Snes9x RX - A new fork.

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by niuus, Dec 25, 2018.

1. niuus
    OP

niuus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Mar 4, 2016
    Venezuela
    Hi people. Almost exactly 2 years ago, i began this fun coding exercise as a little effort to backport interesting and useful changes present in other releases of Snes9x, mainly the ones related to libretro and the official Snes9x. I am no expert, but thought i could learn a little bit, and in the process make some personal updates to keep enjoying my favorite console on my favorite homebrew system. 240p FTW!

Seeing that the GX emulators got some new updates in 2017-2018 and that there's still public interest in the Wii scene, i believe this is a good time to finally release it, since i couldn't do it last year (moving to another country and other RL stuff).

This fork will stay on Snes9x core version 1.52, and be focused primarily in maintaining full speed for all games, or as far as the Wii can push performance. Commits will still be cherry picked from the libretro/snes9x/snes9x gx as long as they do not degrade performance.

Any help, feedback, or comments, will be always welcome.

And last, but no least, thanks to Tantric, Zopenko, and more recently, Bladeoner, for maintaining the great GX emulator series.

Merry christmas to y'all!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Notes:

Some of the highlights are:

• You can now play Super Mario World Central 9th Annual VLDC #9.
    • -1 frame input lag difference.
    • Kouryuu no Mimi english translation is playable.
    • Tengai Makyou Zero - Far East of Eden english translation is playable.
    • MSU-1 chip support.
    • Revisited and updated spanish/italian translation.
    • Raphnet adapter and HORI Digital Controller for GameCube users can also exit to the menu with L+R+X+Y combo (soon to be changed).
    Check the changelog for details.

Links:

Newest/Latest release at:
    https://github.com/niuus/Snes9xRX/releases
    Readme available at: