Hacking [RELEASE] PS4 RetroArch Port (Unofficial)

MerenPtah

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
53
Country
Egypt
Any chance we can get a DuckStation or DosBox-Pure Cores ?
i tried to search them online so i can install them manually.
but problem is i only find .dll or .so online whereas the cores in RetroArch-PS4 are .self
RetroArch-PS4 does not read or even see the .dll and .so file types.
 

MerenPtah

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
53
Country
Egypt

alrshdn

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
2
Country
Jordan
This is GREAT News.
hopefully it has more Cores.
Thanks OsirisX for providing us with an excellent RetroArch version that helped us experience our old games for the past year and half.
looking forward to the official version tho.
just wonder what will they bring new that OsirisX version didn't. :)

I am hoping for a PCSX2 core. I really want to play my favorite PS2 games on OsirisX's RetroArch, but it does not seem it is going to happen, at least not any time soon. I guess I will have to wait for the official version.
 

Xplaya

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
7
Country
United States
Top link is the software itself, bottom link are the cores.
Ahh sorry, i just realized i quoted them wrong.

i was suppose to quote Hosam's all in one link 1.29GB and these two?

Is this 1.29 GB the same as the two below
https://mega.nz/file/6VZEQQRb#GNdwNy4B5xdUN_p04y4K3P9t8LHMIq3AT6mFG7dY-Jo

RetroArch_PS4_r4: https://mega.nz/file/HM4B3RST#amPGZoltIcuvCqjY9yW4VAHol5g923HSZK3xdmQhmhY
Cores_Installer_r4: https://mega.nz/file/DBxAFY6a#ZBjWCovHhiSfHx9Qq1B-aNVk0T8de7LD23VgLUqbhkQ

Also are they compatible with 5.05?
 
Last edited by Xplaya,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,259
Trophies
1
XP
13,929
Country
United States
correct me if I'm wrong, but retroarch is mostly automated on the ps4 if you're using the internet, but if not, like me with the sandisk connect, you have to populate the folders yourself. I might install this one day, but I don't usually play emulators on other consoles other than retroarch on the classics/minis. no issues there, and I only play games the console was made for. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
133
Country
United States
correct me if I'm wrong, but retroarch is mostly automated on the ps4 if you're using the internet, but if not, like me with the sandisk connect, you have to populate the folders yourself. I might install this one day, but I don't usually play emulators on other consoles other than retroarch on the classics/minis. no issues there, and I only play games the console was made for. ;)
You can manually load your roms or you can setup playlists with art. Same as current builds of RA. Just some cores run slow like muppen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
133
Country
United States
where do you put your roms if games on the ps4 are packages or do you have to reinstall the package once a game is added or is there a fake pkg thing involved?
Install r4 RA from page 1
Install r4 cores from page 1

Run core installer
Run retroarch

I use PS4 Xplorer V1.31.pkg: https://github.com/PSTools/PS4-Xplorer/releases
Activate FTP you will see ip and port

FTP in with any ftp program

Put roms anywhere - In RA you can load roms /data ---- put anywhere after here I suppose

Making playlists is the way to go - can edit them fast in notepad++ - All they do is point to the rom location and if wanted have core data to auto load with no prompt for core launching rom.

Can do the same from USB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: https://youtu.be/m_6dkzL4VS4