1. Pickle_Rick

    OP Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    -profi200

    New alpha release available! (thanks profi200)

    Help report save types here!


    (The stuttering is my camera's auto focus. Not the game.)

    Note: I did not make this software nor am I involved. This is just a discussion thread.
     
    Last edited by Pickle_Rick, Jul 31, 2020
  2. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Canada
    So, the obvious question is, will this offer any particular advantages over the standard agb_firm in the future?
     
  3. Pickle_Rick

    OP Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    Well it already has one. It has a rom loader and doesn't require converting each game to a CIA. Using up your 300 title limit.
     
  4. Rj.MoG

    Rj.MoG GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United States
    This is pretty amazing actually. I tried looking at this myself but my programming skills are limited to cobol, c# and fortran. I’m pretty blown away at this. It’ll definitely be convenient. Thank you!
     
  5. Mikitok

    Mikitok GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    New Zealand
    how to use?
     
  6. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7,820
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, this is sick! :D
     
  7. Kwyjor

    Kwyjor GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Canada
    Since it's a .firm file, I'm guessing you have to run it from the Luma chainloader, like gm9.

    That raises an interesting question: do you think you can enable chainloading from ntrboot, so it can be run from a 3DS with stock firmware?
     
  8. Nutez

    Nutez Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very cool, nice work!

    Side note, there was a chainloader you could compile as .cia to reboot into a .firm payload from the home menu. It might be compatible with this .firm if someone had time to try it out ^_^ :
    New link: https://github.com/Ordim3n/That-Shortcut-Thingy (old link was deprecated).
     
    Last edited by Nutez, Aug 3, 2020 at 9:44 PM
    ber71 likes this.
  9. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is great can't wait to see just how good it gets. So far I have tried two games using the test build. Metal Slug GBA runs with no issues and Super Mario Bros Classic loads but no button presses are recognised.

    Edit just tried Dr Mario and Puzzle League both work perfectly.
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Jul 29, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. Pickle_Rick

    OP Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    I should note I did not make this. I just found it and shared it around. It's a cool project.
     
    Last edited by Pickle_Rick, Jul 29, 2020
  11. DualBladedKirito

    DualBladedKirito The Black Swordsman
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    Nice to see this has a discussion thread now.( Was gonna make one myself but you beat me to it lol)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also it will eventually have a settings menu with cheats and the like. Also it has access to the arm9 AND arm11 cpus. Afaik stock agb_firm does not have access to the arm11
     
    Last edited by DualBladedKirito, Jul 29, 2020
    peteruk and Pickle_Rick like this.
  12. maorninja

    maorninja GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    United States
    You hadn't specified that anywhere in the first post. It seems as if you're just stealing credit from profil2000.
     
    peteruk, E1ite007 and AmandaRose like this.
  13. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep the below in the OPs original post makes it sound like it was him who developed it.

    If you happen to stumble over another bug, please open an issue in the official open_agb_firm repo on GitHub or contact me via other platforms.


    The above needs removed and credit to the actual dev needs to be added to the first post.
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Jul 29, 2020
    peteruk, E1ite007 and Dartz150 like this.
  14. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Country:
    Mexico
    How to use:

    NOTE: IF YOU WERE USING A DIFFERENT EMULATOR/LOADER BEFORE, IT IS MANDATORY TO MAKE A BACKUP OF ALL OF YOUR SAVES, THIS IS STILL AN ALPHA AND COULD BREAK PREVIOUS SAVE DATA, IT IS RECOMENDED TO TEST/USE IT WITH NEWLY CREATED SAVE FILES.

    For Luma users:
    1. Place open_agb_firm.firm inside /luma/payloads folder on your SD card using the procedure of your preference, I recommend an ftp server as the file is very light to transfer.
    2. Place your GBA roms inside your SD card, it is recomended to create a folder named "GBA" for those but you can place them anywhere of your choice.
    3. Power off your 3DS, then power it on while holding the START button.
    4. A menu should appear and one of the available options should be "open_agb_firm", select it pressing the A button.
    5. You should be promted with a file browser, look up for your GBA files to load and see the magic.
    6. To load a different rom, you need to power off your 3DS, then repeat steps 3 to 5.
    7. As stated, any issue that happens should be opened on this project Github page.
    For fastboot3DS users:

    1. Place your "open_agb_firm.firm" file inside of your SD card in any directory of your choice, if you use other payloads, is recomended to use the same directory.
    2. Power off your 3DS, then power it on while holding the HOME button.
    3. Fastboot 3DS should show up, select the "Boot Setup" option.
    4. Select any empty slot of your choice.
    5. Press the A button on the "Select [slot X] firm", a file browser will show up, then look up for your "open_agb_firm.firm" file on your SD card.
    6. [MANDATORY] Press the A button on the "Set [Slot X] keycombo" option.
    7. Follow the instructions on the top screen, then exit when done.
    8. Power off your 3DS, then power it on while holding the keycombo you configured in the previous step.
    9. You should be promted with a file browser, look up for your GBA files to load and see the magic.
    10. To load a different rom, repeat step 8.
    11. As stated, any issue that happens should be opened on this project Github page.

    Also, is very important to know that profi200 is asking for help on this project:

    So if you want to contribute the door is completely open :yaysp:
     
    Last edited by Dartz150, Jul 29, 2020
    survive9, Labestiajake, ber71 and 5 others like this.
  15. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Impressive and awesome, but totally needs that patch to show the GBA boot logo B-)
     
  16. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep I don't know why but playing GBA games without seeing the boot logo just doesn't feel right :)
     
    hippy dave likes this.
  17. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Country:
    Mexico
    It is dissabled by default but you can re-enable it by editing the source code option, then rebuild the .firm as it is currently hardcoded. It is planned to be toggleable in the future accordig to previous coments on github.
     
    peteruk, VinsCool, hippy dave and 2 others like this.
  18. KaduPSE

    KaduPSE Revolution and cake
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    Brazil
    Although not requiring CIA forwarders is a nice feature... Being compatible with them is certainly important if it ever becomes a true replacement for AGB_FIRM, part of the charm of using a 3DS is precisely having so many systems right in the native home menu.
     
    kenseiden likes this.
  19. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh well then no buts, just impressive and awesome :toot:
     
    peteruk, Dartz150 and AmandaRose like this.
  20. Pickle_Rick

    OP Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    I just copy and pasted the text from his github.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - OPEN_AGB_FIRM, discussion, thread