aliexpress, as other options have shipping charges almost equal to the price of the cart itself.

The closest option available is 24.576mhz. Will it work?

Im confirming beacause it takes 30 days for the package to arrive.

If 24.576mhz wont work, is there any other option left for me?

Thanks
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,102
Trophies
3
XP
3,428
Country
China
I only have accesd to aliexpress, as other options have shipping charges almost equal to the price of the cart itself.

The closest option available is 24.576mhz. Will it work?

Im confirming beacause it takes 30 days for the package to arrive.

If 24.576mhz wont work, is there any other option left for me?

Thanks
24.576mhz can work.
BTW. Have you ever tried to contact your dealer?
 

dogar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
Pakistan
24.576mhz can work.
BTW. Have you ever tried to contact your dealer?
Yes i have tried, still havnt got any response, and chances seem slim. I bought this from Aliexpress as well.

Ill try the local cellphone parts market , if indont find it ill order 24.576mhz.

In the mean time ill get the main chip reflowed (flux and a little heat) by a local guy here who repairs ps4.

Its just been a couple of days since i got my EZ Flash. I started having random hangups with RTC feature and some random cart restarts a couple of times.
 
Last edited by dogar,

intothegreed

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Daegu
XP
28
Country
Korea, South
I bought the EZ-FLASH OMEGA DE through a dealer in South Korea.
But my cartridge is showing 'Read S71 ID Error!!!!'

I wanted to exchange the product because it was difficult to refair.

A dealer in South Korea says to me :
"You can contact this forum and exchange the product,
if the ez-flash representative guarantees it."

So I would appreciate if the person in charge could reply quickly.
 

45ter

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 24, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Magnitogorsk
XP
36
Country
Russia
Hello EZ FLASH omega asked to update V00 version to V05 version. i clicked refresh and then it asked me to reboot. I turned the GBA off and on again. After that, when you turn on the GAME BOY without the Nintendo logo.
 

chrisrlink

Has a PhD in dueling
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
5,503
Trophies
2
Location
duel acadamia
XP
5,609
Country
United States
any quick fix to repair a (destroyed) card reader on the board? (the grey housing above the contact pins to hold the micro in place)? pretty sure the connector pins still work
 

finnsquared

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 12, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Location
Alabama
XP
23
Country
United States
What is the course of action in the event of #9 but without the safe mode errors? I've initiated contact w/ the dealer, but wanted to continue troubleshooting. Thoughts?
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,278
Country
United Kingdom
any quick fix to repair a (destroyed) card reader on the board? (the grey housing above the contact pins to hold the micro in place)? pretty sure the connector pins still work
Impressive damage.

That would be situationally dependent.

If it is one of the readers with an eject function but everything else intact you could probably bodge it with some tape to hold it in.

Anything else would depend upon the damage. All the EZFlash gear with card readers onboard have been soldered on so removal, repair of any traces if damaged (be it by the damage already or removing it) and replacement then gets to be the main way, unless you want to go complete cowboy and solder the SD card into the flash cart (if it is not one of those fancy wireless SD cards then will be very annoying to update anything, especially as most DS slot management tools won't work or are extremely ill advised -- random bricking, and chances are you don't have DS homebrew capabilities on it to run a FTP server or something).
 

smasha

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
339
Country
Australia
@EZ-Flash2 keep getting S71 read error on Omega DE, hot air reflow worked a few times but now it doesn't work anymore. I reballed it and reapplied it and still S71 read error. Any recommendations on where i can get a replacement S71 chip?
 

StimedHydra

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2023
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
31
Country
Mexico
I am expressing my disgust with your brand after several issues with order 2385 as a way of becoming a Newcomer and be capable of PMing directly :angry:

Poor customer service
Sent me the wrong item
Charged me twice
 
  • Sad
Reactions: hippy dave

fraca90

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 28, 2023
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
20
Country
Italy
Hi everyone, I am experiencing an issue with an EZODE, whenever i try to boot a game from SD it goes white screen (boot from NOR works fine).
I tried to check for errors but both checks say OK.
Tried on multiple game boys with same results, the same SD card works perfectly on an EZ Omega (non DE).
I am wondering if it could be a faulty chip even if it says OK on the checks, or if that excludes it 100%.
Thanks in GB advance to anyone willing to help!
 
Last edited by fraca90,

rockbmi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
610
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
2,636
I can't direct boot a game from the NOR on an Analogue Pocket a GBA SP, can you advise, no errors when I boot into safe mode
 

Granitf

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 30, 2023
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
15
Country
Albania
Hi after changing my SD card and copying over all the files, i booted up the EZ Flash card, without touching anything it displayed: update V05 0version to V10 version ( or it could be 0.5 to 1.0 im not sure ), either way after that was done and reached 100% it didn't go past so i waited a bit and restart the game every since it doesn't go past the Nintendo Logo i believe its broken, is there anything i can do? ( holding R when booting doesn't do anything )
 

infopcgood

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2023
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
16
Location
Republic of Korea
XP
23
Country
Korea, South
@EZ-Flash2 Bought a new EZ-Flash JR, plugged it in my GBC (CGB-JPN-001), and it only displays 'Micro SD initial error!' I did the following things:
  • erasing the microSD card & formatted it into FAT32, 32KB cluster size
  • using another microSD card
  • erasing and replacing the contents (FW4 and 5 beta). Wasn't able to actually flash a new firmware because obviously, it wouldn't go past the error screen
Why could this happen? Please reply ASAP!
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
12,341
Trophies
2
XP
7,970
Country
United States
@EZ-Flash2 Bought a new EZ-Flash JR, plugged it in my GBC (CGB-JPN-001), and it only displays 'Micro SD initial error!' I did the following things:
  • erasing the microSD card & formatted it into FAT32, 32KB cluster size
  • using another microSD card
  • erasing and replacing the contents (FW4 and 5 beta). Wasn't able to actually flash a new firmware because obviously, it wouldn't go past the error screen
Why could this happen? Please reply ASAP!
Modded GBC?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Rez thinks temp is double xp weekend every day +1