Gaming Will sims 3 work on my pc and my friends?

Ringo619

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
577
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
439
Country
United States
I kinda got back into playing sims3 after it was released to the nds but now i wanna play it on my pc and my friend also wants to play it as well but the problem is i am not sure if me and my friends pc specs are meeting the required specs to play it, i checked the sims3 system requirements and half of my specs don't really meet the required specs. I will post mine and my friends specs.

My specs
2.00 GB of ram
2.00 ghz
approx.780 mb of video card (not sure which video card i have)
250 gb of hard drive
Running vista basic

The required specs for sims 3 if running on vista
2.4 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
1.5 GB RAM
128 MB Video Card with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
Microsoft Windows Vista Service Pack 1
At least 6.1 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB of additional space for custom content and saved games

Now i am not sure if i have pixel shader 2.0 on my video card and also not sure about the "P4 processor or equivalent part"

Now my friends specs
0.99 GB of ram
1.60 GHz
224 mb of video card ( not sure which video card my friend has )
And my friend has a external hard drive so gb requirement is no problem
Running windows xp

The required specs for sims 3 if running on xp
2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent
1 GB RAM
128 MB Video Card with support for Pixel Shader 2.0
The latest version of DirectX 9.0c
Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2
At least 6.1 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB of additional space for custom content and saved games

Not sure about the pixel shader 2.0 and the " P4 processor or equivalent "

If anyone can tell me if the sims 3 can run on my and my friends pc with the specs we both have? i know we both don't have the required but just to make sure if it will run or not.
Thanks in advance
 

dan80315

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
420
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
USA
XP
274
Country
United States
If your graphics cards happen to be integrated chipsets, then you both will not be able to run the game.

Your friend's PC specs already look low enough as it is so I doubt he will be able to run the game despite his graphics card.

In XP go to Start then Run and a small text box will show up. Type 'dxdiag' on there without the quotes. It will prompt you if you want to find out info about your PC or something like that, click on yes or OK and another window will show up with several tabs. This window will give you all the info you need about your system.

Clicking on the video tab will tell you the info of your graphics card.
 

Ringo619

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
577
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
439
Country
United States
It seems to me that me and my friends integrated chipsets so i guess we can't run sims3 D:but is there any other sims game we can run that is quite new?
 

Ringo619

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
577
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
439
Country
United States
i went to the site "http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/" and i picked sims3 and i passed all the minimum specs so i am guessing i can run it on my pc? cause i got all ticks on my hard ware and so on
 

lordrand11

The Wheel of Time Turns and Ages Come And Pass.
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
297
Trophies
1
Age
37
Location
Gallatin, TN
XP
1,401
Country
United States
yeah you should be able to most minimum specs on pc games is dev suggested minimum specs you can get stuff to run on low end equipment just have to screw around with the settings
 

dib

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 1, 2004
Messages
1,579
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
478
Country
United States
EA and Maxis produced a line of Sims games that were specifically tailored for lower end computers and laptops. I know one of them was called Castaway.
 

Arnold Schwarzen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
786
Trophies
0
Age
75
Website
gov.ca.gov
XP
293
Country
United States
I'd wager and say that you could probably run the game no problem. That CPU is it at least a dual or quad core? If it is you shouldn't have to worry there. Also I would never rely on that website to tell me whether or not I can run a game, it can be pretty inaccurate. I was told on my older system that I could not run Battlefield 2142 just because my video card was not supported but ran fine on high settings anyway.
 
B

ball2012003

Guest
nathancnc said:
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/

Go there, it has a database of all games, will scan you computer haedware and tell you if you can run it, and if not, what you need to upgrade.
Are you sure this is a good site, look at the results i got for crysis
16lwoi0.png

My specs are also in the image but in case you cant tell I have an integrated ati radeon hd 4200
 

kanefan666

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
71
Trophies
0
XP
120
Country
India
Yes it will! all i canrun it are shitty sites... I can run all the games they show my PC not run at medium - High settings so go for Sims 3! i myself have the Intel GMA Core i3 HD and it can run almost any game out there.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @M4x1mumReZ Was the Castlevania DOS game actually impossible to finish?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, I never got to the boss, the gameplay is pure garbage.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Controls are very finicky and its hard to kill enemies if they keep coming back.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I wouldn't even dare to try that
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, Oh noooooo
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    thieves decided to break into a GameStop near me. :sad: in a way.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your GameStop is still in business
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    yep.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    yes I know they suposidly All closed down, but hey
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If AncientBoi bought the branch, he'd make a new section called GayStop selling sex toys both new and used.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I didn't really deal with them, as the time I did, they were very rude. Not just to me, but other customers as well.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Customer: "Uh, I need to bring this toy back, it's all chewed up."
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Employee: "Would you like a 30% discount off your next purchase?"
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    GameStop already has those products in the back
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Customer: "No. I want my money back."
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Employee: "Okay. Although we only prefer refunds via one of our gift cards."
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I want to see your Manager, NOW!
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Customer: "NO! I DON'T WANT ONE OF YOUR GODDAMN FUCKING GIFT CARDS!! I'M SPEAKING TO YOUR MANAGER!!"
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Gimme The Corporates Number!
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Gimme their location coordinates!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Gimme their social security number and also their ID!
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    <== [ A Darren ]
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Oh, and the credit card number inc. the 3 digits on the back!
    +1
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Oh, and the credit card number inc. the 3 digits on the back! +1