Question about FAT32 and RCMLoader

WaddleDeeve

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Indiana
XP
36
Country
United States
I have a few questions regarding the FAT32 and RCMLoader.

I saw that everyone recommends to use the FAT32 over the exFAT. I have an microsd that when I went to format it to FAT32 there is no option for it. This is one of the Nintendo specific SD Cards they sell(one with the Super Star on it) Is this something that would cause a serious issue for me. Should I go out of my way to get a microSD that i can format to FAT32. I have alot of games and save data on my switch so I kinda have to use these bigger space micros. My current micro has a space of 238gb.

With the RCM Loader, after you install Hecate to the Switch. You still have to make a backup of this in whatever safe location you can for the risk of bricking, correct. Does using an RCM Loader reduce the risk of causing the switch to Brick since the file work is handled for you. If the switch does Brick how hard is it to fix/repair it back.

I am not very tech savy with this kind of thing and only recently started looking into the idea of Jailbreaking my switch. I do have a Switch Lite as a backup switch. No my switch lite is to new to jailbreak.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,828
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,099
Country
Colombia
RCM Loader, HAST NOTHING to do with bricking risk, is only a way of inject a payload. ALWAYS MAKE A FULL BACKUP OF YOUR NAND when you start the hacking proccess because if anything goes wrong you have a restore point.

It's HeKate.

You need a program like FAT32GUI to format ANY card to Fat32 look at: https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-...higher-than-32gb-to-fat32.612785/post-9835454 The problem of not using Fat32 is about the Nintendo kernel having trouble with ExFat and generating corruption, nothing what any homebrew can correct.

Even if you aren't a tech person you could start for reading good guides, the best ones are:
Stay away of video "tutorials" generally they are outdated.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,042
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,311
Country
Norway
I have a few questions regarding the FAT32 and RCMLoader.

I saw that everyone recommends to use the FAT32 over the exFAT. I have an microsd that when I went to format it to FAT32 there is no option for it. This is one of the Nintendo specific SD Cards they sell(one with the Super Star on it) Is this something that would cause a serious issue for me. Should I go out of my way to get a microSD that i can format to FAT32. I have alot of games and save data on my switch so I kinda have to use these bigger space micros. My current micro has a space of 238gb.

With the RCM Loader, after you install Hecate to the Switch. You still have to make a backup of this in whatever safe location you can for the risk of bricking, correct. Does using an RCM Loader reduce the risk of causing the switch to Brick since the file work is handled for you. If the switch does Brick how hard is it to fix/repair it back.

I am not very tech savy with this kind of thing and only recently started looking into the idea of Jailbreaking my switch. I do have a Switch Lite as a backup switch. No my switch lite is to new to jailbreak.
There is no risk of bricking if you use an emuNAND and never launch CFW on sysNAND or attempt to modify the sysNAND with RCM payloads in any way. Which is the recommended way to do things anyway to minimize ban risks.
 

WaddleDeeve

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Indiana
XP
36
Country
United States
I tried using the SD Card Formatter to change my ExFat to FAT32. I do not se the option to convert it to FAT32. I do not see an option to format to FAT32. Is it because my MicroSD Card is a 238GB space. The second pic is from after running a Quick and Overwrite Format from the Formatter. Note: I did check it after performing both formatting attempts. But it looks the same.
1656498864840.png
1656498946785.png
 

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,115
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,735
Country
United States
I tried using the SD Card Formatter to change my ExFat to FAT32. I do not se the option to convert it to FAT32. I do not see an option to format to FAT32. Is it because my MicroSD Card is a 238GB space. The second pic is from after running a Quick and Overwrite Format from the Formatter. Note: I did check it after performing both formatting attempts. But it looks the same.
View attachment 315778View attachment 315779

You can use guiformat
 

kidkat210

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
740
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,508
Country
United States
I tried using the SD Card Formatter to change my ExFat to FAT32. I do not se the option to convert it to FAT32. I do not see an option to format to FAT32. Is it because my MicroSD Card is a 238GB space. The second pic is from after running a Quick and Overwrite Format from the Formatter. Note: I did check it after performing both formatting attempts. But it looks the same.
View attachment 315778View attachment 315779
After a certain size of sd cards, windows formater wont format sd's to fat32. You gotta use a different program like guiformat
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    depends
    Gift
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    some triwing screws are really crappy in quality so they just destroy themselves without a proper bit or screwdriver
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah might as well just invest $10 in a good set
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    @KenniesNewName That's the problem with gadgets, there's a new one being leaked, announced, released every week, and if you wait for something better to come along you can wait forever, there's always something new on the horizon.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Same thing with price too. Miyoo Mini is $50 and it's fine, but RP2 is only $100 and has way more options, but now there's the RP3 and it's just $30 more, but the Ayn Odin Lite is $190 and it's very powerful, but the Ayn Odin Pro is $250 and it's an absolute beast, but now we're already in the Windows handheld range and I really would like a Windows handheld... Ayn Loki starts at $200, but why not add a few bucks for better specs... but now we're close to the Steam Deck and that is a much better choice...
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    So we get from $50 to $500 in tiny, reasonable increments.
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Veho should eat a cookie :P
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Everyone should eat a cookie.
    Gift
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I have oreos
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    They have oreos cereal :ninja:
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    My attitude in those cases is to decide what I want in that particular moment, not waiting for emminent releases. And decide based on function, that is, if I will use it almost daily and if it satisfies my desire/need
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    This saves me money, room space and head space
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just give up on buying anything and wait until the desire subsides. Works just as well.
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I know those moments
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Buy all the things and fill your house with junk you will never use lol
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Correction, with junk you'll use once.
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol maybe
    Gift
  • Extryzz @ Extryzz:
    Does anybody know how to fix vwii i get a black screen when booting forwarders, some work but the animated ones do not, I converted to vwii btw.
    Gift
  • Extryzz @ Extryzz:
    do i have to download a certain homebrew or can it be through tirasmu
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Make a thread in the relevant section, you're more likely to get an answer there
    Gift
    Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo: Make a thread in the relevant section, you're more likely to get an answer there