Rock Band and Guitar Hero guitar compatibility

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Samutz, Dec 15, 2007.

Dec 15, 2007
  1. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Will the guitars for Rockband work on Guitar Hero or visa-versa?

    I'm looking at finally buying a 360 after Christmas and plan on getting Rock Band and Guitar Hero II & III. But I really don't want to buy 4 guitars (2 for RB and 2 for GH).
     
  2. ubersk8kid

    Newcomer ubersk8kid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    I've seen in videos of people playing Rockband with GH2 guitars, but i don't know about GH3 guitars. Should be the same. I don't know about using the Rockband guitar on guitar hero.
     
  3. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Here's how the compatibility works:
    Gibson Xplorer:
    • Guitar Hero II
    • Guitar Hero III
    • Rock Band

    Gibson Les Paul**
    • Guitar Hero II
    • Guitar Hero III
    • Rock Band

    Fender Stratocaster
    • Rock Band

    As you can see, the Strat is not compatible with the GH games.

    **This only applies to the X360 version of Rock Band, the PS3 Les Paul does not work on Rock Band.
     
  4. Samutz
    OP

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info.
    I plan on getting RB first since I already have GH3 on PS2.
    I guess I'll have to buy RB by itself, 2 Gibson guitars, and the RB drums separately.

    Still a crap load of cash, but at least I don't have to buy 4 guitars to play with my friends.
     
  5. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahh wtf why doesn't the Rock Band guitar work on Guitar Hero?
     
  6. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently, Activision and Harmonix/EA are having a little tiff involving a patch they were attempting to release involving allowing the Les Paul GH Controller to work with Rock Band on the PS3. Activision has blocked Sony from releasing the patch and refuses to budge on the matter for no really feasible reason.

    I would imagine that the reason that the Rock Band Controller does not work with the GH games is because they disallowed that as well. They seem very bitter that Harmonix left it seems...

    - Fitzy
     
  7. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    This has nothing to do with Activision. I'm pretty sure this is all Harmonix here. Harmonix probably changed the way Rock Band handles reading the Strat, which is in a way that Guitar Hero doesn't understand. I'm sure they could have made it an 'open standard' guitar, but c'mon, they want you to buy the Strat to play on Rock Band, not on anything else [​IMG]
     
  8. RAneo

    Member RAneo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain

Share This Page