Hacking Strange numbers in SD2Vita storage

Carlos_DobleC

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
237
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,340
Country
Spain
A few days ago I got my SD2Vita and my 200gb SD card, everything worked fine except that I noticed a strange error, depending on whether I read the card (in the PC, in Vitashell or in Adrenaline), the amount of Free space available varies drastically.

Here I leave some screenshots in case someone knows what the problem is:

PC
a5bc6994d4ad0419a1900c24a2fe77a4.png

Vitashell
dQkeRGc.jpg

Adrenaline
21HyZq6.jpg
 

MUDD_BR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
691
Trophies
1
XP
1,435
Country
Brazil
That's really weird. On vitashell and adrenaline the free size is the same, on pc you have almost more 40 gb lol.
 

Zukov

Dinosaur
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
324
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
910
Country
Chile
When I can I will make a backup copy and I will format the card again in exFat, to see if this way the problem is fixed
U ain't got no problem. Vitashell and Adrenaline shows the same number.
Windows must be showing you 40 gb of system stuff (wow that's a lot of wasted space xD).
 

Carlos_DobleC

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
237
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,340
Country
Spain
After having formatted now I have 10gb more of occupied space, and windows keeps telling me that I have 50 and little (20 in PSPemu and 30 in APP)
 

Drieks

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
90
Country
Netherlands
Did you ever manage to solve this issue? Mine has 36 gigs of system use...
I'm also using a 200 gb card.
 
Last edited by Drieks,
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
777
Trophies
0
XP
1,004
Country
Australia
I had the same issue.

Microsd's 200GB and larger need to be formatted with an allocation unit size of '64k' not 'default' under windows, otherwise vitashell/adrenaline will show more usage/less free space than there really is (windows reported correct usage).
https://www.reddit.com/r/vitahacks/comments/6u9ai2/sd2vita_incorrect_free_space_solution_fix/

That solved the issue for me and quite a few others at least :)
'default' allocation unit size worked fine on my 128GB card, but I had this issue when I moved to a 200GB microsd.


Did you ever manage to solve this issue? Mine has 36 gigs of system use...
I'm also using a 200 gb card.

If the reported free space on vita/pc matches and you're just not sure where the data is being used, connect to a PC either with vitashell USB mode or a card reader and run something like treesize free to see exactly what is taking up the space.
 
Last edited by Count Duckula,

Drieks

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
90
Country
Netherlands
I had the same issue.

Microsd's 200GB and larger need to be formatted with an allocation unit size of '64k' not 'default' under windows, otherwise vitashell/adrenaline will show more usage/less free space than there really is (windows reported correct usage).


That solved the issue for me and quite a few others at least :)
'default' allocation unit size worked fine on my 128GB card, but I had this issue when I moved to a 200GB microsd.




If the reported free space on vita/pc matches and you're just not sure where the data is being used, connect to a PC either with vitashell USB mode or a card reader and run something like treesize free to see exactly what is taking up the space.

Thanks for this fix! I ended up fixing it in another (less effective) way though.

I created a 142 gb (that’s the amount of space that was available in Windows) dummy file, transfered that to the vita and then deleted the file through vitashell. :’)

Now there is still 1 gb of system use though.

But now i’m wondering if the issue will come back after transfering big files the next time... i’ll report back on that.

Thanks again!


EDIT:
Just tried transfering 20 gb of data. System use went up to 42 gigs...

Going to try your fix now!

EDIT 2:
Formatting with 64k worked perfectly. They should mention this in the tutorials. Thanks!
 
Last edited by Drieks,

Driley97

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
48
Country
United States
I had the same issue.

Microsd's 200GB and larger need to be formatted with an allocation unit size of '64k' not 'default' under windows, otherwise vitashell/adrenaline will show more usage/less free space than there really is (windows reported correct usage).

That solved the issue for me and quite a few others at least :)
'default' allocation unit size worked fine on my 128GB card, but I had this issue when I moved to a 200GB microsd.




