Acekard 2i and DSi Update 1.4.5U

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by SColton, Dec 16, 2012.

Dec 16, 2012

Acekard 2i and DSi Update 1.4.5U by SColton at 2:54 PM (26,042 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. SColton
    OP

    Newcomer SColton Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I was just about ready to purchase an Acekard 2i from here: http://www.oz3ds.com/product.php?id_product=16 When I realized that my DSi had an update. Without thinking, I updated it. Now I am not sure if the Acekard will still work with my DSi. Does anyone know? I scoured the internet and found nothing. There's tons of stuff in the R4 cards, but I don't want those.
     
  2. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    No, it won't work. At least, until Acekard Team release an update patch for it, but I highly doubt that since they pretty much ignore the last couple of 3DS firmware updates.
     
  3. SColton
    OP

    Newcomer SColton Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Damn damn damn. That was like the only thing I wanted for Christmas. I'm gonna contact Acekard.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  5. hnguyen2010

    Newcomer hnguyen2010 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    I try to contact Acekard by sent them email couple of days ago. I haven't got a email back from Acekard yet.
     
  6. idc

    Newcomer idc Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Yeah, good luck with that. I'd be very surprised if you got any kind of response.
     
  7. Senbei Norimaki

    Newcomer Senbei Norimaki Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    rule #1 never blindly update your system.
     
  8. ryanlaw
    This message by ryanlaw has been removed from public view by Costello, Jun 19, 2013.
    Dec 17, 2012
  9. SColton
    OP

    Newcomer SColton Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    The only reason I "blindly" updated the system was because I have always done that, and I only got into Flash Carts a few days ago. I didn't know that it made a difference. I still haven't gotten a reply from Acekard, either. Thanks for the ideas, guys.
     
  10. AeroblitzR

    Member AeroblitzR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In my house
    Country:
    United States
    quit using misleading titles.
    it gets REALLY annoying :angry:
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe because the hardware is incapable of bypassing those updates.
     
  12. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Since you brought this up let's assume what you said is true. They still could make a new acekard hardware revision, I would even be willing to buy if it was that the case. But they didn't do anything. No updates, no new hardware revisions, nothing...

    EDIT: Quite sincerely, I don't understand why bother defending Acekard Team when they don't even answer their emails anymore, which was the very least they could do
     
  13. The Riolu

    Member The Riolu Emanation Pokémon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa o_o I never even noticed the update. Good thing I'm still on 1.4.4 U :D

    But in reply to the OP, the SuperCard DSTWO would be the way to go. You'd need another DS Phat/Lite/DSi (under 1.4.5) to update your DSTWO to work on 1.4.5, but you could get a pre-updated one from a reseller.
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    For you saying that, I can assume you've been out of the scene for at least a month.

    Anyway, there are only 2 pieces of hardware that can bypass it: the easily-cloned R4i Gold (iirc) and the SuperCard DSTwo.
    I don't think the Acekard team wants to head down the clone route or the SoC route, so they're out at least until 3DS flashcarts come.
     
  15. ComeTurismO

    Member ComeTurismO CTO

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    4:54 PM
    Country:
    Canada
    Damn bro, the new update ain't compatible with the AK2i, so it won't work. You'll get a message opening saying that 'An Error Has Occurred, please turn the power................."
     
  16. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    try geting a supercard dstwo
     
  17. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Either way, Acekard is not a good option for 3DS/DSi nowadays. I wouldn't be surprised if the Acekard ends up with the same fate as the CycloDS iEvo. Which is a shame since it used to be a great card with Akaio and all...
     
  18. The Riolu

    Member The Riolu Emanation Pokémon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    RodrigoDavy is right; the Acekard will most likely die in the future like the CycloDS iEvo did. And as far as I know, the R4i Gold is made by the Acekard Team as well, so I would suggest the DSTWO.
     
  19. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I thought we had already established that the Acekard was dead.
    Not only that, but there are basically only 2 alive cards now; 1 is expensive and a battery killer, and the other is hard to find in legit form.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's not. You're probably thinking of another cart that uses the AK2i design that was sold.
     

Share This Page