Hacking o3DS Emunand transfer to n3DS sysnand + a9lh/luma

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
So I've been out of the loop for a while, and I'm trying to figure out what's the ideal setup to have at this point while retaining my system profile/settings etc.

My o3DS is on 4.2 sysnand / 10.4 emunand. I've been using gateway since launch and I've always used the MSET exploit to get into emunand by doing into settings > profile > DS profile.

I have a n3DS on 9.0 sysnand. I would like to transfer my o3ds emunand to the n3DS, and start using a9lh/luma on newest firmware, in addition to gateway.

What is the correct/easiest way to accomplish this while getting a9lh/luma on the n3DS as well? Would I have to install a9lh/luma on o3DS and fully update before transferring to the new system?

Is there any point to having emunand anymore, or do most people just use a9lh/luma and sysnand only?
 
Last edited by kardus,

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
You can update the emuNAND on your old 3DS and install a9lh on the N3DS and update it. Then perform a normal system transfer. It's easier if you put a microSD in an adapter in the old 3DS and move the microSD over rather than do an OTA transfer (with too much stuff on your old 3DS it is likely to freeze after 6-8 hours and then you have to start again).
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
You can update the emuNAND on your old 3DS and install a9lh on the N3DS and update it. Then perform a normal system transfer. It's easier if you put a microSD in an adapter in the old 3DS and move the microSD over rather than do an OTA transfer (with too much stuff on your old 3DS it is likely to freeze after 6-8 hours and then you have to start again).

If I just swap SD cards, doesn't a new folder get created on the new system with a new profile when I boot it up, forcing my saves etc not to work? I only really want to keep savegames for .cias and games that saved data to the internal SD card, and keep other profile-specific things like friend codes, game time logs, etc. Are there different transfer options in system transfer, or can I avoid system transfer altogether by swapping SD cards?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
If I just swap SD cards, doesn't a new folder get created on the new system with a new profile when I boot it up, forcing my saves etc not to work? I only really want to keep savegames for .cias and games that saved data to the internal SD card, and keep other profile-specific things like friend codes, game time logs, etc. Are there different transfer options in system transfer, or can I avoid system transfer altogether by swapping SD cards?
When you perform a system transfer, the data in the old 3DS gets converted to be readable by the target 3DS. It's very important to leave the SD card in the source console during the system transfer, otherwise you'll lose all your data. The target console won't be able to read it (as it was not able to be converted during the transfer) and the source system won't be able it read it (as it will have been formatted) even if you restore a backup, you'll get your data back but then your NNID will be linked to the target and you won't be able to use the eShop, Badge Arcade, etc like normal.
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
When you perform a system transfer, the data in the old 3DS gets converted to be readable by the target 3DS. It's very important to leave the SD card in the source console during the system transfer, otherwise you'll lose all your data. The target console won't be able to read it (as it was not able to be converted during the transfer) and the source system won't be able it read it (as it will have been formatted) even if you restore a backup, you'll get your data back but then your NNID will be linked to the target and you won't be able to use the eShop, Badge Arcade, etc like normal.

I deliberately never had an NNID associated with the original o3DS at all anyway so not too worried. I just updated games using .cias and later with the game update feature that was added right to the 3ds menu with Y.

I was a bit confused about your suggestion thinking the entire system transfer process was wireless, but I totally forgot that system transfers can be done with a computer/sd cards and copying the files after licence transfer. So I just use the "Transfer Data Using a PC" option after I have installed a9lh/luma on the n3DS and I'm good to go?
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
Also, what's currently the easiest way I can convert my gateway .savs to use with the games I grab from freeshop? I would like to move most of my gateway .3ds stuff entirely to official cias on the internal card.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
I deliberately never had an NNID associated with the original o3DS at all anyway so not too worried. I just updated games using .cias and later with the game update feature that was added right to the 3ds menu with Y.

I was a bit confused about your suggestion thinking the entire system transfer process was wireless, but I totally forgot that system transfers can be done with a computer/sd cards and copying the files after licence transfer. So I just use the "Transfer Data Using a PC" option after I have installed a9lh/luma on the n3DS and I'm good to go?
Yep. Then just copy arm9loaderhax.bin and the Luma folder to the old 3DS' SD card and insert in the new 3DS (if you used a microSD with adapter in the old 3DS).
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
So I just installed a9lh on the n3DS and I've just restored the n3DS nand (9.0). Plailect's guide says to System Update the 3ds here (to latest - 11.1), before injecting FBI/finalizing setup/using Luma3DSupdater.

