R4 with N5 firmware 1.25?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kai445, Nov 21, 2008.

Nov 21, 2008

R4 with N5 firmware 1.25? by kai445 at 6:33 PM (17,881 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. kai445
    OP

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a quick way to patch N5 firmware to work on the R4.
    1. Download the latest version of the N5 firmware.
    2. Load _DS_MENU.DAT into your favorite hex editor, and patch offset (DECimal 1664, HEX 680) from 46 to 4F.
    3. Encrypt _DS_MENU.DAT with r4crypt.
    That's it.

    Now, I'm not sure if _AX_MENU.DAT is in any way loaded, I suspect that it may be the underlying bootloader that may somehow patch _AX_MENU.DAT to the firmware, I'm as of yet unsure of how it is designed.

    Here is a RAR that is prepatched and precrypted.
    It is byte-for-byte identical to the official N5 1.25 firmware with the exception of the one-byte modification above, and recrypting the menu.
    http://www.divshare.com/download/5889203-cb7

    Disclaimer:
    I am not promising that this will give you any additional features or functionality, this is simply a proof of concept. I have not tested it yet to see if there is any difference, as I'm still not sure which ROMs work on N5 but not R4, nor do I currently have any roms to test with. But I do have a spare R4 kicking around, and I was bored, so I did this.
     


  2. AeroHex

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    i believe n5s updates are in _AX_MENU.DAT witch the r4 cannot read.its will be the same.i heard r4 sdhc on r4 firmware fixes sonic but im not sure if thats true
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Actually, the N5 software consists of both _DS_MENU.DAT and _AX_MENU.DAT. I'm guessing _DS_MENU.DAT is a decrypted version of the R4 software, and _AX_MENU.DAT contains some patches to make it work on the N5. Encrypting _DS_MENU.DAT would probably make it work on the R4.
     
  4. kai445
    OP

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I'm back [​IMG]

    I had a few theories, I figured the AK_MENU was either loaded by DS_MENU, or the underlying bootloader somehow loaded both. I just dumped the things onto the TF and it was a stuck "loading" screen, so I did a hex edit compare, saw one was encrypted and the other was not... I just unencrypted the R4 menu to compare, changed a few bytes here and there, and then encrypted it and put it on and it loaded... but...

    I didn't see any apparent references to AK_MENU in DS_MENU, so I'm not certain how that works. I do see references to games in AK_MENU, but not sure when the code is loaded or how it patches.

    I didn't have high hopes, just playing around [​IMG]

    I'll do more testing before I release anything else. Thanks for putting up with me.
     
  5. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    Just tested this using R4Crypt and still does not work, you'll get the error message "This is Fake!!" after it loads. Ive tested this with numerous clone firmwares and got the same results. The best combination to use if you really want an updated N5 firmware on your R4 is using N5 1.23. I use a dual boot of YSMENU (10.31) and N5 1.23.

    You can read up on it here:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=103539

    ive been trying to hex edit various firmwares to remove the fake error message but no luck so far..
     
  6. kai445
    OP

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    The one in the rar I included doesnt need to be modified, just drag-and-drop onto the transflash and it will run (the AK_MENU is already encrypted).

    I have a funny feeling AK_MENU isnt loaded. I'll check it out later.
     
  7. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    nice, it does indeed load! what exactly did you change to get it to work?? It seems it acts like 1.18 since sonic (save error) or clone wars still dont work. I think youre onto something about the ax_menu not loading and having the patches in there.
     
  8. kai445
    OP

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I updated my original post to reflect what I did. I changed alot more in the version you downloaded, try the version in the new original post.

    I am unclear at this point if AX_MENU gets loaded or how it loads still, but just read OP.
     
  9. TyRaNtM

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    This need to be tested in N5 firmware 1.26 that fix games like Sonic Chronicles, Star Wars: Clone Wars and more.
     
  10. TyRaNtM

    Member TyRaNtM I did some projects..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    With this guide, N5 1.26 firmware works in R4.
    Trying new games that should be works now, I tested Rubik World (U) and don't work.
    I will try Star Wars: Clone Wars.

    If this don't work, can be because _AX_MENU.DAT, ALSO need to be edited to work in R4.
    Ah, and other thing.. is possible to merge _AX_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.DAT in a single _DS_MENU.DAT file?

    EDIT: Star Wars: Clone Wars also don't work.
    N5 1.26 _DS_MENU.DAT IS a R4 1.18, and the updates ARE in _AX_MENU.DAT.
     
  11. kai445
    OP

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I did a quick look at N5 1.26... it has the same offset to patch in _DS_MENU.DAT. This patch will work probably in all future revisions of the N5 firmware, but it wont matter because we don't know what _AX_MENU.DAT does other than speculation.
     
  12. w1lla

    Newcomer w1lla Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Code:
    N.a.k.e.d. .B.r.o.t.h.e.r.s. .B.a.n.d. ...T.H.Q.
    I think it has a solution for naked brothers band dont know didnt test it if it is used when removed.
     
  13. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't there a way to make the other file work on r4 using r4crypt?
     
  14. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Looks like the N5 cart loads up the AK_MENU.dat automatically.
    Since the R4 doesn't load AK_MENU.dat, it won't work
     
  15. jb905

    Newcomer jb905 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi, in the new N5 Firmware 1.27, the offset Patch wont will work, can't find 46 in offset (DECimal 1664, HEX 680) also i can't change it from 46 to 4F. [​IMG]

    please help !!
     
  16. w1lla

    Newcomer w1lla Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Offset (Decimal 1656) HEX C6 Thats the one if you would follow the topic but i havent tested anything yet.

    Posts merged

    Also the ax menu is a copy of the arm.bin of monster lab.

    M.o.n.s.t.e.r. .L.a.b...E.i.d.o.s
     
  17. w1lla

    Newcomer w1lla Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Code:
    n5ÂÂ08/03/10ÂÂ?????????????????????R4? GAWA also tinged with harsh heat insulator and now depleted R4. Loading????????????????? Loading in a format worked in the freeze. FAT??????AX????????? FAT HEBO process in the pattern by the placement of AX. AX(0x3801????????????)?_DS_MENU.DAT???? AX (0x3801 bytes moving to a cut?) _DS_MENU.DAT Start. AX????R4????????????????????????? AX jumper by the acquisition of R4 response to the change of command is interesting. ?1.16?1F05h:C9?M3S???? 1.16 The Old 1F05h: C9 of the Japanese M3S
    A post on the yasu site.
     
  18. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Why not use YSmenu? Its superior to the N5 firmware on a normal R4 and its clones.
     
  19. jb905

    Newcomer jb905 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    It won't work.Sorry ,can someone here patch the new N5 1.27 Firmware Version for me ,so that it
    runs on the Original R4 ?

    please post a link for download ,

    thanks.......
     
  20. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    you can patch newer r4 clone firmware for other cards and get them to work on R4 but ... it will not load anything different or better reason ... different chipset in the clones and also it uses an extra dat file example with the NPLAYER its called _NDONE__.dat
     

Share This Page