Homebrew Snes9x RX - A new fork.

Which one is the typography you think should be the main one from now on? (Images on page 22)

  • Earthworm Jim 2

    Votes: 3 15.0%
  • Kirby Super Star

    Votes: 7 35.0%
  • Super Bomberman 2

    Votes: 8 40.0%
  • Earthworm Jim

    Votes: 2 10.0%

  • Total voters
    20
  • Poll closed .

RunningSnakes

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
1,762
Country
United States
There are Game Boy Emulators that support borders. It is confusing to me why anyone would want to "Emulate" Game Boy on a "Super Nintendo" Emulator, i've seen this same question at least a dozen times on different threads. Short answer - No.
 
  • Like
Reactions: niuus

PaulR

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
209
Country
Benin
If you donate said controller, i could try and implement it, otherwise i'm going blind there.
Sorry, I'm uneducated in the matter, and I'm just guessing here. But they are basically the same as the F510, just one without rumble and one without cable. Wouldn't be something like changing their ID/PID?
I know is not the same, but they all have a profile in Nintendont..

edit: oh, and I think they used to have HID support and a profile in Retroarch too.. I just don't know when or how it stopped working.
 
Last edited by PaulR,

SleepyDomino

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,557
Country
United States
There are Game Boy Emulators that support borders. It is confusing to me why anyone would want to "Emulate" Game Boy on a "Super Nintendo" Emulator, i've seen this same question at least a dozen times on different threads. Short answer - No.
I've once read that some Super Gameboy games are enhanced beyond borders and palettes, like audio clips in Donkey Kong or a bigger screen for Space Invaders. Regular GB titles could use some other borders, like one with a tree on the left side. mGBA does not include those (from what I've seen anyway, I tested it with Tetris). I don't think it's bad to want these features as it would be like the real deal.

That said, it is quite a bit of work to implement, and while the very accurate bsnes and Mesen-S have it, it's likely not going to be included in the main SNES9X releases, let alone the Wii ports.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kid sampson

Wiimpathy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
937
Trophies
1
XP
2,202
Country
France
@niuus Do you have the source code for Logitech F510 support please?

I'd be interested to see how hard is it to implement this kind of controller in snes9x. I've tried in Retroarch with a thrustmaster 2 in 1 years ago but it was a real pain and half working in the end...
 
  • Like
Reactions: niuus

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
@niuus Do you have the source code for Logitech F510 support please?

I'd be interested to see how hard is it to implement this kind of controller in snes9x. I've tried in Retroarch with a thrustmaster 2 in 1 years ago but it was a real pain and half working in the end...
Sure! The source for it is the same for the Microsoft X360 controller. These were the related commits, oldest to newest:
Commit 1
Commit 2
Commit 3
Commit 4

If you are interested and want/can help, DualShock 3 implementation was always lackey. Here's the related commit:
DualShock3 libsickaxis

I've once read that some Super Gameboy games are enhanced beyond borders and palettes, like audio clips in Donkey Kong
Try mGBA with the proper bioses or just good ole' VBA GX. Have never been interested in playing that game, so i really wouldn't know if it is using enhanced samples or not. What i have seen working perfectly fine are the SGB functions inside both emulators, I played 2-player Killer Instinct, and also used the exclusive Tetris DX border for SGB2.

That said, it is quite a bit of work to implement, and while the very accurate bsnes and Mesen-S have it, it's likely not going to be included in the main SNES9X releases, let alone the Wii ports.
Not gonna happen. Kinda pointless.

or a bigger screen for Space Invaders
No, it doesn't. The enhanced feature for that specific Game Boy title, which is unique to that cartridge and was never used in any other game again, was having the full SNES Space Invaders game inside, which of course only activates when playing it on the Super Game Boy or Super Game Boy 2.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kid sampson

SleepyDomino

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,557
Country
United States
No, it doesn't. The enhanced feature for that specific Game Boy title, which is unique to that cartridge and was never used in any other game again, was having the full SNES Space Invaders game inside, which of course only activates when playing it on the Super Game Boy or Super Game Boy 2.
Which means a bigger screen! :P But yes, as you said, it is the SNES game.
Try mGBA with the proper bioses or just good ole' VBA GX. Have never been interested in playing that game, so i really wouldn't know if it is using enhanced samples or not. What i have seen working perfectly fine are the SGB functions inside both emulators, I played 2-player Killer Instinct, and also used the exclusive Tetris DX border for SGB2.
Haven't tried to use a second controller for Killer Instinct, or a second emu for that matter, but I did look at Tetris DX on Windows mGBA and found that the SGB2 border can pop up without any BIOS. Changing a setting to SGB + GBC did the trick. Unfortunately the Wii version puts Tetris DX straight into GBC mode with no way of showing a border.
As for Donkey Kong, just as the SNES9X team won't add GB code to their emulator, Endrift won't add SNES code to hers, so the audio samples will remain a bsnes/Mesen-S thing.

