[Tutorial] Using Luma3DS with Gateway on v2 A9LH

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Temptress Cerise, Jun 21, 2016.

  1. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    I highly advise against the use of GW for SysNAND-Only setups.

    11.3&11.4 Break GW. GW currently DOES NOT support 11.3 or 11.4. You will either brick or lose A9LH. More than likely it seems you will just lose A9LH.


    Again, if you attempt to boot GW Mode, on a SYSNAND-Only Setup while on 11.3 or 11.4, you will lose A9LH. It does not matter if you safely updated to this firmware via another CFW that safely protects FIRM.

    If you want to use 11.3, you will not be able to use GW. Don't even try. Only use Luma3DS or other CFW that support 11.3.


    As a reminder, update using Luma3DS. Since this update breaks GW. Don't update past 11.3 if you want to continue using GW Mode.


    If you are a Gateway3DS user, and have recently finished Plailect's A9LH Guide, then you should be on v2 A9LH. Unfortunately, at the time this thread was made, GW's a9lh.bin file is incompatible with Luma3DS' payload chainloading feature while on v2 A9LH.

    So one way around this was to either forego using Luma3DS' payload chainloading, and use a boot manager that does work in initializing GW's a9lh.bin correctly. Like BootCTR9. Either you let BootCTR9 handle all payloads, or you set it up to chainload into Luma3DS and from there let Luma3DS do all the work.

    Either way, some people might not like BootCTR9 (Big fan of BootCTR9, seriously thing is amazing~!)

    So if you don't want to use the BootCTR9 method, then @Hayleia made a very stripped down boot manager that only loads /luma/payloads/gateway.bin. You still need GW's a9lh.bin in addition to this stripped down bootmanager, but that's all you need, these two files! No need for messy configs if you just want to stick with Luma3DS' payload chainloader.


    Now on to the damn tutorials already~!






    Gateway Logo


    1. Download the v2gw.zip attached to this post.

    2. Extract the "arm9loaderhax.bin" from v2gw.zip to your /luma/payloads/ folder.

    3. Rename that very "arm9loaderhax.bin" you just extracted to "down_v2gw.bin" or to whatever you want that is allowed by Luma3DS' payload chainloader.
    Other button options: https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Other-features-and-notes#payload-chainloading

    4. Download GW's ‘arm9loaderhax.bin.zip‘ file.
    You have to get this directly from Gateway's site. Which is either:
    A) On their main home page.
    B) Or on their openly public Private Beta Program page, on this page it'll be under the "» arm9loaderhax for users with existing a9lh installs" section.

    5. Extract GW's "arm9loaderhax.bin" file from their zip file to your /luma/payloads/ folder.

    6. Rename that very "arm9loaderhax.bin" you just extracted to "gateway.bin"

    7. Make sure you have the latest GW's Launcher.dat on the root of your SD Card.

    8. You are now done. If you followed this tutorial, holding DPAD-DOWN at boot time, will load up Gateway Mode.
    However, if you are a SysNAND Only User, and on 11.1 and using the 4.2 Launcher.dat, you will be prompted to press 'L+R+SELECT' to boot SYSNAND.
    GW EmuNAND users will automatically boot into their GW EmuNAND.

    Notes: To Boot into the GW Menu: Hold L+Select, as soon as you see the Dragon Logo.
    To Force a Manual Gateway3DS RedCard Update: Hold R+Select as soon as you see the Dragon Logo.







    No Gateway Logo (Not Recommend - Only for those allergic to the dragon logo - USE AT YOUR OWN RISK)

    Notes: This version will de-init the screen by default, and as such you won't see the Gateway Logo. Don't worry it'll init once you land on the Home. Due to how this works, only GW EmuNAND users should consider using this. This is because SysNAND users will land on the SysNAND prompt nag.

    1. Download the v2gw-de-init.zip attached to this post.

    2. Extract the "v2gw.bin" from v2gw-de-init.zip to your /luma/payloads/ folder.

    3. Rename that very "v2gw2.bin" you just extracted to "down_v2gw.bin" or to whatever you want that is allowed by Luma3DS' payload chainloader.
    Other button options: https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Other-features-and-notes#payload-chainloading

    4. Download GW's ‘arm9loaderhax.bin.zip‘ file.
    You have to get this directly from Gateway's site. Which is either:
    A) On their main home page.
    B) Or on their openly public Private Beta Program page, on this page it'll be under the "» arm9loaderhax for users with existing a9lh installs" section.

