Hacking Is it possible to download a game update in emunand, then use the update in classic?

CoolFangs

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2014
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Michigan
XP
240
Country
United States
So my brother has a 3DS currently on 8.1, planning on getting a Gateway soon. However in the meantime he'd like to be able to play Smash on it. The problem right now is I tried to set up the emunand to update the game from the eshop using my Gateway, then restarted into classic mode. The problem seems to be that the 3DS still isn't recognizing that I downloaded the update while in classic mode. Am I doing something wrong or does this just not work?
 

Dartz150

Yet another Onii-chan
Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
2,236
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Over your head
XP
3,921
Country
Mexico
So my brother has a 3DS currently on 8.1, planning on getting a Gateway soon. However in the meantime he'd like to be able to play Smash on it. The problem right now is I tried to set up the emunand to update the game from the eshop using my Gateway, then restarted into classic mode. The problem seems to be that the 3DS still isn't recognizing that I downloaded the update while in classic mode. Am I doing something wrong or does this just not work?

I'm on the same boat, I just downloaded the update on emuNAND and will update my sysNAND to 8.1 using the cartdrige itself (I keep rolling bakc between 8.1~4.2 using Gateway Nand restore tool), I will post results, BTW both of my Nands are linked.
 

iViperz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
204
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
225
Country
So my brother has a 3DS currently on 8.1, planning on getting a Gateway soon. However in the meantime he'd like to be able to play Smash on it. The problem right now is I tried to set up the emunand to update the game from the eshop using my Gateway, then restarted into classic mode. The problem seems to be that the 3DS still isn't recognizing that I downloaded the update while in classic mode. Am I doing something wrong or does this just not work?

As far as I'm aware, the update should wrk without question but the update needs to be the same region as your console region.
Make sure that the region is correct and you shouldn't have any problems
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,041
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,310
Country
Norway
So my brother has a 3DS currently on 8.1, planning on getting a Gateway soon. However in the meantime he'd like to be able to play Smash on it. The problem right now is I tried to set up the emunand to update the game from the eshop using my Gateway, then restarted into classic mode. The problem seems to be that the 3DS still isn't recognizing that I downloaded the update while in classic mode. Am I doing something wrong or does this just not work?
Classic Mode is also emuNAND, so it should work without problems.
 

pokemoner2500

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
880
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
1,409
Country
United States
So my brother has a 3DS currently on 8.1, planning on getting a Gateway soon. However in the meantime he'd like to be able to play Smash on it. The problem right now is I tried to set up the emunand to update the game from the eshop using my Gateway, then restarted into classic mode. The problem seems to be that the 3DS still isn't recognizing that I downloaded the update while in classic mode. Am I doing something wrong or does this just not work?
What I suggest you do since his DS is on 8.1 is download the update and play in sysnand, works for me :)
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
First make sure the update is the same region as the game as already mentioned. Is smash a cart, rom or cia? Since you are playing from classic mode I assume it is a cart.

Try getting the update from in-game while in classic mode and see if that works.

There are places you can download the update and install it as a cia with dev menu or BBB, but that should not be necessary.

You could try what pokemoner2500 said and that should also work but is not really a long term solution. There is a problem that needs to be addressed.

Another step is to backup everything including emunand using the emunand tool and then start with a fresh emunand and see if that solves the problem.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: what?