...But enough about Super Game Boy and other emulators! Looking forward to your next release.
 
  • Like
Reactions: niuus

kid sampson

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
292
Trophies
0
XP
671
Country
United States
Thanks for the replies re: SGB support. I'll get this fork setup today and will grab the recommended GBA emulators while I'm at it.
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
Just wanted to say goodbye in my own simple way to Near, without his incredible influence we wouldn't have perfect emulation for my favorite console ever, the Super Nintendo, besides being the starting point and driving force for accuracy-oriented emulators. This was a punch in the stomach for a brother i never knew... rest in peace, Dave.
 
Last edited by niuus,

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador
Nice emulator, I've made a Single ROM Loader for that, but anyone can tell me what arguments can I put in the meta.xml file of a homebrew emulator for load and start automatically a rom file in these emulators?:
  • Wii64 1.2 Rice
  • GxGeo
  • emGBA Wii
  • WiiEngine
  • RetroArch Wii (i'm interested in @SuperrSonic's mod of this)
  • blueMSX Wii
Can anyone tell me how I can put the correct arguments in the meta.xml file for autoboot ROMs in the emulators mentioned?
Greetings
 
Last edited by SaulFabre,
  • Like
Reactions: hug0-a7x

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador
Nice work with that @niuus

But I have a issue and a suggestion for put in the next version.

The issue is when i use Snes9x RX (but also FCE Ultra RX) in "autoboot ROM" mode (when i put ROM loading arguments in the meta.xml file of the emulator), the game loads and plays fine, but when i click in the "Exit" or "Main Menu" option when i press HOME button it doesn't bring me back to the Homebrew Channel (or the Wii Menu if i use with DOL forwarders), but it brings me to the emulator, which shouldn't do the Snes9x RX (because old SNES emus for Wii such Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX this option of exiting the game when in autoboot mode returns to Homebrew Channel or Wii Menu).

4.PNG 5.PNG 6.PNG

I am using these arguments in the meta.xml file for load a rom automatically in Snes9x RX:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
 <app version="2">
   <name>Snes9x RX</name>
   <coder>NiuuS</coder>
   <version>4.9.0</version>
   <release_date>202007150002</release_date>
   <short_description>Super Nintendo Emulator</short_description>
   <long_description>
   A fork of the original Snes9x GX with many improvements.
   Made by ninnus
   Single ROM Loader by saulfabreg (thanks to libertyernie)
   </long_description>
   <arguments>
   <arg>sd:/apps/snes9xrxSRL/rom</arg>
   <arg>game.smc</arg>
   </arguments>
   <ahb_access/>
 </app>

I'm using Snes9x RX v4.9.0 but still that problem persists, which isn't present in Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX.

Can you fix this issue please?

Another issue I found in it was in the SA-1 emulation. The SA-1 chip games in it goes with some slowdown, I tried with Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius and the game loads and can be played but the title screen and main game is running slow. Can you fix these issues please?

Thanks for your great work!! :)

@SaulFabre
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
Prepping up for 5.0.0 today.

Nice work with that @niuus

But I have a issue and a suggestion for put in the next version.

The issue is when i use Snes9x RX (but also FCE Ultra RX) in "autoboot ROM" mode (when i put ROM loading arguments in the meta.xml file of the emulator), the game loads and plays fine, but when i click in the "Exit" or "Main Menu" option when i press HOME button it doesn't bring me back to the Homebrew Channel (or the Wii Menu if i use with DOL forwarders), but it brings me to the emulator, which shouldn't do the Snes9x RX (because old SNES emus for Wii such Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX this option of exiting the game when in autoboot mode returns to Homebrew Channel or Wii Menu).

View attachment 271564 View attachment 271565 View attachment 271566

I am using these arguments in the meta.xml file for load a rom automatically in Snes9x RX:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
 <app version="2">
   <name>Snes9x RX</name>
   <coder>NiuuS</coder>
   <version>4.9.0</version>
   <release_date>202007150002</release_date>
   <short_description>Super Nintendo Emulator</short_description>
   <long_description>
   A fork of the original Snes9x GX with many improvements.
   Made by ninnus
   Single ROM Loader by saulfabreg (thanks to libertyernie)
   </long_description>
   <arguments>
   <arg>sd:/apps/snes9xrxSRL/rom</arg>
   <arg>game.smc</arg>
   </arguments>
   <ahb_access/>
 </app>

I'm using Snes9x RX v4.9.0 but still that problem persists, which isn't present in Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX.

