Xbox 360 problem

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Giangsta, Jan 31, 2009.

Jan 31, 2009

Xbox 360 problem by Giangsta at 11:06 AM (1,998 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Giangsta
    OP

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    A few days ago my flashed 360 just started having problems running backup games, The discs would load and and usually at the main menu i'd get the Disc is Unreadable error please clean and reboot console error.

    I'm gonna bring it back to the shop that did the flashing to have it looked at, it still plays original games fine and it i've had it flashed for exactly 3 months now and coincidentally the warranty was also for 3 months...hmmms.

    In the meantime i'd like to get some info from anyone out there who has similar incidents occur to them.
     


  2. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried the original version of the backup you are trying to play? I knew my 360 was dying when both the backup and original versions of Quantum of Solace and L4D kept freezing on me. Other backups also randomly froze, but those were the 2 which I also tested with originals. I rented the originals to test. I suggest you do the same.
     
  3. kokiri_link

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same thing happened when I had a flashed 360, you know whats next? A RROD.
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    uhm...
    why dont you save the game to the HDD and play it from the HDD?
    you probably wouldnt have disc read errors anymore... except if the game can't be copied to the HDD in the first place.
     
  5. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    The hardware quality of the 360 is terrible..
    not only because of the RRoD, the drive seems to be another problem.
    My cousin got an Arcade with Hitachi drive, never flashd or done anything, and it gives disc undreadable error aswell.. those disc's work fine on my 360..
     
  6. Giangsta
    OP

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia

    Yeah if only if it was that easy [​IMG]

    I've already tried copying to HDD and yeah....it won't even copy to begin with and now the originals are starting to get the errors as well...damned Xbox 360 drives.

    Oh wells im gonna head out to the store soon hopefully they can fix it
     
  7. plexo

    Member plexo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im placing £20 on your laser is dying

    dont blame the shop that flashed it for you...

    what discs have you been using? what speed where you burning them at etc?

    your going to have to open it up and dismantle the dvd drive if u want it fixed, its quite easy... alternatively you can try pot tweaking it (google xbox 360 pot tweak) to give it a bit more life just be careful u can fry the laser trying this...
     
  8. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    You're having the same exact symtoms I did. My 360 is now dead (rrod). I would get disc read errors even when playing an arcade game (with no disc inside the tray). Slowly, it died. Personally, I would just buy another one, but I don't know if you have that option.
     
  9. Giangsta
    OP

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    Well i am blaming the store that did the flashing because they are also the ones who swapped out my Lite-On drive with a 'New' Samsung drive to be flashed.
     
  10. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh you didn't mention that. Well then obviously it is there fault. The gave you a faulty drive to begin with. Ask them to give you your old lite on drive back and flash that.
     
  11. plexo

    Member plexo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe not, maybe he is using very cheap media... console lasers are weak and picky to begin with, cheap media can set them down a very short road of usage before they start to have problems
     
  12. Giangsta
    OP

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    Nope [​IMG] I always fork out the extra cash for verbatims...wont settle for anything less.

    On another note, i dropped off the xbox yesterday let's hope he can get back to me with some good news soon
     
  13. kokiri_link

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good luck buddy, I cant believe he swapped your drive for a sammy...Liteons are the best drives currently, and are flashable...I dont understand why he did that.
     
  14. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They've had it flashed for three months. Three months ago the only choice would of been to swap the drive out.
     
  15. kokiri_link

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah yeah, the three month thing [​IMG] Forgot about that.
     
  16. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    I have a question , did you update the the 360 after flashing the drive ? for example everytime I load a back up it says there there is a update available xbox live do you want to update. I always say no
     
  17. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Those updates will not harm you. LET THE GAMES UPDATE! [​IMG]
     
  18. Giangsta
    OP

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    yeps ive updated to the NXE but i havent updated any of my games because i usually disconnect my net when im playing backups
     
  19. Heeroo

    Member Heeroo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Rehenbühl
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] I think we have a tut for that?
     
  20. plexo

    Member plexo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    samsungs where the most "popular" when drive swapping was done for liteons, simply because benq drives suck and samsungs where quite cheap

    now i had 2 supplys of samsungs, 1 was 12usd each other was 23usd each, the 23 ones looks brand new, the 12usd ones where pulled from systems didnt look as good, the laser needed tweaked/replaced on most of them, still worked out a bit cheaper though

    your shop will either swap the liteon back into it or just replace the laser
     

Share This Page