    5. Extract GW's "arm9loaderhax.bin" file from their zip file to your /luma/payloads/ folder.

    6. Rename that very "arm9loaderhax.bin" you just extracted to "gateway.bin"

    7. Make sure you have the latest GW's Launcher.dat on the root of your SD Card.

    8. You are now done. If you followed this tutorial, holding DPAD-DOWN at boot time, will load up Gateway Mode without the Gateway Logo.


    Tested on N3DS and O3DS by me, 2DS by @Hayleia.
    Should work on either screen-init or non-screen-init v2 A9LH.





    Important Note: Never update your SysNAND in Gateway Mode. It does not matter what Launcher.dat version you use, if you go ahead and update while in SysNAND Mode, you will either brick or lose A9LH+CFW and be on the latest stock firmware. This is because GW Mode does not offer FIRM protection in A9LH. Updating your GW EmuNAND is fine and safe, and is what Gateway actually recommends you do and use even when using A9LH.






    !~Getting Black Screen After Dragon Logo and After Following This Guide~! (PLEASE READ)
    Sounds like someone hasn't properly removed their EmuNAND//RedNAND with EmuNAND9. The Black Screen problem is common to people who skipped doing it properly and used a third-party tool like EaseUS or any other partition manager.

    Since EmuNAND//RedNAND wasn't removed properly, traces were leftover and GW by default sees it, and tries to boot into this non-existent EmuNAND//RedNAND and fails. So how do we fix it? We use EmuNAND9 to preperly remove traces of it.

    Part 5, Section V of the old A9LH guide covers this. However, I will list all relevant steps here.
    Link: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide_R...ax)#section-v---removing-rednand-from-your-sd

    The new guide also sort of mentions if in this new page, and does show you how to setup EmuNAND9:
    Link: https://plailect.github.io/Guide/move-emunand

    Files we'll need:
    Latest release of EmuNAND9: https://github.com/d0k3/EmuNAND9/releases/latest

    1. Copy EmuNAND9.bin from the EmuNAND9.zip to the /luma/payloads/ folder on your SD card and rename EmuNAND9.bin to y_EmuNAND9.bin
    2. Backup every file on your SD card to a folder on your computer, all files will be deleted in the following steps
    3. Reinsert your SD card into your 3DS
    4. Hold (Y) at boot time to open EmuNAND9
    5. Go to "SD Format Options...", then select the "Format SD (no EmuNAND)" option, and wait for it to finish
    6. Press (B) to return to the menu, then press Select to safely eject your SD Card
    7. Put your SD card back into your computer, and copy all the files you backed up previously, back into your SD Card
    8. Reinsert your SD card into your 3DS, then press (Start) to reboot



    Additional Note: You will still have to look into BootCTR9 if for some reason you want GW to be the default, as opposed to Luma3DS. This tutorial is meant more for the people who want Luma3DS as their main//default, and want to use Luma3DS' payload chainloader to boot into GW Mode.
    Go to the following link for the tutorial on setting up GW as your main with BootCTR9.
    Link: https://gbatemp.net/threads/using-gateway-on-a9lh-v2.431222/





    All credits to @Hayleia for making both of these~! Thank you~ <3 ♥
    Original posts:
    Link: https://gbatemp.net/threads/using-gateway-on-a9lh-v2.431222/page-4#post-6464898
    Link: http://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-using-luma3ds-with-gateway-on-v2-a9lh.431691/page-4#post-6472283
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Temptress Cerise, Apr 14, 2017


  2. Neo Draven

    Member Neo Draven End Boss of the Entire Internet

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Country:
    United States
    Tested and confirmed working. Nothing else worked except for this method. Brilliant.
     
    xstationbr likes this.
  3. trigao

    Member trigao GBAtemp Tiger

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    Works flawlessly
    Do i have take some precaution using gateway mode?
    I mean, update system, install cia... Something i shouldnt in any way, never ever do in gateway???
     
  4. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,602
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, never update in gw sysnand or it will either brick or end up on ofw 11.0 at the time of writing. Don't piss around if in gw sysnand and only use it for their red card access. Updating emunand is fine, if you have one.
     
    Last edited by retrofan_k, Jun 21, 2016
    trigao likes this.
  5. Hayleia

    Member Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,290
    Country:
    France
    (posting this here instead of the other topic because that probably belongs here more than there).
    I did that too actually, but I was wondering about stuff. I mean, there are probably illegal things in GW's Launcher.dat, but what about their a9lh.bin? Can I release an a9lh.bin that includes GW's without any legal issue?
    (Though I did not test that other version a lot either. I was able to get to the GW3D emuNAND but I have no idea if the GW menu needs screen init or not, so maybe sysNAND-only people would have problems with the lack of screen init if they can't see the menu).
     
