Homebrew [SUPPORT] The BootCTR9 support thread

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,139
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
Germany
Before posting, please check out the BootCTR9 wiki.

What informations should you post when you have a problem
  • A description of your problem
  • A list of thinks you have already tried
  • Your configuration in a spoiler
  • Your BootCTR9 filelog in a spoiler (you need to enable it in your configuration)

What I should not post here:
  • Feature discussions - this should be done in Github issues
  • Normal feedback and release questions - this should be done in the release thread
Every frequently asked question will be added to the FAQ section of the wiki, to help to prevent these problems in future.
 
Last edited by RednaxelaNnamtra,

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,139
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
Germany
HI :) i have a question, its possible to config an anim with decryt9 and emunand 9 with that?
if you mean, that so you want that everthing should have it own animation, yes, just define the payload splashes :)

If you mean, that both should have the same, just use the same path for both.

Also if you want to define a default animation for every payload, that is always used if you have not defined something else, you could use the global section, it will allow you to define your own default values.
 

azerti1304

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
214
Country
France
capture-png.64040
I dont understand how to config boot ctr 9. Somebody can post a screenshot of his bootconfig please ?
I want to boot in Luma, emunand 9 and decrypt 9 with on top a splash screen and at the bottom a anim.[/IMG]
 
Last edited by azerti1304,

Hyoretsu

Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
1,599
Trophies
0
XP
692
Country
Brazil
Whenever I boot my console using BootCTR9's arm9loaderhax.bin, it gives me an error:

[DEBUG] Screens enabled
[PANIC] Trying to load a 3dsx - this is
Press any key to shutdown
[DEBUG] shutdown

Here is my config:

;BootCTR9 Main Configuration
[BOOTCTR9]
key_delay = "3000"
bootPassword = ""
enableAutosoftboot = "0"
enableArm9CompanionBoot = "1"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
boot_splash = "3"
boot_splash_image = "/Splashes/AuReiNAND.bin"
fileLog = "0"
screenLog = "0"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"

;11.1 EmuNAND + Gateway 3DS
[DEFAULT]
path = "/Payloads/Gateway.bin"
delay = "0"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "0"
splash_image = ""
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;A9nc
[COMPANION]
path = "/Payloads/A9nc.bin"
delay = "0"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "0"
splash_image = ""
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Luma3DS + Homebrew Launcher
[KEY_L]
path = "/Payloads/Luma3DS.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/New Nintendo 3DS AuReiNAND.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "1"

;Decrypt9WIP
[KEY_R]
path = "/Payloads/Decrypt9WIP.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/Saitama's Poker Face.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Luma3DS Updater
[KEY_L;KEY_R]
path = "/Payloads/Luma3DS Updater.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/It is true, I am indeed a cunt.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Hourglass9
[KEY_L;KEY_R;KEY_SELECT;KEY_START]
path = "/Payloads/Hourglass9.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/Triforce.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"
 

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,139
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
Germany
Whenever I boot my console using BootCTR9's arm9loaderhax.bin, it gives me an error:

[DEBUG] Screens enabled
[PANIC] Trying to load a 3dsx - this is
Press any key to shutdown
[DEBUG] shutdown

Here is my config:

;BootCTR9 Main Configuration
[BOOTCTR9]
key_delay = "3000"
bootPassword = ""
enableAutosoftboot = "0"
enableArm9CompanionBoot = "1"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
boot_splash = "3"
boot_splash_image = "/Splashes/AuReiNAND.bin"
fileLog = "0"
screenLog = "0"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"

;11.1 EmuNAND + Gateway 3DS
[DEFAULT]
path = "/Payloads/Gateway.bin"
delay = "0"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "0"
splash_image = ""
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;A9nc
[COMPANION]
path = "/Payloads/A9nc.bin"
delay = "0"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "0"
splash_image = ""
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Luma3DS + Homebrew Launcher
[KEY_L]
path = "/Payloads/Luma3DS.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/New Nintendo 3DS AuReiNAND.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "1"

;Decrypt9WIP
[KEY_R]
path = "/Payloads/Decrypt9WIP.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/Saitama's Poker Face.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Luma3DS Updater
[KEY_L;KEY_R]
path = "/Payloads/Luma3DS Updater.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/It is true, I am indeed a cunt.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"

;Hourglass9
[KEY_L;KEY_R;KEY_SELECT;KEY_START]
path = "/Payloads/Hourglass9.bin"
delay = "5000"
payload = "-1"
offset = "0"
enableSoftbootSplash = "0"
splash = "3"
splash_image = "/Splashes/Triforce.bin"
screenEnabled = "1"
screenBrightness = "0xFF"
enablePathFix = "0"
try to remove all the "" from the configuration, it trys to read them as number and returns 0 (and would also interpret them as part of the filepath) , because its not a number :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hyoretsu

Hyoretsu

Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
1,599
Trophies
0
XP
692
Country
Brazil
It worked. But now when it boots, it says:

[PANIC] Failed to load the [DEFAULT] se
Press any key to shutdown
[DEBUG] shutdown

EDIT: Modified the config:

