[Release] Ultimate SNES Forwarder Maker for 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by Asdolo, Feb 13, 2017.

Feb 13, 2017
  1. Asdolo
    OP

    Member Asdolo the Hedgehog

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    Current version: 1.0b (02-13-2017)



    This is New 3DS only!
    (just for now, I'll add snes9x and blargSNES support in a future)


    RetroArch SNES Forwarders for your Home Menu!

    Play your unsupported Virtual Console SNES roms launching them directly from Home Menu!


    [​IMG]

    What's this?
    A Windows tool for creating SNES forwarders to the Home Menu.

    What does it do?:
    It takes a Super Nintendo backup file and it converts it to an installable CIA for your 3DS with CFW. It does all in a one single program.

    How this even work?
    I made a RetroArch fork, in which I changed the code to make it, for example, read the rom from RomFS instead of MicroSD. There are many modifications to original RetroArch. The whole changelog is under the Features list.
    Then, I provide an injector program (this thread) in which you can create a CIA based on my fork, injecting into it the rom that you want.

    Features:
    • Super Nintendo injection into a CIA
    • Internal database, so the program can auto-fill some fields for you.
    • Configurable RetroArch options per game. See the tutorial for screenshots.
    • Easy made custom 3D banner
    • Easy made custom text/footer banner
    • Easy made whole process!

    Based on RetroArch 1.3.3 and the last version of PocketSNES, CATSFC, CATSFC Plus and snes9x next core.

    Modifications to original RetroArch:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Requeriments: Microsoft .NET framework 4.0

    Tutorial:
    You'll just follow the steps in program. But just in case:
    Tutorial + screenshots
    (The tutorial's screenshot are from v1.0)

    Console screenshots:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    You can go to Home Menu and the game sound won't be corrupted.

    You can also close the 3DS lid (go to sleep mode) when playing the game.

    You can also close the 3DS lid (go to sleep mode) when staying on the Home Menu!

    Petitions: For now I'll just read this thread and make changes acording to the best for all. The code will be released much later; If a new version comes, I'll post here and I'll edit the OP.

    Download links:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Changelog:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    RetroArch fork repository: https://github.com/Asdolo/RetroArch-3DS-Forwarders

    Enjoy!
     
    Last edited by Asdolo, Feb 14, 2017


  2. Rexen

    Newcomer Rexen Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I saw this posted to reddit and got all excited then I saw the New 3ds only part and well disappointed. But I am glad you are working on a version for snes9x.
     
    CatmanFan, Onoitsu2 and Asdolo like this.
  3. Hopalongtom

    Member Hopalongtom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't think Mario RPG worked on any 3DS emulators yet, does Starfox and Starfox 2 work as well?
     
  4. Rexen

    Newcomer Rexen Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I tested SF2 in Snes9x on o3ds and it does work but there are drop frames.
    Edit: I do think the drop frames are part of the actual game tho.
     
    Last edited by Rexen, Feb 13, 2017
  5. JunTheBobOmbAce

    Member JunTheBobOmbAce Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    This plays at full speeds?
     
  6. Supershadic1000000

    Newcomer Supershadic1000000 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    i thought it would have o3ds support...
    but good job nonetheless
     
  7. BADDINOROX99

    Member BADDINOROX99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    565
    Country:
    United States
    you are a retro god man
     
  8. OfficialBrony

    Banned OfficialBrony

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Country:
    Canada
    Or its the CPU since you have an 03ds..
    If I ran Super Mario World by clocking the CPU to the 03ds speeds (thanks to ntr), it's slow and choppy.
    Star Fox 2 runs smooth as butter on my N3DSXL

    Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
     
    Hopalongtom likes this.
  9. OfficialBrony

    Banned OfficialBrony

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Country:
    Canada
    You did it again..
    Good work!
    NES, GBA, GB and GBC works great, but now this??
    Great..
    No
    Fantastic work!

    Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
     
    Classicgamer likes this.
  10. angelhp

    Member angelhp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks a lot @Asdolo !!!
    Will be possible add banners Of Satellaview and Sufami Turbo (banners isnt in officially on virtual console)?
    Can you use other version of pocketsnes(snes_2002) because i have bad graphics on intro of Super Mario RPG?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by angelhp, Feb 13, 2017
  11. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee the Eevee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,543
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Your signature is a bit messed up. Ought to fix that.

    Aside, nice work!
     
  12. lordelan

    Member lordelan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    Germany
    Superb work! Gonna test this! :)
     
  13. Rexen

    Newcomer Rexen Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I don't play starfox games so that's why I had my doubts. I do know Earthbound and Super Mario All Stars run fine.
     
  14. Star_Wolf

    Newcomer Star_Wolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Any tips to get it running? I can't get Star Fox 2 to boot at all, black screen. Star Fox 1 runs but has a pretty bad frame rate for me. I'm using a non-XL New 3DS.

    I tried a few different settings, removing the bilinear filter, checking and unchecking the rewind and other options, and setting different screen sizes (stretch and "pixel perfect) with no luck. I was NOT able to get the alternate emulators working because it returns an error after clicking "Finish".

    All the other injects I did work great including Super Mario RPG. Thanks for the great piece of software OP!
     
    Last edited by Star_Wolf, Feb 14, 2017
  15. OfficialBrony

    Banned OfficialBrony

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Country:
    Canada
    Your issue might be because it's an Old 3DS XL. Your CPU us the issue since it is slower than the New 3DS like what I have. Even the first post says "New 3DS Only" in a font so big and brightly colored you shouldn't have missed it since it's one of the first words of the post.

    Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
     
  16. Asdolo
    OP

    Member Asdolo the Hedgehog

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    New version 1.0b! This is due to bad testing xD

    What's new:
    * Fixed the bug that crashed the program when another emulator than PocketSNES was selected.

    Links in the OP!
     
  17. ArugulaZ

    Member ArugulaZ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Country:
    United States
    He said "non XL New 3DS" (the smaller one).

    How's this work for fighting games like TMNT Tournament Fighters? The graphics are garbled in other injectors, and colors are weird in SNES9X.
     
  18. OfficialBrony

    Banned OfficialBrony

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Country:
    Canada
    How come you use retro Arch?
    How can we make it so some of us can use actual SNES VC's from Nintendo? Like for Super Mario Kart and Super Mario World??
     
  19. Asdolo
    OP

    Member Asdolo the Hedgehog

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Country:
    Argentina
    Just by using this.
     
  20. OfficialBrony

    Banned OfficialBrony

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Country:
    Canada
    ?
     

Share This Page