Homebrew W.I.P. Nestopia port!

D

Deleted User

Guest
Author here. For the most part its working, but in order to get it to run faster, I'm working on hardware-accelerated rendering. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to get that to work on anything but citra so far, so for now it just freezes when you load a game.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I'll keep trying, but I wouldn't get my hopes up just yet. Haven't been having much luck with getting GPU rendering to work on an actual 3DS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

loco365

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
I'm really looking forward to seeing this. Nestopia was a really nice emulator to use, although VirtuaNES has the best NSF playback GUI ;D
 

DiscostewSM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
5,478
Trophies
2
Location
Sacramento, California
Website
lazerlight.x10.mx
XP
5,170
Country
United States
I'll keep trying, but I wouldn't get my hopes up just yet. Haven't been having much luck with getting GPU rendering to work on an actual 3DS.




If you take a look at the source code for BlargSNES, you can get an idea of how to do it. What that does is that it goes through each scanline, identifies differences from the previous scanline (like modes, background position, etc), stores them into sections, and then after the last scanline, goes through each section one at a time, grabbing the tiles that make up each section, converting them to direct-color textures that get stored into a texture cache, and mapping those onto 2 polygons (that form a rectangle) that are added to an array list. Sounds like a lot, but considering you're working with the NES and not the SNES, many of the steps are simplified.
 

jocopoco

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
96
Country
Im trying to compilte it but gcc stops on an error No such file #include <ctrcommon/common.hpp>
 

jocopoco

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2014
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
96
Country
k, thanks but I have problems with ctrcommon, which ctrulib verrsion are u using? Anyway I have also problems with my emu, is your hb requiring external files on sd?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
If you take a look at the source code for BlargSNES, you can get an idea of how to do it. What that does is that it goes through each scanline, identifies differences from the previous scanline (like modes, background position, etc), stores them into sections, and then after the last scanline, goes through each section one at a time, grabbing the tiles that make up each section, converting them to direct-color textures that get stored into a texture cache, and mapping those onto 2 polygons (that form a rectangle) that are added to an array list. Sounds like a lot, but considering you're working with the NES and not the SNES, many of the steps are simplified.


One of my goals is to not touch the actual NES emulator code, allowing the libretro frontend code to be reused on other emulator cores. Of course, if that proves too slow, I can always delve into the NES rendering code and make some changes.

I actually have everything rendering fine on citra. I seem to be making an error somewhere in my use of GPU code, however, as it freezes on an actual 3DS.

Basically, my issue isn't with how I want to render it, but that I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong in the resulting code that makes it freeze.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SLiV3R

Idaho

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2013
Messages
862
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
1,249
Country
France
One of my goals is to not touch the actual NES emulator code, allowing the libretro frontend code to be reused on other emulator cores. Of course, if that proves too slow, I can always delve into the NES rendering code and make some changes.

I actually have everything rendering fine on citra. I seem to be making an error somewhere in my use of GPU code, however, as it freezes on an actual 3DS.

Basically, my issue isn't with how I want to render it, but that I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong in the resulting code that makes it freeze.

You should ask the big guys on #3dsdev then, if they don't have an answer they might at least help you finding one...
 

davhuit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
994
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
France
Nice, good luck!

As someone said, it's too bad to see the lack of working 3DS emulators homebrew when most of them could now work without any downscaling at all and fullspeed/with sound

(Still hoping someone will try to emulate the Genesis, one day).

And nice choice about Nestopia, as it's a cycle-accurate emulator.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @BentlyMods, Priiloader and BootMii as boot2 and you're all set