Hacking Overclocking dsi

DarkFocus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
112
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
Canada
If the regular ds can be overclocked to run at 1.7 times regular speed and the DSI is just running in an underclocked mode when running in DS mode couldn't we use the overclocking method to access its extra ram for Hombrew?

Sorry if Im wrong I don't know anything about the DSI's hardware and whether or not overclocking can even be done on it.
(also sorry for the awful English on the link I provided but it was translated from Japanese)
 

noONE

~~~~~~~~~~~~
Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
968
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
XP
262
Country
Sweden
It doesn't "just" simply underclock during standard DS mode...

It deactivates all the features and such, so for DSi-mode it has alot more features and security protocols and so on, it's not that simple.
 

DarkFocus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
112
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
Canada
I know it wouldn't be running in dsi mode and it wouldn't run DSI games but couldn't it increase our current homebrew abilities on DSI? like having emulators run decently?
 

WioWao

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
198
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
DarkFocus said:
couldn't we use the overclocking method to access its extra ram for Hombrew?
Overclocking would never give us more RAM. It would only make things run faster.
 

DarkFocus

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
112
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
Canada
the rams already there though its just running underclocked isn't it. I thought DSI had 4 times the ram the DS had.
 

Krestent

What to post?
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,953
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
340
Country
United States
DarkFocus said:
the rams already there though its just running underclocked isn't it. I thought DSI had 4 times the ram the DS had.


The rest of the ram is being BLOCKED by the DSi.

And there's no such thing as overclocking RAM.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    WARIOLOVER57 @ WARIOLOVER57: hi