;BootCTR9 Main Configuration
[BOOTCTR9]
key_delay = 3000

;11.2 EmuNAND + Gateway 3DS
[Default]
path = Payloads\Gateway.bin

;Luma3DS + Homebrew Launcher
[KEY_L]
path = Payloads\Luma3DS.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\New Nintendo 3DS AuReiNAND.bin
enablePathFix = 1

;Decrypt9WIP
[KEY_R]
path = Payloads\Decrypt9WIP.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\Saitama's Poker Face.bin

;Luma3DS Updater
[KEY_L;KEY_R]
path = Payloads\Luma3DS Updater.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\It is true, I am indeed a cunt.bin

;Hourglass9
[KEY_L;KEY_R;KEY_SELECT;KEY_START]
path = Payloads\Hourglass9.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\Triforce.bin
 
Last edited by Hyoretsu,

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,139
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
Germany
It worked. But now when it boots, it says:

[PANIC] Failed to load the [DEFAULT] se
Press any key to shutdown
[DEBUG] shutdown

EDIT: Modified the config:

;BootCTR9 Main Configuration
[BOOTCTR9]
key_delay = 3000

;11.2 EmuNAND + Gateway 3DS
[Default]
path = Payloads\Gateway.bin

;Luma3DS + Homebrew Launcher
[KEY_L]
path = Payloads\Luma3DS.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\New Nintendo 3DS AuReiNAND.bin
enablePathFix = 1

;Decrypt9WIP
[KEY_R]
path = Payloads\Decrypt9WIP.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\Saitama's Poker Face.bin

;Luma3DS Updater
[KEY_L;KEY_R]
path = Payloads\Luma3DS Updater.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\It is true, I am indeed a cunt.bin

;Hourglass9
[KEY_L;KEY_R;KEY_SELECT;KEY_START]
path = Payloads\Hourglass9.bin
delay = 5000
splash = 3
splash_image = \Splashes\Triforce.bin
BootCTR9 only supports single buttons atm (could maybe change in future) so the ';' could maybe break the parsing of the config file.
If that doesn't help, please set "fileLog" to 1 in your config file and post the "arm9bootloader.log" file :)
 

Hyoretsu

Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
1,599
Trophies
0
XP
692
Country
Brazil
Here's the log:
opened logfile
[DEBUG] Screens enabled
[DEBUG] Reading [GLOBAL] section
[DEBUG] Reading section GLOBAL
Wait 3000 ms for Input
Key checked-selected section: [DEFAULT]
[DEBUG] Reading section DEFAULT
[DEBUG] Checking payload
[DEBUG] Section DEFAULT not found, or Path not set
[DEBUG] Trying to load the [DEFAULT] section
[DEBUG] Reading section DEFAULT
[DEBUG] Checking payload
[DEBUG] Section DEFAULT not found, or Path not set
[PANIC] Failed to load the [DEFAULT] section
[DEBUG] shutdown

Note: Just the Default one doesn't works.
 
Last edited by Hyoretsu,

RednaxelaNnamtra

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,139
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
Germany
Here's the log:
opened logfile
[DEBUG] Screens enabled
[DEBUG] Reading [GLOBAL] section
[DEBUG] Reading section GLOBAL
Wait 3000 ms for Input
Key checked-selected section: [DEFAULT]
[DEBUG] Reading section DEFAULT
[DEBUG] Checking payload
[DEBUG] Section DEFAULT not found, or Path not set
[DEBUG] Trying to load the [DEFAULT] section
[DEBUG] Reading section DEFAULT
[DEBUG] Checking payload
[DEBUG] Section DEFAULT not found, or Path not set
[PANIC] Failed to load the [DEFAULT] section
[DEBUG] shutdown

Note: Just the Default one doesn't works.
It's because you wrote [Default] instead of [DEFAULT], so it's not able to read the [DEFAULT] section.
It's easy to miss something like that, I needed around 15 minutes to identify it xD
 

Hyoretsu

Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
1,599
Trophies
0
XP
692
Country
Brazil
It's because you wrote [Default] instead of [DEFAULT], so it's not able to read the [DEFAULT] section.
It's easy to miss something like that, I needed around 15 minutes to identify it xD
I did that after it gave the error, because on the configuration page of wiki it's [Default]. Gonna try it anyways.

Nvm, it worked now, thx!
 
Last edited by Hyoretsu,
  • Like
Reactions: RednaxelaNnamtra

duffmmann

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
3,967
Trophies
0
XP
2,282
Country
United States
Here is the entire contents of my config file:

[DEFAULT]
path = /luma.firm
delay = 1000
splash = 4
splash_image = /anim/0
screenBrightness = 0x30
enablePathFix = 1

On the root of my folder is boot.firm from this here, and the old boot.firm was renamed to luma.firm also on the root
I have the animation file named anim in the directory anim/0/ it is only a top screen animation that worked with boot9anim
Yet, while this loads up my 3DS, it does not show the animation, instead it just says Payload/luma.firm, and then loads into my 3DS. Not sure if I'm missing something or what.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free on Temp, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Now for someone to hack that thing and make pixel pr0n
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It maybe possible.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Will be perfect for onlyfans links
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Gamers: I bet your 4k oled ain't a jump rop
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    No, but I can take my OLED jump rope for a 4k
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a race.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Someone needs to take over a hundred or two of my Facebook girls lol