2GB microSD limit: is it really that hard?!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Searinox, Dec 24, 2007.

Dec 24, 2007
  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Both the M3 and R4 are exactly the same hardware. Heck, they were even convertable into one another at some point. The M3 supports SDHC and so did the R4 to a point... all in all there is NO REASON why R4 firmware couldnot be made to support SDHC. So WHY is there this stupid 2GB microSD limit on the R4s???
     


  2. SkH

    Member SkH GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    Because of how the built-in Card FirmWare reads the cards. It's reads in the old fashion.
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    when did m3 support sdhc?
     
  4. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    R4 = M3 Simply

    Not M3Real!!!
     
  5. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    If the firmware (not kernel!) on R4 would be writable, it could be changed. However, the team probably wanted to avoid bricked R4s, so it's unchangeable.
     
  6. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    because this topic is kinda useless anyway...

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 gig is plenty.
    How many games can you play at once anyway ?
     
  8. Keitaro Urashima

    Newcomer Keitaro Urashima Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Philippines
    20 to 25 games. I was wondering, if there is more 256MB games like ASH: Archaic Sealed Heat.
     
  9. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Not yet, ASH is the biggest.
     
  10. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well if you use it for mp3 and dpg as well you can fill it.
     
  11. iritegood

    Member iritegood GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Let me spell it out for you.
    R4 = Slot-1 card with low price and good compatibility
    M3 = Team that makes cards
    M3 DS Simply = M3's first slot-1 card, exactly the same as R4
    M3 DS Real = M3's second slot-1 card, has SDHC support

    The SDHC limitation is not artificial, it's a hardware limitation. I don't think the SDHC standard was finalized before the R4 was even released. So chill down and go buy another card if you nust.
     
  12. wiithepeople

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    ^ nice summary [​IMG]

    You know you can just get two 2GB cards if you need more space. They're getting really cheap now
     
  13. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Switching between cards is annoying as eff. Couldn't someone just write a small patch for the firmware? It would save many ppl a great deal of frustration plus it would put the R4 higher up the flashcard competition scale. They could get a considerable boost in potential buyers if they just did that. Imagine the R4 is cheaper than M3 Real who only buy it for that reason and how many customers they'd turn their way. Yes, 2GB fill up easily.
     
  14. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    If you didn't know, the SDHC standard supports up to 2 terabyte (2048GB) cards.

    Just some slightly irrelevent trivia
     
  15. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Start paying attention. The R4's firmware cannot be updated.

    SDHC support cannot be added in a new loader either, because the loader has to be read from the microSD card each time the R4 starts up.
     
  16. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want more memory, get a Cyclo or a slot 2 like an EZFlash IV or a G6.
     
  17. suikostar108

    Newcomer suikostar108 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    MA USA
    Country:
    United States
    "switching between cards is annoying as eff" ... you sound like a spoiled brat...get over it [​IMG]
     
  18. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    :'( [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] That hurt. And I meant switching Micro SDs in one R4... just get a slot 2 that you can boot from the R4. But still, that hurt. Do NOT do that again.
     
  19. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Hahaha
     
  20. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Searinox = DarkAura?
     

Share This Page