Homebrew [Release] Wifi Toggle

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,808
Country
Antarctica
It'll be interesting to know if it works with old 3DS XLs and regular old 3DSes too (I'm sure it does, but I pretty much knew it'd work fine on 2DS).
 

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,289
Trophies
2
XP
13,100
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
It'll be interesting to know if it works with old 3DS XLs and regular old 3DSes too (I'm sure it does, but I pretty much knew it'd work fine on 2DS).
Works on old reg 3ds 4.5 on a condition: you have to comment out act, qtm, and nfc dependancies in the rsf for the cia to work at all.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,808
Country
Antarctica
Works on old reg 3ds 4.5 on a condition: you have to comment out act, qtm, and nfc dependancies in the rsf for the cia to work at all.

Yeah, those are N3DS-exclusive services, I forgot to remove those. Sorry about that.

It seems not compatible with mashers HBL

It's a bug with his launcher; it works fine with the original HB lancher. I reported it to mashers already. :)
 

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,289
Trophies
2
XP
13,100
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Yeah, those are N3DS-exclusive services, I forgot to remove those. Sorry about that.



It's a bug with his launcher; it works fine with the original HB lancher. I reported it to mashers already. :)
Tell you a little trick. If you're 9.2 and under, running libkhax will give you permissions to run that nwm service, no xml file needed and this gives you access to < 9.0 on 3dsx. It's works much cleaner.
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
Another great little app, thanks. Exactly what I was looking for, I don't like going to the 3DS' menu to toggle wifi.
I'll install this immediately when the grid hbl gets the necessary update.
 

MsMidnight

part time fe modder
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,753
Trophies
0
Location
kys
Website
camilla.hostfree.pw
XP
1,397
Country
0dsxAvg.jpg


Added an Icon
 

Attachments

  • WifiToggle.zip
    93 KB · Views: 319

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,808
Country
Antarctica
Tell you a little trick. If you're 9.2 and under, running libkhax will give you permissions to run that nwm service, no xml file needed and this gives you access to < 9.0 on 3dsx. It's works much cleaner.

Thanks for the tip, but I wanted this to work on all firmwares 6.0 and up. If I used khax, this app would be 9.2 and below only.

0dsxAvg.jpg


Added an Icon

..? It already had that icon, so I don't really see what you're driving at.


@daxtsu Do you have any plans of having this check the current wifi status and switch it to the opposite without any user input? i.e. Launching while wifi is enabled will turn it off, and launching while wifi is disabled will turn it on.

The first version of this was actually going to do that, but it seemed unreliable to me. It would have false positives that the wifi was enabled when it actually wasn't, and then not toggle off appropriately (for whatever reason Nintendo considers being not connected the same as disabled, so they show up as the same thing to the 3DS).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vague Rant

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,289
Trophies
2
XP
13,100
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Thanks for the tip, but I wanted this to work on all firmwares 6.0 and up. If I used khax, this app would be 9.2 and below only.



..? It already had that icon, so I don't really see what you're driving at.




The first version of this was actually going to do that, but it seemed unreliable to me. It would have false positives that the wifi was enabled when it actually wasn't, and then not toggle off appropriately (for whatever reason Nintendo considers being not connected the same as disabled, so they show up as the same thing to the 3DS).
You could check the firmware (see themehax installer) and add libkhax conditionally.
And I did mention above this works all the way down to 4.x ;p
 
  • Like
Reactions: daxtsu

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,808
Country
Antarctica
You could check the firmware (see themehax installer) and add libkhax conditionally.
And I did mention above this works all the way down to 4.x ;p

I think I'm going to stick with the XML for now, asking for 6.0 or higher for the 3dsx build isn't that terrible of a requirement. Why use kernel access when I don't need it?

Edit: On that note, I updated the CIA so it doesn't need 8.x and higher.
 
Last edited by daxtsu,

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,289
Trophies
2
XP
13,100
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
I think I'm going to stick with the XML for now, asking for 6.0 or higher for the 3dsx build isn't that terrible of a requirement. Why use kernel access when I don't need it?
It's just much faster and cleaner than the xml method and it allows the 3dsx to work < 9.0
I've added a demo (use on < 9.3 only)
 

Attachments

  • WifiToggle_libkhax.zip
    151.2 KB · Views: 217

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,808
Country
Antarctica
How is it "faster" than the XML method? It automatically picks mset, there's nothing for the user to pick.

Code:
<targets selectable="false">
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000020000</title>
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000021000</title>
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000022000</title>
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000026000</title>
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000027000</title>
    <title mediatype="0">0004001000028000</title>
</targets>

It automatically picks any relevant MSET title.
 
Last edited by daxtsu,

MsMidnight

part time fe modder
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,753
Trophies
0
Location
kys
Website
camilla.hostfree.pw
XP
1,397
Country
I think I'm going to stick with the XML for now, asking for 6.0 or higher for the 3dsx build isn't that terrible of a requirement. Why use kernel access when I don't need it?

Edit: On that note, I updated the CIA so it doesn't need 8.x and higher.
Whoops my bad, when I got it it didn't have one o.O
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DinohScene @ DinohScene: but knowing them and taking past experiences into consideration