Using Gateway on A9LH V2

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Cosmic_Link, Jun 16, 2016.

Jun 16, 2016

Using Gateway on A9LH V2 by Cosmic_Link at 11:06 PM (14,623 Views / 8 Likes) 105 replies

  1. Cosmic_Link
    OP

    Newcomer Cosmic_Link Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a quick guide for people who may be having trouble with getting Gateway to work with A9LH V2 after following Plailect's Guide.

    I posted this in another thread and has helped a few people, so thought I would post it here for others to see and hope it helps somebody else too. ^_^

    Download BootCTR from here: https://github.com/hartmannaf/BootCtr9/releases/tag/v0.4.1-alpha_

    And put all the files onto the root of your SD card.

    Replace the text in the boot_config.ini with the text in the below spoiler.

    boot_config.ini

    Put the Gateway payload on the root of the SD and name it "GW.bin"

    Put the Luma payload on the root of the SD and name it "Luma.bin"

    Put the Uncart payload on the root of the SD and name it "Uncart.bin"

    Put the Emunand9 payload on the root of the SD and name it "Emunand9.bin"

    Put the Hourglass9 payload on the root of the SD and name it "Hourglass.bin"

    Links to these files will have been provided with Plailect's guide and the files will already be in the Luma folder if you followed that guide properly.

    It works for me. Might not be for you, but will allow you to boot gateway by default and Luma with L or R for when you want to update the sysnand firmware and you can still access Luma settings with select should you need it.

    Also, make sure the gateway LAUNCHER.DAT is on the root of the SD card too. :yay3ds:

     
    Last edited by Cosmic_Link, Jun 17, 2016
    antiswirl, sweis12, Bimmel and 5 others like this.


  2. artur3004

    Member artur3004 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Country:
    Germany
    can someone explain me or send a link what's new in a9lh v2?
     
  3. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like to add that this is good for a quick and simple way of getting GW to work on V2 a9lh instead of downgrading from V2 to V1, because at present there is no real reason to have the need to downgrade,

    Once a9lh is installed, it is advisable to not tinker with it unless you know exactly what you are doing and have proper NAND recoveries, such as a "hard mod"

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Bug fix and more space (extra bytes) for future payloads. V1 is perfectly fine, yet this is for those already on V2.
     
    Last edited by retrofan_k, Jun 16, 2016
    Maximilious likes this.
  4. Neo Draven

    Member Neo Draven End Boss of the Entire Internet

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Country:
    United States
    So, if I wanted to boot to Luma by default, with the ability to boot into Gateway Mode by holding R, I would just replace each of those .bin file names under DEFAULT, KEY_L and KEY_R?
     
  5. Logan Pockrus

    Member Logan Pockrus Knawledge is key.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,331
    Country:
    United States
    So, how can you tell if you have A9LH v2? I had no clue there were two versions before reading the OP.

    EDIT: I'm a fool. Never mind the question I asked, I found the (obvious) answer.
     
    Last edited by Logan Pockrus, Jun 17, 2016
  6. Cosmic_Link
    OP

    Newcomer Cosmic_Link Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah pretty much. I had it setup like this as I wanted a way to just use gateway as default as I am more likely to use my Gateway card than to use a retail cart and to still have the option to use Luma for anything else. ^_^
     
  7. octopus

    Member octopus Member New

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    Somalia
    Gateway, HG, uncart, E9 are booting normally, but Luma R/L just stays on black screen (and the payload is not showing it bootmanager). However, it boots normally if I enter settings (select) first.
    What could’ve gone wrong?
    Moreover, NAND things like enjected FBI are not working in GW and when I booted back into Luma, they transformed into black squares. If I boot into GW, they are just not there anymore.
     
    Last edited by octopus, Jun 17, 2016
  8. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I just did a quick edit and have mine like this but keeping R and L free:


    [DEFAULT]
    path = /Luma.bin
    delay = 100
    offset = 0
    payload = -1
    splash = 1

    [KEY_DDOWN]
    path = /GW.bin
    delay = 1000
    offset = 0
    payload = -1
    splash = 1

    [KEY_X]
    path = /Uncart.bin
    delay = 1000
    offset = 0
    payload = 1
    splash = 3
    screenEnabled = 1

    [KEY_Y]
    path = /Emunand9.bin
    delay = 1000
    offset = 0
    payload = 1
    splash = 3
    screenEnabled = 1

    [KEY_START]
    path = /Hourglass.bin
    delay = 1000
    offset = 0
    payload = 1
    splash = 3
    screenEnabled = 1


    With that above, I boot Luma by default and have GW booting by pressing Down on the D-pad on boot and using L when booting GW, displays the GW menu as normal. The only thing I have noticed, is that trying to chainload other payloads like Decrypt9, Godmode9, etc, BootCTR throws an error, if you are using shortcuts like KEY_DLEFT, KEY_DRIGHT, so I kept those out the config.

    Maybe it has to do with booting Luma by default, I dunno? but if you put those payloads like I mentioned in Luma's payload folder named "left_decrypt9"" and "right_godmode9" they work fine from a cold boot but not with BootCtr's config. Need to look into that more, yet this works great so far for my needs.

    FBI works fine here in Luma. On mine I get the "health & safety" icon in GW but it throws an error, if you try and load it, which is normal.

    Try my simple edit above for defaulting into Luma and using "down" to boot into GW.
     
    Last edited by retrofan_k, Jun 17, 2016
    Neo Draven and octopus like this.
  9. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PLEASE NOTE: Do not update while in GW sysnand, as it does not have Firm protections like Luma does, so updating in GW mode will remove a9lh and put you on OFW, so be careful.
     
  10. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed that for you
     
    Ricken and Seriel like this.
  11. noctis90210

    Member noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    Philippines
    will this work on no-init version?
     
  12. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tested both, so yes.
     
    noctis90210 likes this.
  13. Haider Raza

    Member Haider Raza GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    Pakistan
    my 3ds xl is on 6.1e firmware what to do?
     
  14. Neo Draven

    Member Neo Draven End Boss of the Entire Internet

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Country:
    United States
    I had terrible luck with CTRBoot before. But, I remember you. If this works on your rig, it'll work on mine.
     
  15. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. MelodySongz

    Newcomer MelodySongz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States

    Where do I get the Gateway payload from?
     
  17. driverdis

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Gateway's website of course
     
  18. MelodySongz

    Newcomer MelodySongz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I'm fairly new to all this. I downloaded the firmware .zip file which has the gw launcher.dat, but I don't see any .bin files in that .zip file. Which file am I supposed to rename to gw.bin?
     
  19. Temptress Cerise

    Member Temptress Cerise Miss Magic~ | Always trying to help~ <3

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,873
    Location:
    Not next to you~ ;P
    Country:
    United States
    On the openly public Private Beta Program page, scroll all the way to the bottom. You should see the following section titled "» arm9loaderhax for users with existing a9lh installs" You download either of those two files.

    It's also found on the main page's website.
     
  20. retrofan_k

    Member retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,532
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a9lh installed already? Their arm9loaderhax.bin (gw.bin) will not work otherwise.
     
    Last edited by retrofan_k, Jun 18, 2016

Share This Page