Hacking Question about 3 in 1

SavageWaffle

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
1,123
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
228
Country
United States
So yea im thinking of buying another NDS Software. But this time a Slot-2. Im thinking of a EZ-Flash 3 in 1 expansion pack.

1. Does it have a built in memory? If so, how much?
2. If it doesnt have a built in memory, can i put in my 1 GB MicroSD Card in?(Im going to buy a 2 GB Kingston for the R4 and transfer)
3. Does it work on the R4?
4. Is there a speical tool/program to run the EZ-Flash 3 in 1 Expansion Pack?
5. What are the problems that can occur?
6. Is $21.95 a good price? Not including shipping?
7. Or if the 3 in 1 sucks for the R4, what are some other Slot-2 software?

Thanks guys for all the info.
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,443
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Georgia
XP
693
Country
United States
1. It contains 32 MB of NOR flash, though you can also trick it into using the 16 MB of PSRAM to run GBA games. This is enough, as the largest GBA games are 32 MB.
2. You transfer games from your slot-1 card to the 3in1.
3. Yes, with GBA ExpLoader
4. See above
5. No clue.
6. It's a standard price.
7. Your other main option is the Ewin expansion pack, which has some GBA compatibility issues.

Other questions: see the GBATemp wiki article on the 3in1.
 

SavageWaffle

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
1,123
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
228
Country
United States
Thanks DanTheManMS, i dont understand your answer on "1". So are you saying it has a total of 16 MB? And on answer 2, i have to put the GBA Rom on my R4, then it "transfers" to the 3 in 1?
 

myuusmeow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
1,646
Trophies
0
Website
google.com
XP
317
Country
United States
1. No, it has 48mB of RAM. 16mB of it is volatile and known as PSRAM. (It is deleted when the power is gone) 32mB of it is non-volatile and is called NOR RAM. All 32mB games must be loaded into NOR, and the rest can be loaded into PSRAM. (Much quicker)
2. yes
 

azotyp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,162
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Poland
Website
Visit site
XP
524
Country
Poland
And you cvould play quake with that
smile.gif
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,443
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Georgia
XP
693
Country
United States
Isn't it "NOR Flash" not "NOR Ram?"
Right, it's NOR Flash. myuusmeow, you can't just add up the numbers like that. NOR flash acts very much like original GBA game cartridges, while the RAM just acts as a speedy place to launch the GBA game from. I know I'm not making it very clear, but there is a very big difference between the two.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Instead of cookies you get meth infused bricks of weed
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "What if Joe Rogen was santa."
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Turns out Germany's version of Santa back in the 40s didn't go that well
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You don't wanna know where his toys were made.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Camp #2 or #4?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Or a Disney warehouse
  • Veho @ Veho:
    A Disney whorehouse.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Damn that's even worse
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Kumar becomes Santa now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Harold and Kumar go to the North Pole.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Rudolph tasted the best
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Rudolph the red-rocket reindeer.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @M4x1mumReZ every console. Every console. Please no more unbelievably bloated updates
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Imagine if nothing ever updated
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Imagine all the people.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I wouldn't mind a rock as a house easier to repair
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Subway announced footlong cookies.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Yay more ways to improve my diabetes
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, Just block the updates with a custom DNS or never use internet on it in the first place.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol I am #81 in queue
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Lol I am #81 in queue