rotten sd card

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by wynsezhello, Jul 25, 2008.

Jul 25, 2008

rotten sd card by wynsezhello at 7:49 PM (1,537 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. wynsezhello
    OP

    Newcomer wynsezhello Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Country:
    Philippines
    after six months of undeniably perfect operation, my sd card died out on me. what happens is when i pop it in my computer, everything seems normal but when you delete stuff it says "Cannot delete XXXX: cannot find specific file," and when you try to format it, nothing happens. nada. not even that format window that shows your options. using sd formatter from panasonic it says its unsupported. and obviously i can't copy files into it. what a pain.

    and even if you delete stuff from it, it just keeps popping back when you reinsert it. [​IMG]
     
  2. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    what brand is it ?

    i got a fake 2GB Kingston SD Card and it happens all the time . so now i just bought a new one a left my Kingston one there . it's just there !

    you can try formatting it again ? but if it doesn't work buy a new SD Card . Maybe a Sandisk or A-Data one .
     
  3. wynsezhello
    OP

    Newcomer wynsezhello Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Country:
    Philippines
    its a 1GB kingston. i got to the format window, but it says it cannot complete it. using sdformatter, it says its write protected. i guess its time to move on huh.

    oh yeah, the lock switch on the adapter isn't locked btw. i managed to copy my izuna 2 save file. but can i still save the sd?
     
  4. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    mhm how bout the SD Card reader ? is it a sticker or is printed on ?

    cause if it's a sticker ... definately a fake ! ( mine sticker ^^ )

    and yes you can move on . you have the excact same problem as me O_O you can copy but can't edit right ?
     
  5. wynsezhello
    OP

    Newcomer wynsezhello Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Country:
    Philippines
    yeah, something like that. but as for the label, nope. not a sticker. its printed solid.

    i did own a fake one though. it went bad as well but not as bad as the original one. it only halved the storage space from 1gb to 477mb.
     
  6. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    that must've sucked bad ....

    all my ideas are out ! your best bet is to either send it to kingston ( if there is a warranty ) while hoping that they wouldn't mind the illegalness inside of it xD

    or

    you can just buy and new SD Card with a more reliable-ness like A-DATA or Sandisk ?
     
  7. wynsezhello
    OP

    Newcomer wynsezhello Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Country:
    Philippines
    it still has a warranty, and they think they're so good they can offer it for a lifetime. i should ask if my privacy is protected though. [​IMG]

    if not, might as well buy a new one. i think its time for me to go sdhc. and scrap my r4 as well.
     
  8. Jasonage

    Member Jasonage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. epicelite

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    You can try "Boot and nuke" on it.

    It works by writing 0's or 1's across the entire contents of the [INSERT DEVICE HERE].
     
  10. wynsezhello
    OP

    Newcomer wynsezhello Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Country:
    Philippines
    that sounds risky. but what the heck, life is short, gotta take risks.

    tried using Darik's Boot and Nuke, it can't install on the drive.

    it went semaphore timeout period expired. i'm guessing this is more of a problem with the I/O.
     

Share This Page