Gaming Playing "unsupported" PSP games on Vita without PS3?

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
OP
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
18,148
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The Danger Zone
XP
10,303
Country
United States
So I hear all these awesome stories of people playing all these awesome PSP games with dual analog controls and stuff like that, but the Vita's list of "officially supported" PSP times is despicable. No Peace Walker, no God Eater, no Syphon Filter, no Coded Arms, no nothing. So I heard people do this by buying the game through their PS3 and just transferring it to the Vita.

...But I don't have a PS3. I only have my PSP Go, my Vita, and my PC. Is there anyway to get access to these quality games with what I have, or do I need a PS3 or to sit patiently and wait for their list to expand?

All help is appreciated. Worst case scenario, I have a friend with a PS3 that's rather unused, I'll just go to his house one day and use that for a few purchases.
 

prowler

Sony
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
9,475
Trophies
0
Location
Ragol
XP
3,294
Country
Zimbabwe
Use your PSP Go?
Purchase on PSP Go, download from PSV.

If that doesn't work, downloading from PS3 is your only option.

Edit: Supposedly there is a firmware update coming in April. Maybe this will fix it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
OP
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
18,148
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The Danger Zone
XP
10,303
Country
United States
Use your PSP Go?
Purchase on PSP Go, download from PSV.

If that doesn't work, downloading from PS3 is your only option.

Edit: Supposedly there is a firmware update coming in April. Maybe this will fix it.

I honestly don't want to risk purchasing a game I won't even play. I guess I could play it on my Go but I could just pirate it and I probably won't be touching my Go for a good long time with a Vita in hand.

I guess I'll wait for the April update unless there's confirmation on this method.

Oh, and side question, why does Sony's store list Monster Hunter Freedom Unite as $10 as a "Greatest Hit" on their online (meaning browser) store but it's $20 on the PSN Store on the Vita?
 

prowler

Sony
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
9,475
Trophies
0
Location
Ragol
XP
3,294
Country
Zimbabwe
My friend purchased Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker and Disgaea from his PSP and he was able to download it from his Vita.
(All games, PSP and even PS3 show up on the Vita download list)
 

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
OP
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
18,148
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
The Danger Zone
XP
10,303
Country
United States
My friend purchased Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker and Disgaea from his PSP and he was able to download it from his Vita.
(All games, PSP and even PS3 show up on the Vita download list)

Alright, I'll give it a shot and see what happens.

I'm guessing whatever game I purchase will become officially supported eventually so it's just a matter of patience if things go wrong.
 

pyromaniac123

ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
2,006
Trophies
2
XP
1,768
Country
So I hear all these awesome stories of people playing all these awesome PSP games with dual analog controls and stuff like that, but the Vita's list of "officially supported" PSP times is despicable. No Peace Walker, no God Eater, no Syphon Filter, no Coded Arms, no nothing. So I heard people do this by buying the game through their PS3 and just transferring it to the Vita.

...But I don't have a PS3. I only have my PSP Go, my Vita, and my PC. Is there anyway to get access to these quality games with what I have, or do I need a PS3 or to sit patiently and wait for their list to expand?

All help is appreciated. Worst case scenario, I have a friend with a PS3 that's rather unused, I'll just go to his house one day and use that for a few purchases.

PSP times? Surely you mean titles.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah ftp and occasionally samba at the house.
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    By the way under Windows you can use Total Commander to access so many sources as drives, SFTP, FTP, WebDav, Cloud shares, etc.
    impeeza @ impeeza: By the way under Windows you can use Total Commander to access so many sources as drives, SFTP...