R4 Saves Disappearing, but Still There?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Shakedaddy, Jan 30, 2009.

Jan 30, 2009
  1. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Using: R4 1.18
    Kingston Micro SD 1GB

    I was well into FFIV for the DS and then one day I loaded up the game the option to "continue" was no longer there... I put my micro SD into my computer and yes, my save file is *still* on the micro sd but the problem is it seems FFIV does not recognize it. This happened a while ago and I chalked it up to bad luck.

    Then, just now, I was loading up FFTA2, went to "continue" and then it said save loading, and then suddenly the save disappeared! I went back to the main menu of FFTA2 and it no longer had the option for me to continue.

    I checked the micro SD card, and my FFTA2 save file is still on there. Just as with FFIV, it seems that the game doesn't recognize it.

    I searched the forums before asking this question and I found some similar problems to mine, but not exactly the same, because most people's save files seem to have truly disappeared, while mine is still on my sd card it's just that the game doesn't recognize it.

    Is there anyway to get my rom files to recognize those save files again so I don't lose all my date? I'm sorry if this question has been asked before, I tried looking for other similar questions before I posted this. But any help would be really, really appreciated
     
  2. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like the saves or your card may be coming corrupted,if you can you should copy all your files from your card to your computer and format the card and put all the stuff back on the card and see if that does the trick.....
     
  3. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded the sd formatter 2.0 and formatted the micro sd card, but now windows won't even let me open the card so I can copy and paste stuff into it! This situation is getting worse by the minute HELP
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which version of the R4 do you have?
     
  5. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what you mean... I have the black version before it came out with grooved edges, does that help?

    I think I might have used the sd formatter 2.0 in the wrong way... On my second time trying it I went to options and changed it to "full - erase ON". Did that somehow ruin my micro SD card?
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I mean is it a R4, R4 SDHC, R4-III, R4 New, R4 Ultra, that type of thing. If it's an old original R4 it could just be that it's dying.
     
  7. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's the original R4, I got it back in 2007. The front sticker says R4, then under the Revolution for DS, then under that it has (NDSL/NDS)

    I can accept the fact that my R4 may be dying, but the problem with my micro sd card is really bothering me right now. Window's won't even recognize it's there really.. When I go to properties it says 0 KB Free 0 KB Used
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like your mirosd card is trashed. I've had it happen before, I wasn't using the Panasonic formatter but it was the same end result.
     
  9. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Crap... So I guess I'm gonna buy a new Micro SD card now, and might as well buy cyclo evolution too just to be safe
     
  10. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    You could also try formatting the memory card in like a camera or something if you have one that uses micro sd cards,also if you have a friend or family member with a computer try and see if the card shows up/works on their computer.....
     
  11. Shakedaddy
    OP

    Newcomer Shakedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Tried putting it in my friends camera, it said memory card error and wouldn't even load up. I wonder how much of this was caused when I used the sd formatter 2.0 thing to do "full (erase - on)". Has anybody here ever tried that with their memory cards before? And had a similar thing happen?
     
  12. Edragon

    Member Edragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Australia
    erm.. i format a few times. but just right click on the mem card and choose format.
    didnt use any additional software or whatever
     

Share This Page