Hacking [Question]Is it possible to disable AVLS in general with homebrew

Langin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The internet
XP
2,419
Country
Netherlands
I am in love with my PS Vita system. There's only one problem, I cannot turn up the volume to the max since AVLS keeps coming back everytime I start up my system. When I disable it in the options menu it says it will be disable for 20 hours of audio playback. I never get to those 20 hours though... :/ It always enables itself after a few hours even when it's turned on.

My question, is it possible to create a homebrew to permanently disable this crappy feature? I don't know if henkaku has access to this kind of features. And if there's a homebrew, can someone link to it?

The problem seems to be known! http://community.eu.playstation.com/t5/PS-Vita-Support/AVLS-Problem/td-p/17817920

So... Anyone any ideas?
 

Langin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The internet
XP
2,419
Country
Netherlands
I must admit, I haven't experienced that problem yet.
Only had me Vita since Tuesday.

But yes, it should be doable with homebrew.
Only problem is, there hasn't been any homebrew developed to do so.
Unless Vita registry editor does it.

It's good to know that homebrew can do this. ^-^ I'll keep an eye out for it! Thanks oppa <3
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinohScene

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,061
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
19,661
Country
Antarctica
Still can patch out the AVLS with homebrew, even if it's hardware bound.

If, for example, a CFW would come out, a patch/plugin could be developed that resets the AVLS timer every x amount of minutes.
Or set the AVLS timer to 9999 hours, or whatever.

Edit: I mean, one can turn off AVLS so one should also be able to keep it turned off.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Langin

Langin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The internet
XP
2,419
Country
Netherlands
I believe this is HARDWARE BOUND, so... No.
Ealier 1000 models don't have the hour limit. The Firmware is the same for every console, so...

My older Vita which I sold sadly didn't have this no and my gf's vita neither... I find this so odd to be fairly honest.. -_- Weird laws everywhere.
 

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,697
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,776
Country
Iraq
@DinohScene i hope you are right "Still can patch out the AVLS with homebrew, even if it's hardware bound." <<<< with this !

the avls thing i didnt notice, it is only for EU consoles.
it is very annoying, if i want to go above 70% volume and that restriction being there, hot damn having to turn it off manually every single time would be hellish annoying, i will defintely want to set volume up above 70-90% if i was to play a game like Persona Dance All Night
 

satan89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
424
Trophies
0
Location
Limbo
XP
783
Country
India
It's only on ps vita slims European.
The temporary way is to use Vita registry editor and under /config/sound set both AVLS options to '0'. This way it will not get reactivated after 20hours, but rebooting it will deactivate AVLS. You don't need to do the registry editing after every reboot though, you can just turn off AVLS in settings after rebooting it.
 

Langin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The internet
XP
2,419
Country
Netherlands
It's only on ps vita slims European.
The temporary way is to use Vita registry editor and under /config/sound set both AVLS options to '0'. This way it will not get reactivated after 20hours, but rebooting it will deactivate AVLS. You don't need to do the registry editing after every reboot though, you can just turn off AVLS in settings after rebooting it.

Its also on later phat models. My 3G version of the vita has this problem... :)
 

Denny64

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
95
Country
Netherlands
Its also on later phat models. My 3G version of the vita has this problem... :)

Yes, indeed...

I Have 2 fat vita's, one with Date Code 1D and one with 2B.
The 1D does not have the AVLS hour restriction while the 2B does have it.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,061
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
19,661
Country
Antarctica
Vita 1004, Datecode 2A, no AVLS restriction.

@DinohScene i hope you are right "Still can patch out the AVLS with homebrew, even if it's hardware bound." <<<< with this !

Well, disabling it goes via software, so it only seems logical it could be completely shut down by software.
If not, have it patched or even a disable request being sent every x hours.
 

leonmagnus99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
3,697
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Seinegald
XP
2,776
Country
Iraq
but rebooting it will deactivate AVLS. You don't need to do the registry editing after every reboot though, you can just turn off AVLS in settings after rebooting it.

you mean , after i edit the avls in the registry editor, i wont have to keep unticking the AVLS option in the settings?
abit confused here, :l so there is an actual way to get rid of that avls restriction?
 

satan89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2014
Messages
424
Trophies
0
Location
Limbo
XP
783
Country
India
you mean , after i edit the avls in the registry editor, i wont have to keep unticking the AVLS option in the settings?
abit confused here, :l so there is an actual way to get rid of that avls restriction?
Setting the AVLS timer to 0 will remove the 20hr timer. But rebooting the device will put it back on AVLS mode.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leonmagnus99

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I thought he was going to use an actual PS4 to cook. +1