1. toblyoko

    toblyoko Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I tried a different method of installing the mod and it seems to be working now. Thank you though. Please ignore this.
     
    FriendlyHacker likes this.
  2. Foee

    Foee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello, I'm running into the same problem as Takimei was, when I drag the .3ds into the batch file it just closes and does nothing. Running it as admin and dragging the .3ds file doesn't cause it to close, but still nothing happens, and it closes as soon as I touch any key. The encoding is UTF-8, and python shows up as working fine when I test it in cmd. Any ideas? Thank you. notepad++_Q0VQCh9yfN.png
     
  3. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi there! I'm sorry you're having issues. Can I ask what your OS is?
     
  4. Foee

    Foee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm using Windows 10
     
  5. FPSPro

    FPSPro Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    First of all, I would like to thank you for this great tutorial!
    Everything is well explained and it's easy to follow your step-by-step guide. Awesome work! :)

    Unfortunately, after following your steps, the created ROM at the end isn't working in Citra. When I try to start the game, citra is loading a few seconds and then it's closing itself. Beside that problem, there was no error coming up during the process. So I'm not sure, what the problem actually is. I also tried other methods (like using Karameru and HackingToolkit9Ds) but they didn't work at all, especially HackingToolkit9Ds because of my already decrypted ROM.

    Do you have an idea, what I could do?
    I just tried to replace some bcstm-files in Animal Crossing New Leaf with and I used a decrypted ROM.

    Otherwise, thanks again for your tutorial and have a nice day!
     
    FriendlyHacker likes this.
  6. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi there! Thank you very much for trying my method and for the kind words! ^_^
    Using an already decrypted ROM shouldn't be a problem when hacking, as long as it runs on Citra before you do any modding. The 3ds to cia batch would have come up with an error (as it often does), so I'd say the problem isn't there, either.
    Could you please tell me what files you changed, and what those changes are supposed to do? Some games are finicky when it comes to changing some particular files; though if it's something that has worked for someone else, that would rule out this possibility.
    There is also another method you could try, described by @Fishmalk here (step 1 to 3 and 5)!
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2019
    FPSPro likes this.
  7. FPSPro

    FPSPro Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello there!
    Thanks for your quick response, I just tried the method you mentioned from Fishmalk and it's finally working! I'm so glad about that. Now I can enjoy the nostalgia of the good old Animal Crossing Music. Thanks a lot! :)


    It's a good question, why the method with the "3DS to CIA" and "3Dstool" wasn't working for me. Before I even replaced some music files in the romfs-folder, I followed your guide and tried to create a .3ds file without any changes. And this file wasn't working for Citra too, so I think, that the problem occurs somewhere else. I'm also not sure if the problem comes with the decryption because, as you already mentioned, the whole process was working fine without any problems.
    Actually, I just wanted to replace some .bcstm music files, but since the problem existed before editing these, it must be something else...


    But anyway: It's working now with your help. I hope that many other people will find a solution for their problem in your thread.
    I wish you all the best and continuing success with all your projects! Thanks a bunch! :)
     
    FriendlyHacker likes this.
  8. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    You're welcome! I'm sorry this method didn't work for you, but I'm glad you managed to make it work with the other one!
    Thank you for your kind words, I wish you all the best, too! ^_^
     
  9. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying to modify the romfs, but when I repack it w/ katsu's application, I have rsf error
    [rsf error] error processing rsf file
    Installed python27 on C: and I have no other python version. I've followed these steps but it keeps saying rsf error like above. I'm not good with rsf editing, but...
    3ds have been already decrypted(and tested to citra and it runs) and I just want to edit the music but it keeps saying rsf error when rebuilding 3ds + orig. exheader.
    Any ideas why this happened ?

    Rn I'm trying to extract romfs through katsu's program and it still in the process saving the romfs after editing.
    EDIT:
    Okay, extracting through katsu's program deletes everything and it gives rsf error.
    Idk how rsf work and which one makes it error

    Update:
    I tried to fiddling a bit on rsf and see the rsf on my end, the company code and product code isn't human language so I changed that by following the exheader.txt or info.txt from those extraction, it work. Didnt crash but, citra seems to stuck on black screen when I started it. Turns to .cia though. Do I need to convert it to 3ds ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  10. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi! ^_^
    If you need to change something in the .rsf file before the batch starts rebuilding the .3ds, you can follow the same steps in this guide, except that at step 10 you press both 6 & 8, and when the .rsf is opened, you can change whatever needs to be changed. I had issues with python (I needed the 3.5 version) so I also check my .rsf files before rebuilding now...
    Btw, did you add Python to PATH?
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  11. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I did. Advanced System has that "C:\Python27" on their Environment Variables. I put it on the very bottom of everything else that has existed.
    I have already made sure it's Python27.
    Do I need python 3.5 version now ? I probably misunderstood this whole thread :P

