M3i not working in a new DSi but is in an older DSi console!!

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by rich_swuk, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009
    Hi,

    I followed the instructions to enable the M3i zero. I loaded data onto the microSD card, inserted into a brand new DSi. The DSi menu shows the M3i card which I then select, I get the following error message on the DSi,

    "An error has occurred. Press & hold power button to turn the system off. Please refer to NDSi Ops manual for details" - nothing in the manual helps!

    Also tried in another brand new DSi, the M3i still doesn't work, same message as above. DS games cards work fine.

    The M3i is running the latest, v1.45 X.

    I then tried the M3i card in an older DSi console (6 months old), it works absolutely fine!! [​IMG]

    Can anyone please help?

    Rich
     
  2. Hatsu

    Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Banned
    2,143
    0
    Oct 19, 2009
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Run the f_core.dat update.
     
  3. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009
    Thanks, how do I run a f_core.dat update?
     
  4. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev

    Supervisor
    9,989
    -1
    Jan 7, 2009
    Belgium
    This planet
  5. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    Have the DSi's got the same firmware number ??
    When used on older DSi does it show a 'Acekard' icon or a 'Danny Phantom' icon ??

    If the answers are 'No-firmware numbers are different' and 'acekard icon' then yes you will need to use the f_core update
     
  6. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009
    ok, I've completed the f_core.dat update, followed the instructions on http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168862. If I re-format the SD card then follow the guidelines I get a constant red LED. If I then use another memory SD card the f-core.dat update seems to work...flashing LED. When I then load data onto this card, I now get the the same error message on both DSi,

    "An error has occurred. Press & hold power button to turn the system off. Please refer to NDSi Ops manual for details" - nothing in the manual helps!

    Tried different microSDd cards....I can no longer read data on the older DSi.

    The older DSi f/ware v1.2E, newer DSi f/ware 1.4E. I haven't noticed either an "acecard" or "danny phantom" icon.

    I also use a Supercard DSonei in the older DSi, this which works fine, however, it doesn't work in the newer DSi.

    any further suggestions would be grately appreciated....not sure what I'm doing wrong [​IMG]
     
  7. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    The SCDSONEi also needs a firmware update because N blocked it in SM1.4. DL the latest core update to the root of the MicroSD and plug it in to the USB writer.
     
  8. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009
    Thanks...I'll keep using my SCOnei with my older DSi console

    I'd like to get the M3i zero working with my new later console! Having looked around various fora it seems that v1.4 NDSi firmware blocks flash cards, does the latest f_core.dat update resolve this issue?
     
  9. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    The SC update is the same as the M3's. You must have used an older update for the M3i that didn't fix the 1.4 compatibility.
     
  10. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009
  11. bluejays

    bluejays GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jun 14, 2009
    Canada
    Canada
    Well after i watched the video a little info box pops up in the middle of it saying that you will need a newer version because 1.4 blocked old core firmware..so u basically should go the the M3 adapter website if i am correct and download the ones for 1.4..
    I don't have the m3i zero myself..but im pretty sure the video doesn't give you the most updated one.
     
  12. Hatsu

    Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Banned
    2,143
    0
    Oct 19, 2009
    __________________ Warn: 50%
  13. bluejays

    bluejays GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    160
    0
    Jun 14, 2009
    Canada
    Canada
    Let us know if it worked since i may get a M3I zero and if there are problems like this i might not.
     
  14. sumarth

    sumarth Newbie

    many people have done this withuot problems
     
  15. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    The one on that page is an old version. It is firmware for the cart, just not new enough to unblock the cart. M3's website should have the latest firmware.
     
  16. rich_swuk
    OP

    rich_swuk Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Dec 26, 2009