VR Gaming Enthusiast
OP
Trophies
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
Country
United States
I'm interested in knowing how anyones tastes in gaming have changed over the years. Have you ever had a change in favorite genre or franchise? Did you once play nothing but platformers and moved on to now loving RPG's?

I started playing back in the days of the Atari 2600 and never stopped. I would play Pac-Man and PPhoenixall day. Back then Shmups were my favorite. Then the NES came along and changed all that. SMB made platformers my fav. genre and the system introduced me to the fantastic world of RPG's wwhichwould soon take over as my favorite genre for years. In the hey day of the arcade I dropped who knows how many hundreds into SF and MK and quickly changed from Playing RPG's nonstop to playing Fighters all the time.

Needless to say Now at age 36 I'd play just about anything and probably like it. I've owned at one time or another almost every system and hate fanboys. Every system has its positives and negatives (some more than others).

I could go on, but I think you guys will get the idea of what I'd like to know.

Please discuss your personal tastes and how they have changed if at all or your views on fanboyism.

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I stopped playing Nintendo games and have joined the Sony master race.

[yt]teaP3HXYOgE[/yt]

But in all seriousness, I really don't know. Most of the games I played back in the day I'd still play and enjoy today. Not as a "nostalgic" game, but as a genuinely fun game. I can say that I can sit through a slower RPG nowadays while most of my games back in the day were pretty high on the action. I don't think I could sit through a turn based RPG like FFXIII ten years ago like I can today.