Is the user prompted to update the software during a Factory Reset?

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by retrofan_k, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. retrofan_k
    OP

    retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,818
    1,113
    May 31, 2013
    Belarus
    Caves
    I asked two different ebay sellers, if their PsVita console's were on 3.60. Both replied saying they did Factory Resets and that they are on 3.61.

    Is the user prompted to update during this proceedure?

    Can someone confirm if this is true or false?
     
  2. Voxel

    Voxel Fable Junkie

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Voxel is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    5,195
    5,885
    Jun 27, 2015
    United Kingdom
    England, UK
    Before the system format process, the Vita prompts you to deactivate the system (meaning you have to connect to PSN in order to do the said deactivation, thus triggering the update nag). However you can bypass this by just clicking 'no' to deactivating the system and you will still be able to proceed to format the system as normal.

    So it is something which you can bypass on a lower firmware if you know what you're doing...
     
  3. retrofan_k
    OP

    retrofan_k GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,818
    1,113
    May 31, 2013
    Belarus
    Caves
    Right, I see, so the average user with no prior knowledge of current exploits will most likely accept the update nag and update the firmware.

    Thanks