Softmodding new method?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gamermo1e, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    Hello all about 2 years ago i successfully softmodded my wii. thanks to your help. My wii plays both games from disk and usb harddrive. The problem is is that i forgotten how i did it fully and i need to do it for another wii that will only need to read games from a disk and the wii wont be connected to wifi.

    Im wondering if theres a new easier way to softmod or is it still the age old method of which i used? ive read the sticky on softmodding but im wondering on which method is easiest and most effective?

    Thanks in advance

    EDIT. the wii software version is 4.3E
     
  2. wrettcaughn

    wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Member
    3,785
    863
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    Please read the sticky'd topics.
     
  3. zizer

    zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    2,035
    4
    Aug 23, 2010
    use modmii
     
  4. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    Read the sticky and im wondering. as i only have one sd card with enough space on it after modding the second wii. will i still need to keep the sd card i n it? as i need that card for my first wii
     
  5. wrettcaughn

    wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Member
    3,785
    863
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    only if you're loading applications from it. you also run applications via usb
     
  6. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    Hmm ive only got a spare sd card that is 256mb. anychance i can use my 2gb sd card for the mod and then insert the 256mb sd card and use that to run copied games from a disk? im wondering after the 4.3E letterbomb softmod what files need to be on the sd card to run disks?
     
  7. Hielkenator

    Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    4,219
    385
    Feb 7, 2010
    Netherlands
    MODMII:
    Easy.
    Fast.
    Up to Date
    Safe.
     
  8. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    531
    50
    Nov 13, 2009
    Yes you can do that. You only need the loader like Neogamma on the SD cvard when the softmod is done. You can even install it as a channel so you don't need a sd card at all but I think a SD card is recommended so Neogamma can save its settings. Anyway 256 MB is enough for that.

    But I wonder how old the Wii is since you say it's on 4.3 and not connected to internet. If it is a new Wii chances are it can't read burned disks...
     
  9. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    Well its a white wii and i think its an early model. the owner said that a game asked him to update so i think that thats where the 4.3 version came from?
     
  10. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    531
    50
    Nov 13, 2009
    Then it's probably able to read backups. Like the others said use Modmii and you will find out...
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,917
    3,687
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    What's the serial number? Look at the bottom of the Wii.
     
  12. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    serial starts with LEH1762
     
  13. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    531
    50
    Nov 13, 2009
    No problem. Its old enough.
     
  14. Aijelsop

    Aijelsop Question Asker

    Newcomer
    1,000
    7
    Sep 11, 2010
    United States
  15. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,917
    3,687
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Why didn't you give me the full number?
     
  16. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    No reason just i thought only the start was needed?

    anyway ive softmodded the wii but i need to go into homebrew channel to run neogamma. how can i create a neogamma channel on the main menu as its not in the sticky?
     
  17. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    531
    50
    Nov 13, 2009
  18. gamermo1e
    OP

    gamermo1e Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Sep 5, 2011
    Thank you very much for your help all. i decided to opt for uloader since thats what i use on my wii also. [​IMG] and again thank you all very much