If I do this, I obviously won't be able to use gateway and certain homebrew until they are updated. Is it possible for me to stay on 9.0 and still use gateway/homebrew and play online with luma, or should I just update now? Is it possible to update to an intermediate firmware that's more current, like 10.7 instead of 11.1?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
So I just installed a9lh on the n3DS and I've just restored the n3DS nand (9.0). Plailect's guide says to System Update the 3ds here (to latest - 11.1), before injecting FBI/finalizing setup/using Luma3DSupdater.

If I do this, I obviously won't be able to use gateway and certain homebrew until they are updated. Is it possible for me to stay on 9.0 and still use gateway/homebrew and play online with luma, or should I just update now? Is it possible to update to an intermediate firmware that's more current, like 10.7 instead of 11.1?
Yes you could update to 11.0 with sysupdater (use 3DNUS to get the cias), then follow https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-using-luma3ds-with-gateway-on-v2-a9lh.431691/
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
Thanks again, you've been a big help. If i decide to stay on <11.1 firmware I obviously won't be able to do the official system transfer right? Is there any simple way could bring over system data from o3DS 10.4 to n3DS 10.7 or 11.0?
Unfortunately not. Well, there's a way to do a manual system transfer (if you can get Nintendo to move your NNID by calling them), but it's super complicated and has high risk of bricking. It shouldn't take too long for Gateway to produce a new launcher.dat for 11.1 though (usually takes about a week).

Edit: you could probably update both to 11.1, so the system transfer, then downgrade the target using sysupdater.

If it were me, I would pick one or two games to keep me occupied for the next week or two, backup the Gateway saves, update and do the transfer, then install those games to my home menu, inject the saves, and keep playing. Then when Gateway works on 11.1 have access to the rest of my games.
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
Unfortunately not. Well, there's a way to do a manual system transfer (if you can get Nintendo to move your NNID by calling them), but it's super complicated and has high risk of bricking. It shouldn't take too long for Gateway to produce a new launcher.dat for 11.1 though (usually takes about a week).

Edit: you could probably update both to 11.1, so the system transfer, then downgrade the target using sysupdater.

If it were me, I would pick one or two games to keep me occupied for the next week or two, backup the Gateway saves, update and do the transfer, then install those games to my home menu, inject the saves, and keep playing. Then when Gateway works on 11.1 have access to the rest of my games.

I will just do this, thanks. What do I use to inject my gateway .savs into freeshop CIAs?
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
Use JKSM. The process isn't 100% straightforward - refer to this: http://www.3ds-blog.com/tutorial-how-to-import-gateway-3ds-saves-to-cia-games/

So I just decided to forego the system transfer and just start my profile fresh on the new system to keep things simple. I never had an NNID so no issues with transferring that, and I will convert my saves later.

I'm curious about the smash Bros dlc though- I had redeemed the codes from Wii U shop on the in-game dlc shop on 3ds on the o3DS. Is it possible to migrate that data to the new system some way?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
So I just decided to forego the system transfer and just start my profile fresh on the new system to keep things simple. I never had an NNID so no issues with transferring that, and I will convert my saves later.

I'm curious about the smash Bros dlc though- I had redeemed the codes from Wii U shop on the in-game dlc shop on 3ds on the o3DS. Is it possible to migrate that data to the new system some way?
It might actually be better not to, even if there is a way - once you buy any DLC (or even look at the in-game shop IIRC) then if you ever try to install pirated DLC, it will get deleted whenever you go on the eShop. Whereas if you only ever pirate it, it won't disappear.
 

kardus

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
96
Trophies
0
Age
105
XP
114
Country
Canada
It might actually be better not to, even if there is a way - once you buy any DLC (or even look at the in-game shop IIRC) then if you ever try to install pirated DLC, it will get deleted whenever you go on the eShop. Whereas if you only ever pirate it, it won't disappear.

At least with smash bros specifically, I didn't pirate it (I bought the game and dumped the rom with my unique header, and played that with gateway). But I also never touched or looked at the official eshop app or set up an nnid on the old system either- I simply took the codes from the Wii U shop and entered them directly into the smash 3ds in game shop. I don't know if the in game shop is some extension of the official shop or how the codes are redeemed, but I assume it saves some kind of data to the old system somehow? I assume whether or not I own this 'legit' DLC that I used official codes for is saved on the system somehow, and I could transfer that to the new system?

Also- thanks for the quantumc.at site, saved me a lot of trouble doing this whole thing with 3 systems.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.cnn.com/2022/09/28/entertainment/coolio-obit/index.html