Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mudlord

    mudlord Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Country:

    Tentative discussions about N64.
     
    nakata6790 and Charco like this.
  2. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,962
    Country:
    United States
    Really? That would be nice since Wii 64 hasn't been updated in quite a while. The real question is, can the Wii's PPC CPU handle it and accomplish good stability and compatibility?
     
  3. mudlord

    mudlord Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Good question. Though certainly a better RDP solution needs to be devised since glN64 is quite limited compared to others, and Glide64's wrapper is quite inefficient.
     
  4. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,962
    Country:
    United States
    Too bad Rice Video is botched; many games can't even properly display a HUD without it being corrupted, among with other recombiner issues. I just read a post from emukidid stating he would be mostly offline for the next forty days so...yeah. No Wii 64 for quite a while, though it seemed he was almost released it, but crap happened.
     
  5. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Country:
    Chile
    You mean the wrapper that translates glide calls to ogl/d3d? because Glide64 runs on my voodoo3 and it's far the best video plugin i've seen in the N64 scene. (runs framebuffer effects on a separate framebuffer on real hardware). The problem that is, it runs under C#, and a wrapper of a wrapper isn't going to end well unless a dynarec of somesorts that translate voodoo calls (separate 3D drawing, and 2D) into GX's is built/research...
     
  6. mudlord

    mudlord Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Yes, the wrapper is written in C++ and converts Glide calls to OpenGL 2.0 calls. Its inefficient as vertex pushing doesn't make use of things like vertex caching, vertex arrays, and other things.

    The plugin itself on Voodoo hardware should be fine, its the wrapper for OpenGL cards thats the problem.
     
  7. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Country:
    Chile
    say those were fixed hardware registers the voodoo has?! i own a voodoo and started reading voodoo's asm... i love that card and I have no problem to research as much it's required to see if a port of glide64 is possible
     
  8. mudlord

    mudlord Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    No, its a issue in how the wrapper was originally written. It will take major rewrites in most texturing functions to use up-to-date functionality like vertex arrays, and vertex caching on OpenGL hardware in the wrapper.
     
  9. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,962
    Country:
    United States
    If someone has the balls to take the time to rewrite the plugin in such a way that can be ported (i.e. the Wii GPU), and handle the vertex arrays/caching we'd all be one big happy family. Unfortunately, a lot of the programmers neither have time or simply lack the motivation to take on such a large task. While Glide 64 does get many of the N64 effects right (such as fixing the missing skies in Goldeneye and Killer Instinct), many games don't function properly, like Dr. Mario 64.
     
  10. mudlord

    mudlord Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    and not to mention TEV usage to implement combiners in the wrapper....And framebuffer effects..
    Wii support will require a completely new plugin compared to just a simple port which uses OpenGL.
     
  11. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,962
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. Good luck getting emukidid and tephola to find the motivation to do that. Yikes.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,210
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is NOT correct at all.
    YOU NEED A LINE DOUBLER to connect your SLG to your TV.
    The slg does NOT add Scanlines or covers up lines.
    The needed scaler doubles the lines first before going into the slg.
    It NOT A FILTER like the Mame crap.
    it's hardware but fake.

    You need to disable post processing on the vga input like on on any lcd/plasma.
    If you cannot do that on your tv, it's not meant to display as a monitor.
    Also a PC monitor with low respons time can also be used.

    It outputs at 640x 480 p with the addition of the scanline effect.
    Look for video's and explanations on the web. I do not have time to explain.
    The SLG3000 is awesome but expensive and the best solution to get retro images on your LCD/plasma tv.
     
    MassiveRican likes this.
  13. nakata6790

    nakata6790 True Player
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    890
    Country:
    Greece
    Oh wow... Be still, my beating heart!!!!!

    BTW i just caught wind of what transcribed at the other thread (yes, sorry i am late), i gotta say i'm REALLY sad to see that happened. Maybe it is for the better, for the discussion to begin anew in the link ToadKing kindly provided.
     
  14. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,962
    Country:
    United States
    What link?


    Edit: Never mind
     
  15. nintygaming

    nintygaming No Longer An Active Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Whooooaaaa easy there. I'm not trying to argue. I can see that the way I worded my previous posts made me appear to be snobby. I'm sorry for that.

    And I did tell the truth about post-processing on VGA, some TV's have processing on it, others don't. Its a toss up. There's still going to be the digital delay due to the fact that pixel-based displays are digital in nature (CRT are analog in nature). And I also told the truth that you cannot get rid of ghosting (unless you start adding more RTC processing, which increases lag while reducing ghosting). I might not be perfectly aware of how the SLG3000 works in regards the "lines", but it literally cannot reduce your pixel response time as that is something done by the TV's circuit board and cannot be corrected. If your TV has 10ms pixel response, then your stuck with 10ms, its not going to get lower with any outside device.

    TN pc monitors have the lesser amount of ghosting, but also have the worst picture quality of the 3 main types of panels (IPS, VA, TN) and that's not saying much in regards to a technology (LCD) that was never meant to be a TV tech to begin with. Truth is that unless LCD is redesigned from the ground up, then TV manufacturers will continue to tack on more and more digital post-processsing and RTC processing to hide LCD's ugly face, and they have literally been doing this since the first LCD TV's, as evidenced by the fact that input lag became worse and worse every year and now in 2013 is higher than its ever been, why? Because they have more digital post-processing than ever before. Why? Because its cheaper than redesigning LCD technology. And thus gamers are being screwed. Try playing the hardest levels of New Super Mario Bros. U on a laggy HDTV, or try playing the upcoming Wii-U Virtual Console Punch-Out!! Mr. Dream on a HDTV and you'll start to hate modern technology.
     
  16. groose

    groose Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    These games are currently not emulated by Final Burn Alpha upstream. Hence none of them will work in any of the RetroArch ports.
    Your only option is MAME at the moment.
     
  17. papermanzero

    papermanzero GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    General question about Homecomputers.
    Is the retroarch team going to port homecomputers as well?

    MSX, Amiga, Commodore64 and Atari would be great. ^^
     
  18. Charco

    Charco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    I don't think the developers will be posting here anymore unless it is to announce new releases. You can ask here:

    http://forum.themaister.net/

    I do know that SCUMMvm is planned for a future release so you can play old LucasArts point and click adventure games, not sure of home computer emulators though. I hope so.
     
  19. Tuddles

    Tuddles GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Canada
    think I well just build a cocktail with a 60 in 1 jamma board and relive my teen years lol
     
  20. Hielkenator

    Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,210
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can also connect to a proper crt monitor, to get scanlines from your Wii.
    Remember not all CRT monitor support Lo-Res like 640 x 240. ( so no scanlines )
    You could also use a normal PC LCD monitor to hook up your Wii.
    Agreed you will get somepost processing depending on brand.
    Most PROPER tv's have workarounds that disable these processings.
    Same is true for CRT tv's though, buy the best you can.
    I also own a Philips imageline 100Hz crt, you would NOT believe the input lag on that thing vs my LCD tv via VGA.
    Wort of it all is that CRT has no option to turn processing off.Making any games unplayable.

    If you own a PROPER LCD PLAMA TV and you want the scanline artifact as good as possible, get yourself a scaler( also to get the interlaced signal to progressive ) and the SLG3000. You will not believe the image quality you get with your beloved retro consoles, games.
    Clean , crisp and razor sharp with NO noticable ghosting.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, emulator, system

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.