Weird BootMii Issue

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by LightyKD, Oct 2, 2009.

Oct 2, 2009

Weird BootMii Issue by LightyKD at 11:58 PM (941 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I have this extremely weird issue. I have tried installing Bootmii on my friend's Wii Multiple time and each time I get the same result. The HackMii installer allows for his Wii to have BootMii installed to Boot2 and the IOS. I have tried both but with each one I always get a black screen. I can press "reset" on the console or the (A) button to exit to the Wii Menu from the black screen but it's very odd. Is there anything that might fix this issue?
     
  2. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Has anybody had this issue of a black screen with BootMii?
     
  3. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    i actually had the same problem

    what i did:
    1. deleted the bootmii folders on my sd card...
    2. uninstall bootmii via hackmii/bannerbomb
    3. reinstall bootmii via hackmii/bannerbomb

    and voila
     
  4. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... I'll try that
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Run the BootMii Configuration Editor app to make sure that BootMii isn't set to a PAL resolution or trying to display 480p on an SDTV
     
  6. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Is it installing and then just not loading properly when you turn the wii on with the sd card inserted?

    My friends wii did this after he installed bootmii.It installed just fine but everytime he turned the wii on with the sd card in the wii that had the bootmii folder it would load a black screen and do nothing and he would have to power down and restart.He copied all the bootmii files from the sd card to a different sd card and bootmii loaded properly after that.
     
  7. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    My 16GB SDHC card will not load bootmii either (black screen) because it is simply not compatible yet. Even if the card is just in the system on initial boot (with NO bootmii folder on it!) I get a black screen for a few seconds before the Wii menu comes up.

    Probably just another case of an incompatible card. Bootmii's SD card compatibility is not too great from my experiences (works on two out of 20 cards I have here), so I would suggest to try to use something like a good old vanilla Sandisk 2GB SD card.
     
  8. claud10

    Newcomer claud10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    I experienced some weird problem. Installed the HAXX->JODI file through preloader 0.29 and then bootmi (IOS) was not booting up anymore. Neither HBC 1.0.5 through preloader. I can still boot the System Menu and from that the HBC. I deleted the .dol installed by preloader with NandClean but BootMii was still not booting. I then reinstalled BootMii as IOS and everything is working as expected.
     

Share This Page