KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
OP
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Sadly the “Suggestion” tag is not available for EOF threads. It would have looked better having that tag, but a joke thread doesn’t belong into Site Discussions.
No ill intentions posting this. I know I’m not good at humor. Probably going to regret posting such a thread, but somehow I couldn’t resist.
Until yesterday I did not even know somebody actually specified Internet distribution using partially non-electronic transfer.

Having been told twice¹ to get rid of common communication technology, I’ll use this thread to ask for the implementation of IPoAC (IP over Avian Carriers) on the forum.

More reasons: The global Internet uses huge amounts of electric energy. This is an ecological alternative to having millions of energy hungry systems active 24/7 just to transport our data. To work against energy shortage and to protect our environment the slight increase in latency should be tolerable. Might be a bit hard for online gaming, but for a forum it is perfect (and chess will still work great this way).

A nice opportunity outside GBAtemp in the same direction would be replacing that antiquated, wasteful streaming video distribution method, with a more modern variant: This will not even require to implement the internet protocol. Pigeons will carry small data storage media containing a movie, which can be played offline(!) – and as often as you want without permanent subscription fees.

As said, latency isn’t great, but the overall data transfer rate can be convincing: A single pigeon can easily carry multiple 512GB micro-SD cards transferring enormous amounts of data in one shot.

:creep: :creep: :creep:

Nikokaro

Lost philosopher... searching for a way out...
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
@Nikokaro wanted me to cancel my internet subscription [Profile Posts] (to get rid of me) when I moved to another house