If the reported free space on vita/pc matches and you're just not sure where the data is being used, connect to a PC either with vitashell USB mode or a card reader and run something like treesize free to see exactly what is taking up the space.


I am gonna try this for myself. I purchased a 400gb Sandisk microSD card and after downloading only 82gb worth of games, the card said I had about 60gb free and it didn’t seem right. I was trying to download more but saw the low amount of space left so deleted all the download data for the titles that didn’t finish downloading.
 

Driley97

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
48
Country
United States
I am gonna try this for myself. I purchased a 400gb Sandisk microSD card and after downloading only 82gb worth of games, the card said I had about 60gb free and it didn’t seem right. I was trying to download more but saw the low amount of space left so deleted all the download data for the titles that didn’t finish downloading.
Alright, I attempted it and it freed up a little more than 30 gigs on 64k allocation, which is still way about 115gb off of what windows is saying I have available on the card. Maybe if I increase the allocation size to 128k it will free up more space. I guess I keep trying to increase the size until it shows that I have the same as what windows says.
 

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,696
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Imola
XP
6,924
Country
Italy
Maybe if I increase the allocation size to 128k it will free up more space.
Larger clusters are more wasteful of space, not less (all file sizes are rounded up to the next higher amount of clusters), and the different used spaces may in fact be the difference between "sum of actual file sizes" and "space not usable for new files"
 

Driley97

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
48
Country
United States
Quick question: where did you get your memory card, and are you sure it's legit? Differing space amounts like that can indicate a fake card.
I got it off of amazon, and it wasn’t from a third party seller. I finally found the allocation size that what my vita says is free matches what my vita says is free. It was at 1024k if I remember correctly. The 400gb Sandisk Card is 366gb when formated by an operating system and completely empty
 
  • Like
Reactions: eighthdayregret

eighthdayregret

fnerrrrrrrrrr!
Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
493
Trophies
0
Age
43
Website
eighthsregrets.blogspot.com
XP
837
Country
United States
I got it off of amazon, and it wasn’t from a third party seller. I finally found the allocation size that what my vita says is free matches what my vita says is free. It was at 1024k if I remember correctly. The 400gb Sandisk Card is 366gb when formated by an operating system and completely empty
Glad to hear it. I just wanted to check, since my SD2Vita was how I figured out that a 64GB microSD I'd had for years was bunk.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Hmmm so Mario Does Luigi's plumbing is a bad movie? Lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    These videos are soooo dry
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Please click all suspicious links sent your email
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What to do today? Cut grass for 3-4 hours, or just get drunk and play video games... Hmm
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I need a remote controlled mower, so I can sit on the couch and do both.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Sounds good to me, video games and booze it is then.
    +1
  • denpafan @ denpafan:
    Good choice
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Now what to play, Starfield or Fallout4. And what to drink, beer or Whiskey and Coke. Such tough decisions.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Looks like its whiskey & coke, only 4 beers left. And think ill start with Falllout. :grog:
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    THIS IMAGE IS SO SCARY WTF. THAT SURE AS HELL IS NOT A CAT THATS LIKE A FUCKING DEMON

    Untitled2.png
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Bonus points for running things over with the lawn mower?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Monster truck Lawn Mower extreme
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    she was an apple appstore girl
    he was an uptodown boy
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He was an android boy
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She said see ya later boy lol
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    something something boomer and r/im14andthisisdeep "ThAt'S tHe UnFoRtUnAtE sTaTe Of OuR mOdErN sOcIeTy"
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    except they'd criticize you for having a phone in the first place lmao
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    In my day we used smoke signals and liked it!!!
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    5G gives you covid!! Kills bees and lets the devil control your sperm!!! *Walks away frothing at the mouth*
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    back in my day we just talked in person to communicate, and used books for entertainment, now pull yourself up by the bootstraps and develop a sense of work ethic, ya darn whippersnappers!
  • NormalCatelol @ NormalCatelol:
    "lets the devil control you sperm!!!" iwantsummadat!
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    talk about a semen demon
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: talk about a semen demon