My debt, my life, my enlistment

Veloxi

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
This past December I graduated from a university that is quickly becoming well known because of their football team. Appalachian State. The 4 years I spent there were some of the best times of my life. Good dope, good local music, good parties, lots of waterfalls to jump off of, all kinds of stuff. Good times to be had in that small town, that's for sure.

Now I look back, jobless, no friends, no girlfriend, a mom and dad who I love very much, and a brother that disowned me because business got in the way of family. I look again at my bank account, and see myself in $4,000 credit card debt, $50,000 in college loan debt, and a $19,000 car loan all in my name.

About a month and a half ago I started looking into the Coast Guard. I figured it was a state-side job that would give me leadership experience, provide great benefits that I couldn't get in an entry level position out of college, and I could probably make a lot of friends all over the country. After getting into the recruiter and hearing they provide no benefits, really... besides health, living, and food, I was pretty turned off by that. Not to mention, I have a bachelor's and some of the best ASVAB scores the offices have ever seen, yet they don't want me to apply as an officer.