    Anyway, when I first repack, change the music file(just a couple, not every music were changed), it gives me rsf error. I checked the rsf file w/ n++, the company code says : <+ and product code says... well not human-language. There are letters/numbers but theres few black square between them and some symbols. I changed company code to 01 and product code to CTR-A2BA
    The repack is successful, but when launching the game through citra, it just black screen. Console of citra also doesnt give more text after it says
    "Service.SRV <Warning> core/hle/service/sm/srv.cpp:RegisterClient:49: (STUBBED) called"
    It's complete black screen and the console(citra) stopped there. It's like the game hanged but citra is still running.

    (Altho that file turns to be .cia, idk, probably I tried romfs extraction through katsu's. But I have to try 3ds extraction, change the music, use auto rsf, then rebuild 3ds yet have to go another hour.).
     
  12. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah, no no, you don't need Python 3.5 and actually don't install it ever if you want to do romhacking with this method and you don't need the 3.5 version for something else, otherwise it'll be a hassle to force the system to use 2.7, even after you uninstall 3.5...
    Does the .3ds file work on Citra before you do any modding?
    But I think the issue is the fact that you extracted the romfs with katsu's batch (if I understood correctly) and changed it to .cia. If you use katsu's batch to extract the romfs it messes with non unicode characters in filenames and within the files.
    If you don't want to use this method because it's too long and complicated (which is totally understandable) you can also try Fishmalk's method, it's quicker and it should work (scroll up a bit in this thread to find the link).
     
  13. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    It works before modding. And I found this tutorial is easier to read and to look at then fishmalk's(no offense however) but I'll try his method later.
    I haven't installed python 3.5 yet. Just 2.7 and I sort of placed it on program files(x86) earlier but I reinstalled it to C:\ instead the x86 files.
    And I just tested the 3ds extraction, pasted the edited romfs.bin and start to rebuild .3ds. And it gives me .rsf error. I had a hunch I have to edit the .rsf file, but even I did earlier, it hanged on citra for no reason. Console didnt even tell any error. Just stopped on the warning I mentioned earlier.


    Btw, the .rsf file on n++ looked like this
    (ignored the "text" in the pokemonultramoon_modified.txt. For some reason, gbatemp doesn't allow me to post the .rsf codes)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hmm, ok, that .rsf doesn't look bad besides those two gibberish spots, so you can just change them when you get to step 10.
    You should keep Python27 in the path that you added to the PATH environmental variables, otherwise the system won't be able to find it.
    I'm pretty sure you get a black screen on citra because you used the batch to extract the romfs and edit it. Try using 3dstool to do that instead, so you can be sure that the romfs isn't the issue. Then do the rebuilding by pressing 6 & 8 and change those bits that don't look quite right in the .rsf
    If it still doesn't work I can guide you through Fishmalk's method, instead. :)
     
  15. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I need to edit the .rsf file, more importantly in Company and Product Code to 01 and CTR-A2BA right? Just that and nothing else needed to be added, removed or changed ?
     
  16. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Nope, everything else was grabbed by the rsfgen.py script properly, it seems. And actually, I'd say those parts shouldn't cause problems, either, but to be sure, you can change them. I'm sure the black screen problem is caused by the romfs.bin: it must have been corrupted by ctrtool, which is the tool used by the batch for some reason. ctrtool is perfectly fine for non-japanese games, but it will corrupt games that were made in Japan.
     
  17. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'll give it a shot. I'll tell ya here when work or probably theres an error that I don't understand
    Thanks :D

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay, so I did w/ 3dstool, the .rsf error is still not resolved.
    EDIT:
    And tbh, this is actually for my friend. He wants to change the music but doesnt know anything how so he asked me.
    He only gave me a usb and the file is in there named "Pokemon Ultra Moon.3ds"
    It just that w/ said folder. Is that fine if you only have the .3ds but it has been decrypted already?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
    FriendlyHacker likes this.
  18. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Also press 8 before rebuilding, so that the .rsf file comes up and you can modify it.
     
  19. Xilthz

    Xilthz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I did editing rsf file, it worked when I only changed the company code and product code. No .rsf errors. The problem now is though...

    Citra crash when loading the game.
    No errors, no anything.

    Probably my nvidia gpu is outdated. I'll check it on later
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  20. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Wow, I'm sorry you're experiencing so many problems... :(
    You know, I think you should try .Net 3ds Toolkit, instead. It's easier, it could work just fine and you won't have to be stressed by all these errors. You can download the latest version here, it has a GUI and it's pretty straightforward to use.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installing, emulator, hacks