  6. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm. That's actually a good question. I personally wouldn't know. I am inclined to say it might not be allowed.

    Anywho, yeah we need screen-init. I guess. Maybe. This is from experience: v1 A9LH non-screen-init would hang on a black screen if you tried to use Luma3DS' chainloader as well. You needed to be on a v1 A9LH screen-init fork to GW to work.
     
    Last edited by Temptress Cerise, Jun 21, 2016 - Reason: Typos
  7. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,940
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Have to test if this will work with corbenik chainloading function :)
    that's a thing for tonight !
     
  8. trigao

    Member trigao GBAtemp Tiger

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    thank you
    also, i would like to ask if safe to use the gateway cheat engine? thats my only need in fact
     
  9. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    Should work fine, even on .cia installs.
     
  10. trigao

    Member trigao GBAtemp Tiger

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    Brazil
    its works normally, even with games installed in luma sysnand.... i'm asking if is safe, if there some risk of brick or something
     
  11. DrCrygor07

    Member DrCrygor07 Italian Wario Ware bootleg©

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,664
    Country:
    Italy
    I have the three stage 2 setup, can I install a9lh v2?
     
  12. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know about that. I've never heard of GW punishing or bricking users for using their GW Cheat Plugin. And technically it's not Luma SysNAND. SysNAND is SysNAND.

    I don't know about that. Don't quote me on this, but so long as you have your OTP.bin, I guess you just follow Plailect's guide on updating A9LH, in addition to having your OTP.bin, of course.
    Link: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Updating-arm9loaderhax

    Since that guide assumes you were on a previous v1 A9LH. So I am not sure at all what would happen if you didn't have your OTP.bin and tried updating without it.

    Anyways, I don't know. When I had the Three Stage 2 setup, I flashed back v1 A9LH, with my OTP.bin, and that went well. However, this was before v2 A9LH even was a thing. So I don't know tbh.
     
    trigao likes this.
  13. DrCrygor07

    Member DrCrygor07 Italian Wario Ware bootleg©

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,664
    Country:
    Italy
    Of course I have my otp(read my signature lol), anyway as you're not sure about that, I will wait for other suggestions.
     
  14. leonmagnus99

    Member leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Seinegald
    Country:
    Iraq
    alright, this is looking pretty simple to do.

    but i have a question, if i use bootctr9 what will it look like when i turn on my ds?

    will it show the splash, or will it not show anything and just autoboot with what i have set to default? (i use screeninit because gw payload does not work with the noscreen init a9lh, i dont know if that has changed now, i am using a n3ds)

    edit: and oh regarding the v1 , i have that already installed.

    do i need my otp bin inside some folder before i install v2?
     
    Last edited by leonmagnus99, Jun 21, 2016
  15. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    816
    Country:
    Spain
    Working on A9LH v2 non screen-init. Thanks!
     
    noctis90210 likes this.
  16. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't hurt to your OTP.bin in the /a9lh folder.

    But basically follow this part of Plailect's guide for upgrading to v2 A9LH.
    Link: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Updating-arm9loaderhax

    As for the BootCTR9 thing, it'll depend on how you have it configured. You wouldn't really need to use this solution though if on BootCTR9 as it should allow you to load up GW's a9lh.bin without any issue. This is meant for the people who don't want to use BootCTR9, and want to use Luma3DS' payload chainloader for all their a9lh.bin payloads.
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  17. leonmagnus99

    Member leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Seinegald
    Country:
    Iraq
    yis, i want to use Luma as my main always! so.. well like u said, i just want to open. gw as a payload chainloader thingie.

    okaaay so if i were to update to the a9lh v2, and if i follow the guide you linked me, will i be able to load GW if i wanted?
    or would i then have to follow your tutorial after i finish the one you sent me.
     
  18. Temptress Cerise
    OP

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    So just to be clear, you are using BootCTR9 -> Luma3DS -> All your other payloads. Correct? Then you don't need to use this solution. It should work just fine like that. However, if it doesn't, you'd have to follow this tutorial.
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  19. leonmagnus99

    Member leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Seinegald
    Country:
    Iraq
    i want V2 , soooo i shall do this OvO many thanks <3

    Edit: this worked great, thanks for making this thread so people can benefit from it ! very simple to do ^-^
     
    Last edited by leonmagnus99, Jun 21, 2016
  20. sj33

    Member sj33 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,570
    Country:
    Japan
    Fantasic stuff with this guide. Updated both my N3DS and O3DS using this, everything working perfectly!

    Nice to be able to use GW through the Luma chainloader. I didn't want to rely on chaining different loaders together.
     

Share This Page