Can you fix this issue please?
"which shouldn't do the Snes9x RX (because old SNES emus for Wii such Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX this option of exiting the game when in autoboot mode returns to Homebrew Channel or Wii Menu)."
This is incorrect. That function was added later. If you want to include it, you just need to implement this commit to the source and recompile:
https://github.com/dborth/snes9xgx/commit/16e8b6dd256d4c4ede27a5ef2f59fdca47a4e895

Another issue I found in it was in the SA-1 emulation. The SA-1 chip games in it goes with some slowdown, I tried with Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius and the game loads and can be played but the title screen and main game is running slow. Can you fix these issues please?

Thanks for your great work!! :)
There must be something wrong on your end, as there are no slowdowns on the majority of SA-1 games. The only exception i have found yet and know about, is Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius, which is the heaviest SNES SA-1 game to emulate on the Wii. Only the title screen hovers between 45-47 fps, while gameplay on the first level goes between 56-60 fps.
 
Last edited by niuus,
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
Can you do that for both Snes9x RX and FCE Ultra RX? Sorry i can't compile these sort of things, i don't have the tools needed and when i try to compile them they throw me an error :(
I updated the comment to reflect your statement about the emulator behavior.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador
"which shouldn't do the Snes9x RX (because old SNES emus for Wii such Snes9x GX or Snes9x TX this option of exiting the game when in autoboot mode returns to Homebrew Channel or Wii Menu)."
This is incorrect. That function was added later. If you want to include it, you just need to implement this commit to the source and recompile:
https://github.com/dborth/snes9xgx/commit/16e8b6dd256d4c4ede27a5ef2f59fdca47a4e895
maybe you didn't understand me... I want the Snes9x RX (and FCE Ultra RX) to when I click in the "Exit" or "Main Menu" bring me back to Wii Menu/Homebrew Channel when the emulator is set in "autoboot ROM mode" (with arguments of loading a ROM automatically enabled in meta.xml, as done with Snes9x GX and Snes9x TX).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

@niuus please don't forget also the issue and the suggestion i requested in FCE Ultra RX in this post: https://gbatemp.net/posts/9540036/
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
maybe you didn't understand me... I want the Snes9x RX (and FCE Ultra RX) to when I click in the "Exit" or "Main Menu" bring me back to Wii Menu/Homebrew Channel when the emulator is set in "autoboot ROM mode" (with arguments of loading a ROM automatically enabled in meta.xml, as done with Snes9x GX and Snes9x TX).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

@niuus please don't forget also the issue and the suggestion i requested in FCE Ultra RX in this post: https://gbatemp.net/posts/9540036/
maybe you didn't understand me... I want the Snes9x RX (and FCE Ultra RX) to when I click in the "Exit" or "Main Menu" bring me back to Wii Menu/Homebrew Channel when the emulator is set in "autoboot ROM mode" (with arguments of loading a ROM automatically enabled in meta.xml, as done with Snes9x GX and Snes9x TX).
I already understood. What i'm telling you is that you're incorrect in saying that "it shouldn't do that".

Also, already saw your other post. The suggestion for autoboot is the same.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador
I already understood. What i'm telling you is that you're incorrect in saying that "it shouldn't do that".

Also, already saw your other post. The suggestion for autoboot is the same.
hey, not just autoboot feature for FCE Ultra RX and Snes9x GX... I want the original dumped "Wii Virtual Console" palette to be integrated as selectable color palette for FCE Ultra RX... (i saw FCEUX TX has implemented this selectable palette but FCE Ultra RX lacks of this interesting palette). Can you do that suggestion please?

And, when you can release a new version of both FCE Ultra RX and Snes9x RX with the fixes of the troubles i have?

Thanks for your work @niuus
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,521
Trophies
1
XP
2,557
Country
Venezuela
hey, not just autoboot feature for FCE Ultra RX and Snes9x GX... I want the original dumped "Wii Virtual Console" palette to be integrated as selectable color palette for FCE Ultra RX... (i saw FCEUX TX has implemented this selectable palette but FCE Ultra RX lacks of this interesting palette). Can you do that suggestion please?

And, when you can release a new version of both FCE Ultra RX and Snes9x RX with the fixes of the troubles i have?

Thanks for your work @niuus
I can read full posts, Saúl. I'm purposefully not addressing it in this thread, which is not the correct one. Calm down a bit with the reminders.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,083
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
2,401
Country
Ecuador
Hi @niuus

Can you help me checking the modifications i made basing on your suggestions of Snes9x RX (https://gbatemp.net/posts/9544065) and compile them for me in DOL for test them?

I've saved my modifications with all the required files in https://github.com/saulfabregwiivc/Snes9xRX/

I'm also going to modify your FCE Ultra RX emu for have that cool features and add the desired palette I want (but i don't know how to add palettes to FCE Ultra RX).

Greetings
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: and stab it in the head while you're at it