Is it compatible..

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by D-Trogh, Jan 3, 2007.

Jan 3, 2007

Is it compatible.. by D-Trogh at 11:19 AM (1,649 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. D-Trogh
    OP

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah, I would like to know if the English firmwire is compatible with the Chinese R4 and visaversa..
    I'm sorry if this is asked before, but I would like to know, because there is a difference of 5dollars between the Chinese and English R4..

    Well.. I think I know the answer allready (NO! [​IMG])
    But is there a way then to let it work ?
    Maybe some little changes in the code ? Or is it the hardware that blocks it ?
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    It won't work and it's def. the hardware preventing it. Same as for using the M3 simply firmware on the R4 and vice versa.
    However, there is a rumor that someone actually managed to 'hack' it so the M3 simply firmware worked on the R4.. so I don't see a R4 chinese firmware to be used on an english unit to be completely impossible (however a bit pointless ;P). But at this point there is no place where it actually provides info on how to do it.
     
  3. D-Trogh
    OP

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    To bad.. [​IMG]
    And it's not to get the Chinese firmwire on the English R4, but the English firmwire on the Chinese R4.. Who's 5$ cheaper.
    It's not a problem, those 5$, but if you can chose [​IMG]
     
  4. Kyuzumaki

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you read my other thread i've tried chinese firmware (dunno why it's called that it's software) anyway it dosen't work.

    You can probably hack the eng M3 to work on the R4.

    Heres the LINK to M3 simply soft/firmware.

    I tried it on my R4 it gives a hardware not compatable error. The file sizes are identical so i assume it's only a small difference.

    (Link posted by skfields01 in this thread http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=41542&hl=)
     
  5. D-Trogh
    OP

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hey, hey..
    Does THIS mean I can buy the Chinese version.. Bridge that point with solder and then I'm able to us the English firmwire ??!
     
  6. tehcamel

    Member tehcamel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    sometimes a thousand words isn't enough.











    yes.
     
  7. achapman

    Newcomer achapman Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Are you that cheap that you are trying to save 5 bucks? That is a little ridiculous.
     
  8. D-Trogh
    OP

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    [​IMG] No I'm not - -' [​IMG]

    Lock plzz.. [​IMG]
     
  9. mr_blonde_88

    Member mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Talking about compatibility, what file exstension should i rename my G6 NDS saves too, and in the Save Converter tool, what should i chose wen selecting file type?
     
  10. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    Rename your G6 save file to xxxx.sav and in filename type *.* to display all files and then select it.
     
  11. mr_blonde_88

    Member mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sweetness [​IMG]

    and now the long process of selecting each save individually begins [​IMG]
     

Share This Page