Hacking Why doesn't DS Mode work with GW 3.0?

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
Title's self explanatory

I can completely understand why DS mode didn't work with the DS exploit

but I'm on 9.2 and after creating emuNAND I formatted sysnand to unlink them so now my DSi ware stuff from the eShop's on emunand and I basically can't use it. Since the web exploit is not dependent on crashing DS mode, why can't we play DS(i) games in emuNAND?
 

Ralph1611

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2014
Messages
1,220
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
798
Country
United States
Sky3ds plays 3ds games.. and u can just take out the sky3ds and play dstwo... so easy to do and I LOVE IT!!
 

Nollog

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
2,964
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Ireland
They're probably still using the same memory addresses, which ds and dsi modes seemingly need to work.
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
from what i have read its simply the fact that they crash the whole system.....from there they rebuild it into a working state with their patches applied.....but as of yet they haven't gotten around to fixing the NDS/GBA firmware portions....thats just how i have understood it all, so it was never really so much the fact it was started with the NDS profile exploit, as they simply didn't fix the additional firmware modes
 

Falo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
656
Trophies
1
XP
2,389
Country
Germany
The 3DS has 3 firmwares, NATIVE_FIRM, TWL_FIRM and AGB_FIRM,
To play 3DS games, you run NATIVE_FIRM.

If you want to play DS or DSi games, your 3DS needs to switch from NATIVE_FIRM to TWL_FIRM.
Same goes for GBA games, your 3DS needs to switch from NATIVE_FIRM to AGB_FIRM.

Gateway Mode uses a patched NATIVE_FIRM to do it's magic in 3DS Mode, but if you try to play DS/DSi/GBA, you switch to another firmware and basically reload the original firmware, this throws you out of emunand while the game still boots and your system crashs.

TL;DR:
It's impossible without a permanent CFW flashed to your sysnand and it may never be possible with gateway.
 

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,034
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,234
Country
China
Sky3ds plays 3ds games.. and u can just take out the sky3ds and play dstwo... so easy to do and I LOVE IT!!

thank you for help the OP with his specific question. your advertisement is appreciated.

edit: you know this is a sarcastic post right?
 

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,001
Country
United States
Make a new emunand partition. And then restore your sysnand backup so that the emunand and sysnand are unlinked, but sysnand is still in its original state.
 

iNFiNiTY

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
708
Trophies
0
XP
453
I think TWL_FIRM is part of the exploit and the memory is used. If it dropped into TWL mode then it would fuck the GW code up considering it limits access to memory and the ARM11. It's a lot of extra work i bet to try and fix their code to drop in and out of TWL mode but maybe one day it will be done. Right now they have enough work as every Nintendo update is making security patches/memory changes etc.
 

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
All right it's starting to make a bit of sense in my head. Thanks guys!

Oddly though I emailed GW about it a few days ago and here's the reply I got today along with the original message I sent off, if anyone cares

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 10.59.02 PM.png
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
2
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,162
Country
United States
The 3DS has 3 firmwares, NATIVE_FIRM, TWL_FIRM and AGB_FIRM,
To play 3DS games, you run NATIVE_FIRM.

If you want to play DS or DSi games, your 3DS needs to switch from NATIVE_FIRM to TWL_FIRM.
Same goes for GBA games, your 3DS needs to switch from NATIVE_FIRM to AGB_FIRM.

Gateway Mode uses a patched NATIVE_FIRM to do it's magic in 3DS Mode, but if you try to play DS/DSi/GBA, you switch to another firmware and basically reload the original firmware, this throws you out of emunand while the game still boots and your system crashs.

TL;DR:
It's impossible without a permanent CFW flashed to your sysnand and it may never be possible with gateway.

Would be possible to simply patch TWL_FIRM so it can boot correctly? Or perhaps we can just build a custom Arm9 homebrew base that can setup a modified DS environment via a launcher.dat payload file. I can certainly imagine Gateway putting something like this in their "menu" of sorts. It would allow booting DS games off the same card as the 3DS games are on. Would certainly take a lot of programming to get done correctly. Something like this has already been on on the Wii in regards to booting gamecube games (and in vWii on the WiiU as well).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
Title's self explanatory

I can completely understand why DS mode didn't work with the DS exploit

but I'm on 9.2 and after creating emuNAND I formatted sysnand to unlink them so now my DSi ware stuff from the eShop's on emunand and I basically can't use it. Since the web exploit is not dependent on crashing DS mode, why can't we play DS(i) games in emuNAND?


The title is not self explanatory, its a question....

If you're trying to use the ds exploit with 9.2 it does not work. If you're trying to use the ds mode to play ds games than use the flashtimewarp.cia.
 

Falo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2012
Messages
656
Trophies
1
XP
2,389
Country
Germany
Would be possible to simply patch TWL_FIRM so it can boot correctly? Or perhaps we can just build a custom Arm9 homebrew base that can setup a modified DS environment via a launcher.dat payload file. I can certainly imagine Gateway putting something like this in their "menu" of sorts. It would allow booting DS games off the same card as the 3DS games are on. Would certainly take a lot of programming to get done correctly. Something like this has already been on on the Wii in regards to booting gamecube games (and in vWii on the WiiU as well).

I guess nothing is impossible, but don't compare a 3DS to a Wii, there are no devs to even start the work on a custom TWL_FIRM and i don't really know how the boot works, it may not be possible to do something against this forced reboot.

The easiest way to make DSi and GBA work, is to make properly signed cia's and install that into sysnand.
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
I guess nothing is impossible, but don't compare a 3DS to a Wii, there are no devs to even start the work on a custom TWL_FIRM and i don't really know how the boot works, it may not be possible to do something against this forced reboot.

The easiest way to make DSi and GBA work, is to make properly signed cia's and install that into sysnand.


For some reason I read somewhere that Homebrew was picking up, apparently not.
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
Yeah, it's a question, but it's also self explanatory cos it doesn't require me to elaborate further :unsure:

Anyway team GW claim to be working on it, so who knows

Imagine that comes out before N3DS support


Working on what? Getting ds mode to work? I never heard that. Link your source directly to the post.

edit: I'm not trusting any post of cropped emails or any email for that matter.
 

Lucifer666

all the world needs is me
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
1,627
Trophies
1
Location
The Fourth Dimension
XP
2,160
Country
United Kingdom
edit: I'm not trusting any post of cropped emails or any email for that matter.


Yeah, they say they're working on getting DS mode to work in emunand

I can see why you wouldn't necessarily trust it but on the other hand I have legit no reason to fake it lol. That doesn't go anyone any good
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
Yeah, they say they're working on getting DS mode to work in emunand

I can see why you wouldn't necessarily trust it but on the other hand I have legit no reason to fake it lol. That doesn't go anyone any good


Blame it on those who thought it be funny to replicate a GW email with fake information and rude replies. Either way I can only depend on each release at a time.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: i thought i could chat oh well